We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at Star Island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Save Saved
You added Star Island Resort and Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Fernando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good experience at Star Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011 via mobile

Room was very comfortable and clean. Located within 15-30 minutes from entertainment or shopping.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    325
    143
    86
    90
See reviews for
476
214
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The resort had lots of fun things to do for children and adults. The pools were great. I had a mini suite which was perfect. I was worried it might be to small, but we were very comfortable. The room was very clean and modern. The staff were very friendly. Great experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The room had cobwebs draping across the bed, so that when I climbed into the bed I hadf cobwebs in my face. Dust was heavy on the light fixtures The tub wouldn't stopper so that we could take a bath, I had to call maintenance. There were no garbage bags, and we didn't realize this until after we took the garbage out. So we had to use grocery story bags. The mattresses were lumpy and sagging. The tvs timed out every 20 minutes. The list goes on and on. We were so unimpressed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for 5 days recently. Our unit was a one bedroom with full kitchen which was very adequate. The walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors at times, but most of the time it was ok. The problem comes in with the decor of the unit. The online photos make it look like a very modern lovely apartment. But just wait--if you get one which has not been remodeled, you will have a surprise. The kitchen had the original stove from the 70's I am guessing.It is in good shape since vacationers don't usually cook, but a blast from the past none the less. But the real action is when you enter the bedroom--the decor is green marbled laminate furniture! Yes, that is right--furniture as well as the bathroom vanity cabinet.In addition to being extremely tacky, the doors in the lovely plastic beside tables didn't open which limited storage. The faux Italian style(faux finished columns,oversized dining table and light fixture which cannot be described!) is really too much and extremely dated. On the good side, the pool is nice and well staffed with a bar and hot dog stand.There is a nice workout room too.Staff was fairly unattentive at the desk however. One visit we had to wait awhile while the attendant completed a personal phone call.Later we tried to get boarding passes printed at the desk(as advised when we called the front desk) and the person couldn't figure out how to do it. He suggested that we do it ourselves at the business center which we would have done first had we been told about it earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for an undated room unless you don't care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011 via mobile

Used our interval timeshare. I was entitled to a 2bd/2ba room but got a 1bd/1ba. It was cute and cozy, with a jacuzzi tub and kitchenette. The gym was great! The place was Quiet for the most part and parking was not an issue. Did not like "towel service" for extra costs. There seemed to always be activities, although we did not
participate. Star Island is tucked away and therefore not exactly convenient to the attractions, however we did not visit Mickey or Shamu so this was not an issue. Plenty of food and store choices.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We arrived a little late because the traffic was horrible and then we had a very hard time finding the Resort. Star Island is located on Mile Marker 11. The Star Island sign also advertises Fridays and located right behind Fridays. Across the street there is an Olive Garden. Can you tell we had a hard time finding it?

The staff at the Registration desk was very nice and was prompt to register us. The same happened at checkout. This was basically my interaction with the reception area, since we had NO problems during our stay. There were activities at night close to the Registration Area, I can't comment because I didn't go to any of the activities, it sounded fun!

The room was very spacious, very clean and well maintained. There was a fully equipped kitchen. The dining room had a table with 6 very comfortable chairs. We had wi-fi in the room and the speed was descent. The living room as very comfortable had a flat panel TV and a smaller one in the bedroom. The bedroom was very spacious with a king size bed and had a Jacuzzi inside. The bathroom was very comfortable and a separate closed section for the toilet. The shower was very comfortable

My favorite part of the apartment was the washer & dryer. Imagine coming home after vacation with clean clothes. It as great!

What I liked the best was the cleanliness, spaciousness and the ability to feel comfortable away from home. There were places to eat all around, it was centrally located, although not that close Downtown Disney (we got lost getting there).

What I liked the least was the parking. Although there appears to be a lot of parking in front of the buildings, we had a difficult time finding a parking space close to our building. We were in Building 18 and also the sliding door on the living room of the apartment was dull, although we did have a small patio with a table and chairs, it would have been nice to have the room's view to the pool or to a nice garden. But back to the parking, what made the parking situation worse was that the carts used by the maintenance staff would take up parking spaces close to the building instead of parking in the parking zones that would not eliminate parking spaces close to the building. I would definitely ask about the occupancy and how full your building is. Building 18 appeared to be pretty full and the building in front of ours also seemed pretty full which didn't help the parking situation.

Another thing I didn't care for was that we had to drive like 10 minutes to get to Disney (not too far but has a lot of traffic). Nevertheless, the distance would not impede us from staying there again. Although I would definitely ask for a different building with a nicer view.

Room Tip: Buildings close to the pool but not walk through
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Star Island is a large resort which has been taken over by Wyndham. We went there on an exchange thru RCI. It seems to be well run, as I have found at all Wyndham resorts. Buildings seemed to range from 2 stories to 6. The tall buildings had at least one elevator. We had a nice one bedroom unit in building 18. Here the larger units are the "B" side. It looks just like the pictures on their website. It was roomy & great for a couple. It even has a stacked washer/dryer & 2 small boxes of soap powder. The smaller "A" side (which I didn't see) probably doesn't have a balcony. The unit was well equipped with nice furnishings. It had 2 wall mounted flat screen TV's-one in living room & the other in the bedroom.
Unfortunately, the only bathroom is located in the master bedroom. Not a problem when you are only a couple but a big problem if someone is on the sleeper sofa (other than one's own small children maybe). The toilet is in its own little closet (which helps the privacy issue) next to the double sink area. There is a large standup shower and a large whirlpool tub (you can see it in the pictures surrounded by columns).
Inside the unit we had no problem with noise from other units-maybe we were just lucky.
The balcony is quite small-perhaps 7'x8'-with a dining table & 4 chairs. It is very close to the neighbor balcony-no privacy, plus the ones directly below/above you are easy to see & hear. We had a lot of noise from loud talking cell phone users & just plain loudmouthed talkers.
Smoking is excluded from the units, so it is done on the balconies. That means that the neighbors’ smoke comes right to your balcony. A solid privacy wall would help--at least with the next door unit which is very close (as in “reach out and touch” close).
I think parking is a problem. I doubt that they have enough spaces for one car per unit, much less 2 per unit. If you come in late, prepare to park well away from your building's entry area.
The location is good, with several chain restaurants nearby and a supermarket within about a mile.
We didn’t take part in any of the activities that the resort offered but they seemed to have a lot going on. The pool area was lovely and didn’t seem crowded. There were many tennis courts with lessons ongoing.
The check-in was simple but they need to do something about the process to obtain a parking pass. You have to go to a small area (with a low ceiling) that has 4-5 agents who want you to sign up for the welcome breakfast/activities info meeting. They have to communicate with 8-10 new patrons and it ends up being horribly loud and one can’t hear anything. They really need to find a new place for this part of check-in.
All in all, this is a nice resort. It is convenient to all of the major tourist attractions but the location is off the main road & therefore quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Island Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.