We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the "Suites" name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Maingate to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Maingate
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the "Suites" name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When I hear the term "Suites" associated with a hotel, I assume two distinct rooms - a sitting/living area and a separate bedroom with a proper door separating the two (eg. Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites, Staybridge Suites, Springhill Suites, etc.). I booked Clarion Suites for our recent family trip to Orlando partially for the "Suites" layout, so that we could put our daugter to bed in a quiet room. I guess I should have reviewed the online photos more closely but we were somewhat surprised to find a basic standard hotel/motel room - a sofa, two queen beds, dresser, and TV all in one room, with the bathroom at the back of the room -the only division between the queen beds and the sofa was a 4' high partial wall across half of the room width.
Apart from the misleading "Suites" designation, we were satisfied with the hotel. WiFi was fast and reliable, the free breakfast was adequate (although zero variety day-to-day), and the room was generally comfortable and clean. Shower water pressure and temperature was a little hit-and-miss. I have had better hotel beds than those here (I found a little soft, lumpy, and squeaky frames) but they were acceptable.
Location was convenient to the main Orlando attractions.
Staff helfulness was also a litte hit and miss - some great people who were very helpful, and some that were less so. Not terrible, but not consistent high customer service standards.
Would I return to Clarion Suites Maingate? If travelling without kids, maybe. With kids, probably not, as I would rather choose someplace else with a true "Suite" layout.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I apologize we failed to meet all your expectations. Our rooms are approximately 300 square feet, a bit larger than most of the onsite attraction hotels. We are committed to high customer service standards. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    270
    95
    45
    27
See reviews for
332
153
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here a week. We were schedled for just a Sunday but arrived on a Friday and they placed us for 3 days in a queen suite, but we decided a king suite in another section may be better. Away from children w/ families. Rooms were very nice, although we had to request housekeeping, as it wasn't done before 3 pm. We were gone every day and usually came back after 1 pm and waited for housekeeping, usually had to go to front desk to request help. I am sure they were just so busy. The laundry room was huge and so clean. Met some very nice people there!. The staff were so friendly and always busy. Very clean grounds, pool, parking lot always clean of debris. Breakfast was the same everyday, but eggs had no taste. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have been staying here for parts of our vacation for 7 years, and it still is a great hotel to stay. However, recent name change and cost increase seems to be taking away from some of the amenities. Still a good hot breakfast, but no variety from day to day. In the past, they offered something different every morning, but recently menu has stayed the same, and when you spend 5 nights here, that gets a little humdrum. Seems that the rooms haven't been upgraded, with the increase in price, but still quite nice with very comfortable beds and pillows. Front desk staff (2 people) seemed like the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing. Overall, it took about 25 minutes to get checked in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

very happy with the rooms great pool and hot tub wow it was cold when we got their and the hot tub did wonders. close to all stores we got the breakfast included was great everyday. friendly waiters and desk attendant. the desk attendant mike was very helpful. we always had the pool to ourselves mostly everyone else was gone to Disneyland. just the keys one never worked so we always used the other key just beware of cheap disney tickets at the counter better to buy online or at disney itself reason they want you to spend time 90 minutes talking about time share to get cheap tickets. don't go very persuasive, sometimes very rude spent 3 and a half hours with 4 different guys trying to get you to buy time shares. ruined our morning but overall hotel excellent service great we would go back..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Clarion Suites Maingate - Kissimmee

Staff are fantastic. Special thanks goes out to Mariah (front desk).
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Beds and Pillows are very good for good nights rest.
Unfortunately we never used the pool or Hot tub due to Bad weather.But it looked very inviting.
The grounds are kept immaculate. I did talk with security one morning at 5am. Nice to see they have someone looking after our safety at night.
The area seemed very safe and never heard of any problems from any other guests.
Met several people that are return guests. One man we met was back for his 12 time! That's says something!

Now to be honest will point out few things they can approve on.

We did eat at there breakfast Buffet every morning. But I would only give it a 2 out of 5.
Things are cold and butter is frozen.
Buffet same thing every day.
We ate there every morn just because of the convenience. Its not bad food. Just can be much better.
Bathroom was a little dated. But still good. Very clean.
Bathroom also has full size mirror hanging on wall across from toilet.
Do not like looking at myself having to use toilet in the morning. YUCK.

With all this being said.

We had a good time. Would recommend this to friends and family. Also will return in our future stays to Florida.

Thanks to everyone at Clarion Suites Maingate. Good job!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get poolside room. Or you will be looking at parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Very happy with the rooms. Nice grounds...nice to a fantastic small shopping plaza. Great staff. Included breakfast was small but w as a great start to the day. We arrived at 3am and was greated by a very friendly desk attendent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The rooms were just what I expected for the price. Parking is plentiful and close to the rooms. All rooms are near the pool area which is open late, until 11 PM every night.
The rooms were fairly clean, I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary. I was here through a package so breakfast was included. The selection and quantity of food was more than sufficient. It even allowed us to make some sandwiches for lunch later in the day.
For Disney vacations, this hotel is located very near to all Disney attractions and being right on the highway for restaurants and shopping. This was a perfect motel for our family as we wanted our Orlando vacation to be visiting the attractions in town. It provided us a clean place to sleep at night and breakfast in the morning. We were gone most of the time otherwise. If you are looking for a place to entertain or provide resort amenities, this is not the place.
The only criticism I have might be using the name suites as I thought the room would be bigger than it ended up being.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Address: 7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.