We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, big pool, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Maingate

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Maingate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Suites Maingate
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spacious room, big pool, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked through a third party, had no problems at check-in, and got the room we reserved. The rooms are nice and big. We had two beds plus a semi-divided area with a couch and coffee table. The furniture was all in good shape. Beds were on the firmer side, but still comfortable. The pillows are odd because they're square shaped, although they were fine. The bathroom ran the width of the room all the way in the back. It has tons of counter space. The room and the entire property were clean. They had crews cleaning the outside door frames and windows the day we left.

The pool area is above average. It's fairly large and has a curved shape rather than a typical rectangle. There's a hot tub (it's definitely kept hot, not warm) big enough for at least 15 people. Plus there's even a mushroom fountain in the kiddie pool. It's all open until 11pm. If you're going to the parks then you might not get back in time to use it. They had Mexican style music playing in that area.

Breakfast runs 5:30 - 9:30am and can get really packed towards the end. They had sausage, eggs (with or without bacon!), hash brown patties, pancakes (like the frozen ones you can get from the grocery store), rice & beans, oranges, bread, bagels, english muffins, generic single-serve cereals, coffee (with plain creamer only), and a variety of juices from a machine. Overall it's better than your average free hotel breakfast. Some flavored coffee creamer and more fruit or yogurt would be the only things I'd add. Everything was kept fully stocked even at the end of the breakfast time so you don't need to worry about getting there early to get something you want... you could have trouble finding a spot to sit though.

Close to many restaurants, grocery stores, and a couple mini golf courses.

I'm glad we chose to stay here and would consider staying here again on future trips.

Room Tip: The walls didn't seem to block much noise. We were on the top floor away from the busiest areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    226
    68
    39
    22
See reviews for
286
118
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week....was told over phone there was a restaurant... NOT....dirty...unorganize....
Pool not working....unhappy overall experience
Lights didn't work in room...the so called shuttle was unpredictable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed here several times. Now it has changed to Clarion and some of the amenities have changed. No pool bar and pool service but a nice full service bar near the pool which serves appetizers and dinners in the evening. Michelle was great as always. She gives you extra personalized service. Happy hour prices are fantastic!!!! You can walk to great restaurants including TGIF, Carabba's, Outback, Cracker Barrel. The pool area is very nice. A place to meet new friends or old friends! Or both!

Room Tip: I think any room would be nice. All newly spruced up and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are extremely happy with the Clarion Suites. This was our 14th year staying there. They are always upgrading the property It's very clean. They are prompt at doing something that needs to be done when requested. The pool area is beautiful. It is within walking distance to other resturants. You don't always have to get in your car and drive someplace to eat and the new resturaunt Jumbo's located on site is very nice. Michelle the bartender and waitress is excellent. She's very helpful when we have asked questions on the menu. She's very friendly and extremely professional Excellent menu. We will keep coming back to this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here early March/2013. Everything was perfect! Room was cleaned everyday.
Breakfast is really great, with a large selection of food and juices. One of the best I experienced in MCO area.
Front desk staff was always available to help you, in a very professional manner.
Great service. Really.
Big room, giant bathroom. *NO* roaches found at all (anywhere in complex BTW).

LOCATION: Hotel is located on HWY 192, WEST of I-4. This area is still developing, but you can find several good restaurants, like Sweet Tomatoes (@ 3236 Rolling Oaks Blvd - 1.5 mi from hotel), Fridays, Outback and Olive Garden, among with junk food places (McDonalds, BK, Taco Bell). A very few are under a walking distance, but for most of them you will need a car/taxi.

Hotel is close to WDW complex (9 miles from MK), about 13 miles from Sea World, 16 miles from Universal, 23 from downtown Orlando (Amway Center/Church Street St).

CONS: WiFi didn't work for several days during the peak season on spring break - and very poor quality on the other days. Their business center computer does not print - need to ask front desk to print it inside the office.

CRAZY MAIL ORDER SHOPPER: If you are here on vacation from overseas, this hotel will charge you a convenience fee for every item received by mail or carrier. The fee is small, so, no need to worry.

GEEK/NERD TALK: Very poor 3G reception and no 4G at all on T-Mobile. VirginMobile does not work here - good signal but can't connect to their network. If you need internet to work while travelling, you probably will need to work from hotel lobby area. Even T-Mobile (mobile) voice service was not available inside the room (my room was in the back of complex).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a 10 day flight-hotel package with Westjet. We booked kind of last-minute and paid $660 pp taxes in - which was a very good deal because I found lots of flight-only prices to Orlando to be $500-700 - with no hotel included!

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before booking anything and for the most part our experience here mirrored what I had read from other travellers.

PROS

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.
Hotel was older but very clean.
Full-size fridge in room.
Pool and hot tub were both a good size and very clean.
5 min to Disney.
15-20 min to Universal.
Close to hundreds of restaurants - 2min to Walgreens - 5 min to Target.

CONS

Breakfast area really small and busy (exactly what everyone else says)

No Fitness Area

Pool was NOT heated (I would guess it was 72-73F - no way it was 80F+)

Lady who works in the lobby of the hotel at the tourist kiosk (she sold us Universal passes) is a little offside and could be a little crazy!!! LOL I cannot describe it any other way but she was a total weirdo!!! Also, when we went to use the passes she printed out for us at the park, the scanner couldn't read them so we had to go to guest services for new passes which was a bit of a pain. I would have gone back to complain but I didn't want her to murder me and wear my skin as a hat :)

Overall, for what we paid, excellent value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable Orlando vacation.

Room Tip: We had a pool view - It was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We were exhausted when we arrived and were told they needed a credit card to check in. We stayed for 13 days and I found out on day 9 when I couldn't use that credit card anymore, that they had billed my card for 7 days accommodation at a higher rate quoted to me. In addition, they had placed a hold on my card for the 13 days accommodation at a higher rate than quoted. I had taken their initial quote with me and when I confronted the staff with this, was told 'computer says'. It was resolved but only because I was adamant. They do no ask you to sign a form with the hotel procedure and charge the card unknowingly. This is a serious breach in trust and it is illegal. The manager who was supposed to be on duty was not there even though the sign said she was available. This experience ruined my stay at the hotel!
The safety certificate for the elevator had expired in Aug 2011. Breakfast was disgusting and we had pb&j toast each morning. The buses are too small to manage the hotels they service and one often ends up standing after a very long day in the parks. We had cockroaches in our room. All in all this hotel was terrible and NOT a disney hotel at all! Will never visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Address: 7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.