We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy, convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Maingate

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Maingate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Maingate
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 156 hotels in Kissimmee
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy, convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is not too far from Magic KingdOm. We rented a car but even if you don't they provide shuttle to parks. The rooms are not trendy and are very basic, but clean and well equipped. The breakfast at Jumbo's comes free which is great. They had scrambled eggs with cheese, hash browns, bagels, bread, cereals, pancakes, juices, coffee...pretty good value. I liked the hotel.
And the gift shop downstairs is helpful. We bought rain ponchos which were useful in the rain!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    214
    64
    38
    22
See reviews for
275
114
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel needs renovation and the check-in clerk needs racial discrimination trainings. I checked into this Clarion Maingate hotel around 10PM on Sunday 12/23/2012 for a four days Christmas Disney family vacation. Despite the nice apperance at the front the hotel is a run down place. The double queen bed room we were given is small for a suite. The sink clogged and the shower head leaked. Three of my children, my wife and I, we all started to have sinus problem on the first night!
What worse is the check-in clerk seemed to have issues against Asian guests. She demanded that I write down the names of every family members in order to check in, something I've never experienced at other hotels. Of all people, this clerk should know better than to discriminate other race. I hope the hotel management can read this and provide her the proper trainings.
I will not come back to the Clarion Maingate or any of the ChoiceHotels hotels. When booking a suite there is not much difference in costs between ChoiceHotels and other established hotel chains such as Hiltons or Mariott. I'd rather pay $10-$20 more a day to stay at ones that treat you as guests.

Room Tip: Our room in the back of the hotel is small and run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our party of 10 stayed here from Dec. 22 -27, 2012. Very accommodating, we had adjoining rooms. The rooms were freshly painted and clean. Desk and concierge were helpful. Grounds lovely. Pool area clean (i am fussy about clean pools). Location was great. Lots of eateries and shopping close. Not to mention the proximity to the theme parks. Free shuttle, but would suggest to take own car to parks, our shuttle was an hour and a half late picking us up from Disney (made for some frazzled nerves as we had 4 little ones falling asleep). Would suggest to pay the extra $10 for the ground floor. Clean laundry on sight. Sufficient breakfast.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My daughter and I spent the first week of November, 2012, at the Clarion Maingate. From the moment we arrived late that night, the staff was so helpful and friendly. The room was new and very clean. Every morning we were treated to a spectacular breakfast buffet by friendly, professional serving staff. We felt right at home during our stay. We had so many questions each day and everyone was so willing to help and sincerely happy to do it. The entire property was also clean and very attactive. We would definately go back and recommend to everyone to stay there. Honestly it should be rated a 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed here the last 3 years on our trips to Florida. Since our last visit they changed from a Comfort Suites to a Clarion. No real differences yet. Breakfast was good for a hotel except they did not have waffles which was a big downer. Prior to changing they had flavored waffels and Mickey Shaped waffles which were very good. The only other downfall is the Pool Bar is closed and you have to go to the restaurant now to get drinks or food. Its not far but out of the fence and away harder to watch children in the pool if you need a drink or a bite to eat. Pool was a bit colder then normal not sure if the heater was working properly or not.Other then that we had a great stay again, and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is decent. Nothing spectacular, but we stayed here during our trip to Disney World so it was basically just a place to sleep and shower.

We had two rooms side by side, and both were kind of stinky - that would be my only major complaint. Not sure if it was the AC or just to much dampness in the room.

Free breakfast was nice and had lots of options. Get down there early though if you want a table, it gets busy!!!

Pool and hot tub were alright, pool bar had tasty drinks!

Overall the hotel is pretty good and got the job done for what we needed it for!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile


Close to Disneyland, lots of restaurants close by (walking distance), shopping outlet malls 15-20 minute drive.
rooms are dated, but there has been some attempt to update (flat screen tv, granite in bathroom).

Don't bother with the free breakfast (some sort of eggs, cereal, and toast and none of it very good) there are plenty of other breakfast places around (Denny's, I hop, McDonald's).

Wifi signal is weak and slow.

This place was okay overall, but I was less than impressed with the maid service. 1st day, they knocked at 8am and opened the door without waiting for any reply (I had enough time to lift my head off the pillow and look at the door to see her standing there). After that I put up the do not disturb sign...permanently. Day 2 I had the window coverings opened about 1 ft to let in some natural light and for some reason the maid took that as an invitation to press her face up against the window and peek in....then knock after seeing us in there to get me to sign a form to decline maid service.
I just found it unprofessional. If you stay here, keep the blinds closed...even if it does feel like a dungeon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Address: 7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.