We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay again, but No waffles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Maingate

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Maingate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Maingate
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Stay again, but No waffles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed here the last 3 years on our trips to Florida. Since our last visit they changed from a Comfort Suites to a Clarion. No real differences yet. Breakfast was good for a hotel except they did not have waffles which was a big downer. Prior to changing they had flavored waffels and Mickey Shaped waffles which were very good. The only other downfall is the Pool Bar is closed and you have to go to the restaurant now to get drinks or food. Its not far but out of the fence and away harder to watch children in the pool if you need a drink or a bite to eat. Pool was a bit colder then normal not sure if the heater was working properly or not.Other then that we had a great stay again, and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    230
    69
    39
    22
See reviews for
290
119
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is decent. Nothing spectacular, but we stayed here during our trip to Disney World so it was basically just a place to sleep and shower.

We had two rooms side by side, and both were kind of stinky - that would be my only major complaint. Not sure if it was the AC or just to much dampness in the room.

Free breakfast was nice and had lots of options. Get down there early though if you want a table, it gets busy!!!

Pool and hot tub were alright, pool bar had tasty drinks!

Overall the hotel is pretty good and got the job done for what we needed it for!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile


Close to Disneyland, lots of restaurants close by (walking distance), shopping outlet malls 15-20 minute drive.
rooms are dated, but there has been some attempt to update (flat screen tv, granite in bathroom).

Don't bother with the free breakfast (some sort of eggs, cereal, and toast and none of it very good) there are plenty of other breakfast places around (Denny's, I hop, McDonald's).

Wifi signal is weak and slow.

This place was okay overall, but I was less than impressed with the maid service. 1st day, they knocked at 8am and opened the door without waiting for any reply (I had enough time to lift my head off the pillow and look at the door to see her standing there). After that I put up the do not disturb sign...permanently. Day 2 I had the window coverings opened about 1 ft to let in some natural light and for some reason the maid took that as an invitation to press her face up against the window and peek in....then knock after seeing us in there to get me to sign a form to decline maid service.
I just found it unprofessional. If you stay here, keep the blinds closed...even if it does feel like a dungeon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarion during the thanksgiving week, after a 16 hr drive from Tx we wanted try to check in early. They were so accommodating, initially they gave us a double room, but I had booked and prepaid for a king. One quick call and we were immediately given a king room with no hassle or wait. Our room was kept tidy each day. We loved having a refrigerator and microwave since we were on a budget, it housed our drinks and sandwich materials. This was an excellent location, less than 10 minutes from the parks and Downtown Disney and the price was just right. We are already planning next years trip and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Good price-quality rate. Cheap, okay to stay, but no place for clothes, beds suck bigtime. Can sleep 7 in a room.. Aircos need maintenance as they smell of mold.
Continental breakfast is complimentary until 09:30, they'll (over) charge if you're too late.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Firstly let me say ive stayed in many motels/hotels in kissimmee so know what im getting this hotel could be lovley if it sorted a few niggles.

1. location is great although in maingate west its 10 minutes from Disney so no problem we had a car so didnt need to use the public shuttles which seems to be the main gripe with people complaining.

2. hotel service: this is probably the only thing that was not great. on first impressions its lovey open public areas very inviting however when i checked in i wasnt told the pool wasnt functioning properly and had no heating it literally took your breath too get in we were told after 10 days and a couple of calls to reception they were aware it was a problem but were waiting for it to be fixed when your travelling with a 10 year old a pool is a must after a long day at the parks and had they told me it wasnt working i could have made alternate plans . the cleaner just walked into the room twice without knocking and nearly caught me in the shower( which would not have been a pretty sight) and then to cap it off even though i had a pre paid voucher my card was charged over $700 in error and was only discovered when i checked my online banking . although after fretting for a couple of hours i managed to sort it with expensive calls back to the uk it left me with a nasty taste in my mouth that could have been avoided these issues were easily avoidable. All in All we had a fab time but i wouldnt take the risk of staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room $10 dollars a note to upgrade but make sure the pools working first!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Firstly, don't think this 5* review means it's 5* accommodation - it isn't! It is accommodation on a budget, but for the price, it is everything I'd expect.

Firstly the downsides (well, that's the only reason people read these reviews isn't it?). They're all minor.

* WiFi is not wonderful - it's slow at best, but it does work. The only real pain is that you have to click an 'I accept these terms' before you can use it which means that you can't use wireless devices without a web browser (ebook reader, for example) and that you have to fire up a web browser before you can use any other app (Tweetdeck, Facebook etc.).
* Bed was very soft and springy. Not a problem if you like that sort of thing, but I like my bed as firm as a very firm thing.
* Breakfast can get monotonous. There's a fair range (cereal, bread, bagels, English muffins, a toaster, eggs and on some days sausages), but it is basic (and note that it is exactly what I'd expect at this price point). If you're staying for more than a few days you'll probably want to pop out to eat elsewhere once or twice during your stay.
* Fridge was really really noisy. Since we weren't using it, we just unplugged it. I suspect that maintenance would fix/swap it if it was a real problem.
* Aircon was tricky to set to a good temperature - took a few days to work out what was just right and the slightest knock on the dial changed it!!

And now the good things.

* Close to Disney (10 minute drive from car park to car park for all four main parks if you take the back road)
* Easy to find/get to (it's just off a main road)
* Staff very friendly and helpful
* Swimming pool kept clean
* Room very clean (actually, everything was very clean)
* Good price
* Walking distance to good restaurants and a supermarket
* Plenty of parking
* Free breakfast

We didn't use the courtesy shuttle - the times were inconvenient, but then if you're staying here the chances are that you have a car. **HINT** if you're just going to Disney for the day, drive to Blizzard Beach, park there for free and then get a Disney shuttle bus to the park you really want to go to - saves having to pay the $14 car parking charge for the main parks. Make sure you're back at Blizzard Beach before they close though!

All in all, a very good budget hotel - worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Address: 7888 W. Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.