We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament

Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament
4510 W Vine St, Kissimmee, FL, Kissimmee, FL 34746
(407) 396-1518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 654 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Andalusia, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Absolutely one of the best experiences in Orlando! My family of four had a blast! I decided on this dinner show because my 7-year-old son is very much into swords and fighting right now, but I didn’t expect for us all to have such a good time. Everyone sits in a colored section, and each section has its own knight to cheer for during the action. Our knight was quite handsome, and my daughter caught one of his roses. She was so excited! Not only do you cheer for your knight, but you boo the other knights, which make it so much fun. We ate at 3 different dinner shows while in Orlando, but the food –and the entertainment - at Medieval Times was by far the best. It was a little strange eating with no utensils, but you get so involved in the show that you don’t think much about it. So glad I chose Medieval Times dinner show!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    79
    17
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The food was good considering it was all served at the same time. Hot food was hot which is hard to do when you serve this many. Gift shops in this type of venue tend to be pricey but then most of the other attractions are the same way. The show was most entertaining and it was easy to get caught up in all the action.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Good show, good food, and you eat with your hands!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Entertaining but with a greedy sting in the tail....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We booked the royalty package for a midweek show with a 6pm start on the ticket.

The instructions on the ticket told us to arrive no later than 5.45pm to enable time for admission, seating etc. This meant we cut a lovely afternoon at Typhoon Lagoon short by 1.5 hours to ensure we arrived on time.

When we got there at this time the place was pretty empty, a handful of people in the bar and mingling around the extensive shop. We were herded towards two thrones for a "photo opportunity" with the King (corpulent hairy rockstar in velvet) and the Queen of the cardboard castle. When we tried to take a picture with our own camera, the King literally growled out of the corner of his mouth that this was not allowed.

So we are herded into the gift shop/ bar area, and when we asked about taking pur seats were told it would be a short wait. ONE AND A HALF hours later they started seating people. We thought this was pretty outrageous, you are literally conned into hanging around a space where you can spend your money on ridiculously overpriced drinks, buy ridiculously overpriced plastic chinese reproductions of swords and shields or models of knights from "Ye Olde Shoppe" (which i don't mind so much in a real castle where profits go towards the National Trust, for example), buy ridiculously overpriced photographs of your loved ones with a faux member of royalty, or buy ridiculously overpriced flashing swords, light up roses and other glowing/flashing plastic objects designed to stop working the moment you leave the "castle".

Finally they start seating folks, and as expected it's customers with a disability or impairment first, but take note, this impairment also includes customers who are so super morbidly obese that they can't take a flight of stairs plus their 12 family members....so the process takes a fair amount of time and is fairly disorganised.

Next you are called up by your "colours" i.e. Which Knights team and set of tables. You are given a seating/table number, so it should be fairly orderly, but no, cue the ignorant, arrogant pigs who are quite prepared to walk up the back of a child to reach their table first. So, once we were pushed to the back of the crowd we finally got to our table, at the front...hmmmm. The seats were brilliant and worth the upgrade.

The show itself didn't start until 8 pm, and that's when they start serving the food. Bear this in mind with kids, we thought we'd be eating at 6.30 latest, our son was starving.

Meal served on metal plates with no cutlery as we did in ancient times (think Cable Guy ad you do get pepsi in your plastic goblet served by people in nike trainers) and consists of :

One piece of garlic bread (Pizza Hut style)
One bowl of tomato cup a soup (you have to drink it)
One qtr chicken, one rib, half a rock hard baked potato
One dry apple pastry (although some tables got two desserts and some didn't)
2 fills of Pepsi
1 coffee.

Children get the same meal, so bear this in mind also, you are trying to tear chicken off the bone for them to eat.

Also bear in mind that they completely forget to eat with the show going on at the same time, so you either have to egg them on to eat, or leave half the food. They clear up pretty quick too, so kids don't get too much time to linger.....

The show itself is brilliant, the guys playing the knights and the horse displays and mock fighting are very clever and do a great job. I would really hope the lions share of the profit goes their way, sadly I doubt it. The action is late into the show and it's a slow start, but once it gets going it is good. The only issue we had wad that the queen sounded like Minnie Mouse and we couldn't understand any of her lines. People really get into the atmostphere of the show, yelling, cheering, banging tables and waving flags. Some folks had even dressed up (well, a velvet cape over jeans and flip flops) and paraded up and down in the waiting area proudly.

However what also spoilt the performance was the constant selling of stuff during the show, out come the glow in the dark swords etc again, and your view is impaired somewhat as the sellers pace up and down, they also take photos during the dinner and then disturb the show to get you to buy them.

We enjoyed the perfornance, it was fast very skilled, the food was expectedly mediocre, however the atmostphere was spoilt by the constant money making ploys of the company.

I would recommend as a tongue in cheek night, i don't think any Brit could take it in as passionately as the US crowd members, overlook the food, service and hard sell, and think Jim Carey in Cable Guy and you'll have a laugh.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“waste of money and time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

after visiting Medieval Times in orlando I Felt ripped off and a little sick. if eating while smelling the horses isnt bad enough the food is horrible, greasy and taste less.
the show is stupid dark and depressing with no action. this is one tourist trap you should avoid.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.