We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Savings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Calgary, AB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Savings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our experience started out very poor at this hotel and as we stayed we became used to the poor quality. Upon arriving, the evening manager checked us in at about 10:30 pm. We were very excited to begin our vacation and were all smiles, yet the manager on duty hardly cracked a smile and gave us little to no service what so ever, we actually felt as if we had interrupted his evening. We overlooked this and proceeded to our room. When we arrived on the fourth floor the first thing that we noticed was the musty and dirty smell that was poorly covered up with some kind of air freshener, the whole place was just dirty. The walls and carpet were very old and in poor condition with wallpaper torn and missing from the walls. We felt as if we were in a third world country.
When we entered the room the same musty dirty smell greeted us. The furniture was old, dirty and in poor repair. The carpet had some substance like wax all over it that hadn’t been cleaned and when we tried to use the safe it didn't work. The week we were there it was very cold and the heater in the room didn't work either. By the time we were unpacked and ready for bed it was close to midnight and we were very tired from our travels. When I crawled into bed my feet immediately touched something under the covers. Someone’s old dirty socks! They hadn't even changed the sheets from the last guests… I jumped out of bed and immediately got on the phone to Bookit.com to try to arrange for another hotel but because of the crazy weather in the Eastern US the phone lines were jammed and I couldn't get through. We decided to stay the night and I called the front desk, after a long time of ringing he finally picked up and when I told him what I’d found in the bed his response was that there was no housekeeping at night and it was just him and a security guard but that they could bring up new sheets. We ended up changing our own beds at 1 AM in the morning and when I showed the security guard the old sheets (and socks), she just said “put them out in the hall”.
The next morning the staff at the front desk was very good and was horrified to hear of our experience. Our room came with free buffet breakfast each day for two adults and two children and we had three adults so they gave us “one” free breakfast on the first day for our third adult to make it right. Somehow that just didn't cut it. We asked if we could get a third breakfast for the third adult each day because we didn't have children with us but we still had to pay $7.99 each day for the third adult. The breakfast was good, not great and we enjoyed having that as part of our package but would definitely stay somewhere else next time and pay for breakfast.
We did get used to the poor conditions but had to ask for more towels more than once because the housekeeping staff took our towels and didn't replace them all or the bath mat. Overall, I’d say if you can afford to pay just a little bit more, do it. This should not be a three star but a two star at best. We tried to save a bit of money and for us; it wasn't worth it at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Along with our General Manager, we have reviewed your comments and we have taken the appropriate actions to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    179
    246
    218
    351
See reviews for
629
183
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 8 or 9 times over the past three years.
YES... it is sorta rundown and old.
YES... the halls can get dirty.
BUT it is very centrally located.
AND.. they have a descent buffet open for breakfast lunch and dinner.
( the food is not bad and the price is very cheap.)
MOST importantly to me: the price is fantastic!!
I just use it as a place to sleep and shower between visits to the theme parks.
Rooms are large. Water is hot. Parking a plentiful. There is a souvenir shop right next door that u can walk to. There are two swimming pools one inside and one out.
I don't know about u but I cant afford to stay at a theme park.
My one complaint is they don't offer many channels on the tv.
All in all a fantastic value.

BTW it is a family hotel so there aren't any questionable types hanging around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We will make sure and share your wonderful feedback with our staff!
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Awful. The staff were somewhat friendly, but that's the nicest thing I have to say about this place.
The building is old and outdated. There are tons of rooms that are poorly maintained.

When we got to the hotel, there was a fight between the desk clerk and a customer. They called the police because the guest threw money at her, and was spewing profanities. What a welcome!
The rooms were equally as disappointing. Small, poorly lit and filthy. The vents were covered in rust and dust. The floor had huge red stains in several places, the walls were dirty, the mirrors were cracked and chipped, there was black mold/ mildew on the shower nozzle and stains on the comforter. There was an odd cleaner smell, but not a comforting cleaner smell. Old tv, chairs were beat up and old and bug crawling out of the seats cushions by the pool. Buffet is barely that. A few crappy choices.
Overall, bad place to stay. Glad we only had 2 nights in this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Along with our General Manager, we have reviewed your comments and we have taken the appropriate actions to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Address: 7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West 3*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside sunny Orlando, Florida, our hotel in Kissimmee is close to all that central Florida has to offer, including the major theme parks, shopping, dining and entertainment. Situated just one mile from the main gate of Walt Disney World, Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West offers spacious, comfortable resort accommodations, exceptional amenities and exemplary service, all at a great value! Enjoy hours of family fun in our 8,000-square-foot, four-story atrium. Kids will love splashing in the heated indoor pool and playing arcade games, pool and air hockey in the game room. Parents will enjoy soaking in the hot tub or sipping a frosty beverage in the adjacent Brass Monkey Lounge.The atrium is also great for family reunions and group gatherings around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Orbitz so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate West Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Maingate West
Ramada Maingate West Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.