We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that embraces pathetic mediocrity” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel that embraces pathetic mediocrity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is so laughably bad, you almost have to admire it.
The first bad surprise is the resort fee, which you would not find unless you go looking for it. It’s cleverly hidden by both Orbitz and the hotel in their descriptions – and the Hotel Fron tDesk even has a printout of the Orbitz website showing where it’s hidden, so they can prove you are an idiot for not having dug relentlessly to find it - so they can show YOU were WRONG and THEY were RIGHT. Their page capture, though, doesn’t mention you have to click to see the last sentences of a write up of the hotel, which is where the resort fee is hidden. Even ORbitz makes you figure out that in the reservation process, you need to click a link to find out about this resort fee. I always though tORbitz was better than that – they’re not. So this review also means that for us, ORbitz becomes our booking site of last choice, not first choice. We just don't like being tricked, and both Orbitz and this hotel succeeded in fooling us.

When you pull up, you have a moment of thinking, aha, not so bad - but that is the OTHER Ramanda, directly across the street. No, you've booked into the aging, dilapidated hulk on the north side of 192.

The 2nd thing about the hotel: the stench of chlorine blasts your nostrils and permeates all the hallways from the moment you enter the hotel. They have an indoor pool right by the dining room, and it is an ugly murky blue, not clear and reassuring. Yukko.

The atmosphere: disorganized, like a 2nd rate hotel in Central America.

The Wi-Fi doesn’t work – there are a few spots you can grab it sporadically, but they kept reassuring me I just had to keep trying, until they admitted it wasn’t going to work – period. It doesn’t even work in the lobby.
There were sticky spots on our bedspreads. The pillows seemed to have no covers or just one cover. Noisy, grubby hallways, rooms showing serious wear and tear.
When I complained about the wifi to the staff, they shrugged and reminded me that since it was ‘free’ wifi, they didn’t have any reason to reimburse me for anything.

Now we get to the hairballs in the shower. Think Kraken from Pirates. Seriously, there was no way this shower or tub have drained properly in recent months. This took the plumber 45 minutes to clear just partially. The things he extracted from that pipe belong in a horor movie.
Finaly it got to the point where we could actually take a shower. However, when you are 10 inches deep in cooling off water, and you know it's circulating down to the next clump of hairballs from some hairy person from last year, it' just doesn't feel good.

Everything in this hotel feels 2nd rate or 3rd rate, beat up, barely tolerable. For $52, it’s a little too much. The place screams out for a makeover. There’s one PC and printer in the ‘business center’ in the lobby. The printer is broken. Must be 400 rooms in this place.

IN the fitness center, everything is broken. Except the TV. and the mirror. so you can look at yourself wanting to be fit.

buffet breakfast. No fault o fthe overworked servers, but they don't even come to ask if you want coffeee or juice until you are aalmost finished. I helped myself and had to negotiate to not be billed for doing so. Good points - it's near Disney. It wasn't actually scary - just kinda slimy start to finish.

Room Tip: To get a good room, book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
M.Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    173
    236
    207
    322
See reviews for
603
166
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late one evening, was checked in quickly and efficiently by the on shift manager and assigned room 1105 on the ground floor.

We made our way down to the room and first impressions were quite good, it was clean and considering the age of the hotel in quite good shape. The bathroom was large and in good condition, the beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows provided. We had about 60 channels on our TV with all manner of programs. The only con about the room is that you can hear people talking in the corridor and when they close their door.

Our package didn't include breakfast and from what I have seen I probably would decline to pre purchase. There are so many great options around the hotel all within walking distance, namely iHop!

There are 2 pools and a jacuzzi in the main area with a bar close by, ample car parking and wifi in the public areas (not in our room unfortunately) around the corridors you will find vending machines, ice machines and there are laundry facilities.

There are shuttles to all the parks but the timings are not that convenient. The first shuttle to disney is at 11:10am

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our staff is very proud of the work they do, and always try to go above and beyond when it comes to each of our guests. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed using our on property amenities such as the indoor pool and bar! We hope to see you again next year!
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this Ramada 3 years ago and it was nice...this time it was awful. The shower, heater, and refrigerator in our room was broken. The carpets were dirty. There was mold in the bathroom. There was visible "dust bunnies" on the walls. The dresser drawer was broken out and couldn't be used. The bedspread was torn and had "sticky stuff" on it...gross!!!! And on our last night there was a dog barking in the room next to ours for over 6 hours while we were trying to sleep (our room was right by the front desk and the barking could be heard at the front desk and no one did anything to stop the noise)!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are terribly sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations during your stay with us. I would like to personally apologize for your room not being cleaned to your standards. We take all of our reviews very seriously and will be using your comments to ensure we correct any issues.
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Address: 7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West 3*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside sunny Orlando, Florida, our hotel in Kissimmee is close to all that central Florida has to offer, including the major theme parks, shopping, dining and entertainment. Situated just one mile from the main gate of Walt Disney World, Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West offers spacious, comfortable resort accommodations, exceptional amenities and exemplary service, all at a great value! Enjoy hours of family fun in our 8,000-square-foot, four-story atrium. Kids will love splashing in the heated indoor pool and playing arcade games, pool and air hockey in the game room. Parents will enjoy soaking in the hot tub or sipping a frosty beverage in the adjacent Brass Monkey Lounge.The atrium is also great for family reunions and group gatherings around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate West Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Maingate West
Ramada Maingate West Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.