We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    173
    236
    206
    322
See reviews for
603
165
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had already booked another hotel-which was awesome-when we decided to come a day earlier. We booked this hotel because it was cheap and we just needed a place to sleep. Unfortunately this is its best attribute, it is a place to sleep. The "courtyard" was nasty and I would not have entered either the pool or the spa without a body suit-gross. The halls were nasty and smelled bad and the carpet was filthy. If you are looking for a cheap hotel to sleep, then stay otherwise run.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel from 2004 to 2009. The hotel has not been updated since before 04. The pool was so cold you could not even go into it. The hot tub was dirty and not hot. The buffet used to be awesome, now food was tasteless and like a school cafeteria. I spent every October at this hotel from 04-09 and it was packed. Not anymore. The rooms were not kept up. Everything is dated. The karaoke is no more and the pizza place in the center is closed down. My son and I was two of the 5 people that were at the bar/pool area. There was a sign stating the place was behind on their taxes and the building was going to be seized. Staff was wonderful as always. Price was good. It is in serious need of some TLC. I dont think it is as dirty as it is just old. There was never weeds in the flower beds before. The owner is not taking care of the property. I have spent over 5 months at this hotel and we had to leave after 1 night. I am very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Along with our General Manager, we have reviewed your comments and we have taken the appropriate actions to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.
M.Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I ended up staying at the Ramada Maingate West after being at a previous hotel that had a cockroach in the room and then horrible customer service, so we switch our plans and stayed at the Ramada Maingate West. The customer service at the hotel was wonderful and they were always willing to help with our requests. We especially enjoyed the help from the Assistant manager Stephanie Seay. She was the greater help out of all. Very pleasant and always available to help us out. I enjoyed staying at the hotel, and will hopefully come back to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our staff is very proud of the work they do, and always try to go above and beyond when it comes to each of our guests. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed using our on property amenities such as the indoor pool and bar! We hope to see you again next year!
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Let me start with as soon as you walk in, the whole place smells of chlorine and it is extremely humid from the pool and "hot" tub. As soon as we got to our room, we found that the air conditioning in our room did not work. I called front desk and they said I could switch rooms... before I could even get my bags packed back up the maintenance man came over to fix the a/c, which I found very awkward, he could have waited until we were out of the room. Once I got back down stairs to trade out my room key, the concierge was very rude to me and spoke to me as if I was a 5 year old. I was not amused. She tried to convince me to stay in my room, but like anyone else, I did not want a room with a broken a/c in the middle of Florida, just for it to break down again. Finally after raising my voice, the concierge let me change my room. The second room we received smelled of mold and smoke, even though it was a non smoking room. I gave up and stayed there.

My husband tried to calm me down and asked me to go to the hot tub with him and so I regretfully went. As I sat in the hot tub I waited 2 hours for it to get even the slightest bit warm... every single person that entered the tub while I was in it agreed that it was colder than the heated pool. I gave up and went back to my room and watched t.v.

The next morning my husband and I decided to try the breakfast buffet, again, regretfully. Once the waiter finally saw us (after we had been seated 10 minutes) I asked for a water and waited another 15 minutes to receive my cup of water. The food (aside from the day old cut fruit.. I know it was a day old because my husband is a chef at a very prestige restaurant) was horrible. The sausages were extremely dried out as we're the biscuits, the sausage and gravy was clearly old as well as it was gritty and so on. I would not recommend the breakfast buffet there is a ponderosa right a cross that has a way better selection and much better waiters... it also costs less. To add to this experience I had to wait another 15 minutes just for a refill on my cup of water. My husband waited the same amount of time for his drink refill.

After coming back from our days events, we decided to have a couple of drinks at the bar. It was actually the best part of the hotel. The bartender was very nice and he talked with my husband about sports for hours while still doing his job and making sure all of his customers were taken care of and happy. We really did enjoy him as my husband does not drink alcohol, the bartender made the bar experience very pleasant for everyone.

I honestly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It's out dated and the bathrooms next to the pool are dirty. The only good part about the hotel is the price and the one bartender we has the pleasure of having.

Room Tip: If I could give a good tip, I would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We certainly appreciate all feedback posted about our hotel, and we are sorry we fell short in the Restaurant. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome the feedback as opportunity to improve.
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near to shops, restaurants and parks.It is a little tired in places but all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems to begin with ,but these were soon sorted out The main areas were clean and tidy and the laundry was easy and quick to use. Housekeeping came in every day for the 2 weeks we were there.We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose the upper floors away from the pool,laundry etc and also a room facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We will make sure and share your wonderful feedback with our staff!
M. Haibon-Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Address: 7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West 3*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside sunny Orlando, Florida, our hotel in Kissimmee is close to all that central Florida has to offer, including the major theme parks, shopping, dining and entertainment. Situated just one mile from the main gate of Walt Disney World, Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West offers spacious, comfortable resort accommodations, exceptional amenities and exemplary service, all at a great value! Enjoy hours of family fun in our 8,000-square-foot, four-story atrium. Kids will love splashing in the heated indoor pool and playing arcade games, pool and air hockey in the game room. Parents will enjoy soaking in the hot tub or sipping a frosty beverage in the adjacent Brass Monkey Lounge.The atrium is also great for family reunions and group gatherings around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate West Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Maingate West
Ramada Maingate West Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.