We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    173
    236
    207
    322
See reviews for
603
166
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this dump the week of 1/29/13.It was booked through " Jet Blue getaway Vacations"
jet blue should be ashamed of themselves for using this venue as a recommended vacation stay.
The hotel really needs to be torn down and be rebuilt.The room was filthy,the bathroom tub was black with dirt.The room had a terrible odor.When you walk into the hotel you get the odor of chlorine that is coming from the the indoor pool.They have a hot tub that resembles a septic tank.
I could go on and on but I think you got the point "Don't stay here".There are plenty of other nice hotels in the Orlando area that we have previously stayed at before.The only reason we stayed here was because we trusted "Jet Blue" and did not check the reviews for this place.We did call jet blue as soon as we arrived to complain and see if we could upgraded to better hotel.They did not try to help us in the least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community, and we are sorry to hear that the housekeeping service you received was lacking. Our housekeepers and inspectors work hard to provide a consistent level of service to all rooms in the hotel, and it sounds like we failed in that goal with your room. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping department and will be used to train our associates on the importance of housekeeping service consistency.
Sincerely,
Jessica Marchetti
Sales Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because the timeshare booked it for us and its close to Disney.

The rooms were disgusting, old, and has a lot of insects .

Pool is indoor, place very dark.

Restaurant not so clean and food below average.

Service... Very slow. I can understand employees being not so enthusiastic about working there.

The only good thing about this place it the location and the price.

My advice to ruin your vacation there is plenty of nice hotels on the same street.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for selecting our property. We are very appreciative of your positive comments and constructive feedbacks. First and foremost, we are very sorry for your inconvenience and unhappiness at our resort. It is always our commitment to make certain each guest is taken extremely care of, which still stand as our top priority.
Sincerely,
Jessica Marchetti
Sales Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

How do I even begin! First off we walk into our room and the floors are soaking wet and the room smelled like must and mold and kept continuing to get worse my whole stay, after we called the front desk the sent someone up to "fix" the problem and all the did was spray so much vanilla air freshner I couldn't walk in the room with choking on it! And they did not seem very interested to fix the problem of the mysterious wet carpet which was just plain gross. Finally on our last night we got moved rooms to a new a slightly better one but the decor was quite interesting with pink walls and pictures of swans. Oh and I shouldn't forget to mention the sound of the heater sounded like bubbling water which was not pleasent to fall asleep to! The bed was super uncomfortable and you could hear your next door rooms convorsations word for word. Oh and every time I walked out of the hotel there were people smoking so the scent seemed to travel into the hotel along with our rooms various scents. This hotel is dirty and disgusting and I would confidently never recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Block Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We actually booked this hotel by mistake over the phone while on the road. We meant to book the one at Heritage Park but ended up in this armpit instead. Thank god we had our dog for protection in this sketchy area. What a dump. Went to check in and had to wait 10 minutes as I and another guest stood waiting for someone to emerge from the back office. They tried to charge another $10 per person "resort fee" but they "waived" it for us. If by "resort" they are referring to the pool that made the entire hotel reek of chorine then thanks for waiving.

Our non smoking room stunk of stale cigarettes and god knows what else. We were so tired from the drive and being stuck in traffic that we could have slept soundly anywhere that night. It was the roaches (not your regular Florida roaches but real roaches) in the bathroom that sealed the "terrible" rating of this hotel.

We parked the car in front instead of near our room because there were not cameras or proper security lighting around the building.

I don't mind sleeping in a cheap hotel while on the road, especially when you are arriving late and leaving early, but do yourself a favor and never stay at this one.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

an honest review of this place now here are the good parts of this hotel,

myself and my partner got this hotel as a package with virgin and to be honest it is an ok hotel, it is not the hilton and in my opinion if you want the hilton you can pay for it, it is in a great location and is only two toll roads away from the airport MCO, and is very easy to get too, the 192 is a fantastic strip where all you needs are catered for and everything is easy to find.

now the hotel is abit rough around the edges, i could do with a lick of paint here and there but the beds are soft the showers have hot water, there is a fridge in your room and a safe ( both which are free of charge to use ) rooms where cleaned every day, and everyone is friendly and will help you out if you need it, is has great loaction only 5 mins to any disney park and is 20 mins to universal studios and sea world, cocoa beash is a good hour away, bush gardens will take you about 45 mins.
there is an indoor hot tub, and heated swimming pool which are both in good use, busy in the evenings as familys use them after a long day at the parks.

now the bad parts,

as i said hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there, it is generally quite clean, as i said above the pool does get busy in the evenings where kids take over and the pool is rammed but this is there holiday aswell as yours so just be prepaired if you stay in this hotel, the real bad this i think about the hotel is the food, i would not recomend the food here it is not very good and is over priced comapired to other places you can eat, i would recoment sizzlers accross the road fo $6.99 ahead unlimited buffet breakfast is fantastic, and tea is only $2 aswell,

over al review of this place is

clean rooms.
softs beds
warm showers
hot tub and heated indoor pool

it is all you need disney is a fun filled day you are here to enjoy the parks and experiances not sit in a hotel for the whole of your trip if you want to do that go and pay the extra for it, if you want a nice place to stay with all the good this i mentioned after a full day out then stay here
and i would stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We paid $42/night through Expedia. Did not expect the Plaza, but the property's heydays have been long and gone. The indoor pool is an unusual concept in Florida, but it goes well with family activities, this area has tables, a bar, restaurant, access to vending and game room. The rooms? bare neccessities are covered by a TV and two full beds, the sheets and towels appeared really worn out, the matresses should have been replaced as you can feel the top of the springs through the fabric. On the plus side, it is on US192, many restaurants, shops, Mini golf and other entertainment are within walking distance, the entrance to Disney is two miles East. If you can overlook the humble conditions the place has exceptional value and is very attractive for families with two or more children. The parks are open until midnite, so stay in the park and just go to your room to sleep!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am so glad you liked our nice outdoor pool and the great location of our property. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the room accommodations you received and the unusual condition of our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Kissimmee, FL.
Sincerely,
Jessica Marchetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Address: 7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West 3*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside sunny Orlando, Florida, our hotel in Kissimmee is close to all that central Florida has to offer, including the major theme parks, shopping, dining and entertainment. Situated just one mile from the main gate of Walt Disney World, Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West offers spacious, comfortable resort accommodations, exceptional amenities and exemplary service, all at a great value! Enjoy hours of family fun in our 8,000-square-foot, four-story atrium. Kids will love splashing in the heated indoor pool and playing arcade games, pool and air hockey in the game room. Parents will enjoy soaking in the hot tub or sipping a frosty beverage in the adjacent Brass Monkey Lounge.The atrium is also great for family reunions and group gatherings around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate West Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Maingate West
Ramada Maingate West Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.