We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unfortunate stay. Poor Staff response, Unclean rooms. Good price.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
PORT SAINT LUCIE
1 review
“An unfortunate stay. Poor Staff response, Unclean rooms. Good price.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Ramada west gate over thanksgiving. The first night went well, the subsequent nights were horrible. The rooms had not been changed, towels not delivered. Dirt on the ceiling. Not Happy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    173
    236
    207
    322
See reviews for
603
166
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed on the week of Thanksgiving and we LOVED the stay the early shuddle helped us stay at the parks longer and we also liked that they have the late pick up from the parks. The only thing missing in the room was a microwave but other than that it was are stay great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I often stay at this hotel when going to the theme park areas because the location is good and the price is good. It is usually quiet and the rooms are large. The windows to the exterior are very small, and I would like a bigger view. It is clean and staff are helpful. It can be slow at check in time, if a lot of people show up at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

From other reviews, I did expect this hotel to be older and more run down, which it definitely is. Dingy, dark, and smelly (moldy/smokey) are good descriptions, but we really wanted a place with an indoor pool for our last night in Orlando so we thought we'd give this a try. I bit my tongue when we entered our room and started to notice annoyances like the bathroom door not closing all the way, hair in the sink and on a hand towel, and yep I even got to smash a tiny bug on the bathroom sink. My kids had fun at the pool, but it was cold enough that I think we would have been better off with an outdoor pool that was heated well. My patience reached its end when I went to put my kids to bed (we stayed in a family suite with twin beds for the kids) and noticed that the beds were made as follows - mattress, small mattress pad, 1 flat sheet draped on top of the mattress pad and then covered by a dingy comforter. There were no fitted sheets covering the mattress. The flat sheet didn't cover the mattress all the way, so they would be sleeping on the exposed mattress with just the nasty comforters covering them. Yuck. I called guest services and they didn't act surprised or apologetic, just said they would send up extra sheets. An hour later after my kids were already asleep we were presented with 5 pillow cases and 2 fitted sheets. At this point, I am just counting down the minutes until we check out. The one good thing I can say is that aside from the person at guest services, the other staff seemed to be friendly and helpful. I won't be staying at a Ramada again and recommend staying somewhere else if in the area. You can find comparable prices for much nicer hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a short term night time job at Disney - sleeping days/working nights. Rosalinda and the employees really took care of me. Shared places to eat, kept housekeeping at bay during my sleeping times. Everyone at the hotel seemed happy to have me there. I highly recommend for anyone wanting to stay near Disney without the high prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful TripAdvisor review. Our staff takes much pride in their customer service so your kind feedback means a lot to them; thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kissimmee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is literally the closest you will get to the parks aside from staying on Disney property. We had to make an emergency reservation with this place and were pleasantly surprised how attentive the Manager, Rosalinda, was. The staff is nice, the indoor pool is nice, the room was nice, and it was very budget friendly. For a budget style hotel stay this hotel ranks 10/10 in my book. Staff that is willing to bend over backward for you goes a long way in my book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your response and kind words about the property and staff. Our number one goal is to always make sure we are meeting and met all guests’ expectation. The staff “above and beyond” philosophy will forever be associated with our name and it is always our pleasure to serve you our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West

Address: 7491 West Highway 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747 (Formerly Ramada Kissimmee Maingate West)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West 3*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside sunny Orlando, Florida, our hotel in Kissimmee is close to all that central Florida has to offer, including the major theme parks, shopping, dining and entertainment. Situated just one mile from the main gate of Walt Disney World, Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West offers spacious, comfortable resort accommodations, exceptional amenities and exemplary service, all at a great value! Enjoy hours of family fun in our 8,000-square-foot, four-story atrium. Kids will love splashing in the heated indoor pool and playing arcade games, pool and air hockey in the game room. Parents will enjoy soaking in the hot tub or sipping a frosty beverage in the adjacent Brass Monkey Lounge.The atrium is also great for family reunions and group gatherings around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Maingate West Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Maingate West
Ramada Maingate West Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.