We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just be prepared for the answer NO on a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7300 Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just be prepared for the answer NO on a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A party of three stayed there over Easter break of 2012 and we were not sure what we were getting into at the time. It was the cheapest place in Kissimmee and we have mixed feelings about the place.

Check in was absolutely perfect and the guest clerk answered all questions that we had. They gave us a pamphlet and accommodated us since we were handicap. Parking was an issue up front since the restaurant Angels was up front so beware if you have a front room.

Once we walked into the room, it looked like a standard hotel room with an apartment fridge and a microwave. They did supply us with 4 pillows, 4 towels, 4 washcloths, one bar of soap and a roll of toilet paper. When we went to the front desk for a trash bag and another roll of toilet paper, we were told it was not part of the short stay policy. We did have to dump our own trash daily and no room service was given the three nights we stayed.

The room was clean and we did have cable and free wireless internet. it was quiet and not too many complaints.

We just wanted to make sure that if you decided to stay here, bring your own supplies because with three people in the room it does run out. Bring plenty of quarters if you want to wash your towels daily too!!

Overall we were ok with the room since most of the time we were in the parks. Just be prepared to hear NO when you ask for something!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wsugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just stayed five days. It was fine.

Things that were good: Desk clerk, building engineering, and security folks we dealt with were all pleasant. A failing light bulb was replaced promptly. Frig was full-sized, water was hot and pressure good, ac was fine, mattresses ok, very quick drive to disney parks, convenient to restaurants and grocery stores.

Things that bugged me: No alarm clock. Only one layer of curtains, so our room could either be dark, or else people could see right in; nothing translucent. Big electric sign out front advertises $49/night, desk clerk claims they don't offer that rate any longer (but for a five day stay, the weekly rate was cheaper than that anyway). Had to get our keys redone twice, probably a computer issue.

Unlike other reviewers, they did not give us a hassle for asking for a new roll of toilet paper, nor did we see or hear any altercations or police visits.

Things that might bug you: carpet had a stain, paint on the safe in the room was peeling, tons of rules; photo id required for each person given a key and parking permits required to be in the lot.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms cost more. There's a fee for changing rooms. Different rooms get cleaned on diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gravitrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had the WORST check in experience of our life at the Knights Inn Maingate which caused us to cancel before we even finished the check in paperwork.....We went over the Home Suite Home and Natalie was working behind the front desk. She was SUPER nice and gave us 2 rooms close to the main lobby right next door to each other since I was traveling with my family.....I would stay here again just because of the service I received when I just walked in to this hotel.....DO NOT STAY AT KNIGHTS INN MAINGATE!! Stay here instead!! Thanks Natalie for saving our vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leolioness4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Staff very polite. On site maintenance very efficient. Our manager Shaundra kept a very clean and tidy facility. Rooms were big and good quality. Lived here (maingate) for nearly 1 year and never had a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I really wanted to like this place because of the price and the proximity to Disney World. But even I am having a hard time putting up with this dump. The "suite" is really a one room motel room with an apartment sized frig stuck in the vanity area and a small microwave on the vanity. You can barely get in the bathroom and shut the door at the same time, it's so small. The floors do not look like they are swept after each guest and the rug is disgusting. I won't walk on it without shoes or slippers.

Then there is no coffeemaker in the room; you have to provide your own TP after the first roll, and the washcloths have all lost their absorbency. I have never seen such flat pillows in my life and the mattresses are taking a toll on my bones!

This place is a great location but they don't seem to care about that. It is a huge complex with two nice looking pool areas, but most of it is empty. Why? Because they are taking your money (granted, it's pretty cheap for a week) and not giving you very much in return. They could double the rate, clean the place, expand the rooms (2 rooms into one suite) and still make a lot of money. People would want to stay here if it was clean. I have not seen any roaches and don't think there are bed bugs or fleas, but I'm not sure. The shower is barely clean but the water comes out nice.

I'm sorry Home Suite Home, but I would rather stay less time at Disney and pay more money than to have to put up with this. Four adults in a room, and I asked for another bath mat and they said it's only "one per room." By the time 4 adults shower, the thing is sopping wet and since it's cotton, it takes forever to drive. Plus we practically had to beg for an extra towel. And no hand towels. What's up with that?

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 3dogmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Hoffman Estates IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here 10 years ago under the old management and had a wonderful weeks stay.

We returned to find that the new management is living off the old Nikki Bird name and making

a sizable profit while not keeping the place clean or repaired. Its the oldest trick in the book.

Yes the police are called frequently. Yes this is not a place for kids. Yes we got our money

back after a quick 2 minute talk with the owner who doesn't want his operation shut down.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolfgang V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have stayed here at this location about 5 times now, I usually travel alone, and for me to be comfortable (as a female) someplace is saying that i feel safe here. I dont care what anyone says, but $149+tax for 7 nights stay anywhere is awesome..as long as you like it, It is super duper close to Disney World and right off the major freeway and highway. House cleaning is only done once a week tho and you must empty your own trash. this is just fine for me because i not like random housekeepers coming into my "private" room each morning to clean.I never see anyone "hanging out" (even late at night) and i am never awakened with loud people or noises. I like to stay on the top floor and love the fact there is a full refrigerator and microwave. but remember, this is a no frills weekly and people make this their home, so for larger families?? Only bummer i would say is that there is no daily housekeeping and it might get messy for you, but greatttttt way to save money for other things you want to do while you are in town! Im going back again this month!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
6.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#13 of 158 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Maingate Lakeside Resort
#60 of 158 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#21 of 158 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.2 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#43 of 158 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate

Address: 7300 Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your magical getaway at the all new Maingate Resort and Spa. Located only 1/2 mile to Walt Disney World Theme Parks, the closest hotel to Walt Disney World Resorts, and within minutes to Universal Orlando, Islands of Adventure, SeaWorld, Wet n' Wild and easy access to other major attractions, world-class shopping, prestigious golf courses, theaters and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing