We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for your Orlando vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Vacation Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Florida Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Florida Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   2777 North Poinciana Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Hebron, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for your Orlando vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was a really nice place. It was very clean and roomy. The only thing that you really need to be aware of is that you need to call the office at least 24-48 hours before your arrival. The office closes at 5 and if you will be arriving after that you need a code to get your key. If you call in advance they will give that to you over the phone. I was not aware of this and it was a little confusing trying to check in after hours. It took us 45 min to get our key, so make sure you call in advance to save yourself time and frustration.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor and had a lot of mechanical noise early in the AM. I would recommend ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is so awful I just don't know where to begin. We arrived about 5:30 p.m. on a rainy Saturday night. When we confirmed our reservation we asked to be placed in the main compound, not across the street so of course they put us across the street. When we arrived and found out they put us across the street we asked to be in the main compound and were told, sorry, nothing available. We had been driving in rain for 3 1/2 hours and were tired so decided we'd try to make the best of it. We drove across the street and the building looked really run down. They put us on the top (2nd) floor and there was no elevator. All there was was a very steep, long staircase and the steps were made of some kind of slippery vinyl like material. Although it stopped raining there were puddles on the stairs and it was positively treacherous to walk up. My husband and I are elderly. I have a very bad back and my husband is on the frail side. We had to hold on to the railing for dear life to get up the stairs. We both almost fell a couple of times. How on earth were we supposed to get our luggage up the stairs when both arms were occupied holding the railings?
We followed the walkway around to our room. The walkway was slanted (never saw anything like it) so we almost fell on that also.
Opened the door to one of the smallest 2 bedroom condos we've ever seen. All the furnishings, appliances, etc. were original 1970's (we got married in the 1970's so we know what it looked like). To top it off the place was FILTHY - stains all over the carpets, etc. It was really musty in there so within minutes my allergies kicked in big time. Tried to open the blinds and they did not work in any room. Spiders jumped on me when I tried to open them. The condo was positively gross.
Gross condo aside, our main concern was the staircase - a lawsuit waiting to happen. For us it would have been impossible to navigate. We called the front desk, explained the situation and told them this condo is physically impossible for us - we needed an alternate arrangement. There were 2 gals at the front desk when we checked in and one of them answered. We said we are coming down to the front desk immediately and they said OK.
It might have taken us 10 rather than 5 minutes because the walkway and stairs were so dangerous. When we got to the front desk both check in gals were gone! They knew we had a big issue with our room, they knew we were on our way to the front desk and they just left to go home! We were stunned!
The only person at the front desk was the after hours guy and he said that checking people in, etc. was not his job - his job was being the activities director. Now this fellow really did seem like he was concerned but he said there was really nothing he could do. He claimed all the other condos were spoken for and suggested we "rough it" for a couple of nights until Monday when they MIGHT be able to do something for us. He gave us the number of the after hours person on call. OK, now what part of this does he not understand? The super slippery steep steps and slanted walkway are a physical impossibility for us. We do not travel light, we value the fact that we can still walk and we do not wish to be participants in an accident lawsuit.
We went back to our car to re-group. Since everyone kept claiming the villas were fully booked we didn't see how calling their after hours number was going to help us. We booked this through Skyauction and they close promptly at 5:00 p.m. on Fridays and do not re-open until Monday. Since we could not stay here we were about to cut our losses and drive back home (3 1/2 hours again).
I then remembered that Skyauction went through RCI for this room. Called RCI, their offices were closed but they did have an after hours emergency number. We called that, explained the situation and after about a half hour of searching, RCI, thank heaven, was able to switch us to another condo complex nearby.
Turns out the new place was fabulous (Wyndham Cypress Palms) and our vacation was not ruined. We applaud RCI but completely condemn Florida Vacation Villas for their complete uselessness in not helping us.
For the price, there are so many other nice options available. Don't waste your money on the Florida Vacation Villas. I can't say how the units are in the main compound but the units across the street are dumps and very dangerous to boot (especially if you are elderly or have small children). STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My family stayed here last week. Disaster! We were miserable when we were in the condo! For starters, they say they have a 24 hour front desk, this is NOT true. The office closes at 5 pm. When you call the "front desk" there is not a front desk person on the premises. You are actually call some one "on call". We called one afternoon to report A/C issues and the person couldn't get us off the phone quick enough. We were told that some one would return our call, this never happened. The rooms were hot and miserable. Second, the beds were horrible. A sleeping bag on the floor would have been more comfortable. The bedding and sheets were very OLD and out dated. The TVs were tiny and 2 of the remotes needed batteries. Towels were exchanged on Tuesdays & Thursdays. Really?? It's Florida, there wasn't enough towels to get 2 showers a day. Third, one would think that a resort would have wireless Internet connections. This isn't the case, so do not plan to use a computer for info in the area or even to do work if necessary. The issues go on but I will not. The location was the only plus. This from a family of four. Our advice, keep looking there IS better resorts out there!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Where do I begin?
- FLITHY floors! My bare feet were BLACK after walking around on the laminate wood floors
- Strong stale smokey smell
- Twin bed mattresses are like cement slabs
- Loud, boisterous 20 yr olds in hot tub. Had to yell out, "It's 11:30pm and some people are trying to sleep!" because no one was in the office to answer my call.
- Bathrooms and kitchens had 1960-70's cabinetry and countertops. OLD
- Garbage truck woke us up at a very early hour as it was right outside our window
- Office person was supposed to call us back to let us know if we were able to upgrade from a studio unit to a 2 bedroom unit. We were surprised that we got the bigger one but because she didn't call us we had to pay for our children to stay several miles away at another place when they could have stayed with us

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We are owners of this time share and we loved Florida Vacation Villas. Great staff (Amy, Danielle and Jay were very helpful) clean and everything is nearby (shopping, restaurants
Disney and golf. We really enjoy the family atmosphere and the Friday BBQ
Our only disappointment was that there was only one week available when we booked

Jeff & Diana Kennaway

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Florida Vacation Villas has been constantly upgrading the units and property over the past 8 years or so, since we've been vacarioning there. The location is so convenient to all the attractions, baseball fields & golf courses we wouldn't want to stay any where else in the area.
Thanks again to the wonderfull staff at FVV!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The location is good, the place was average. The place is in need of some updating and deep cleaning of carpets. The staff at check-in lied to us. We had requested a townhouse unit and had called them six months before arrival, then three months before arrival and then two weeks before arrival and every thime they said we could have it. The day of check in we called to say we were running late and they did not say anything to us that we could not have the townhouse unit. At check-in, they told us two units had plumbing problems and that they needed to be further evaluated and would be available to us on Monday and that we could move to either one of the units on Monday. Amy and Danielle in the front office did not know what the problem was and would not tell us what was wrong with the units. We planned our visits around Orlando around this information and on Monday when we called to move, they basically told us that they were not going to move us. The two units that had "plumbing" problems were both occupied by ohter families. By the way, we never saw any plumbers work on either unit.

The staff did not care that we had contacted them six months, three months and two weeks prior to our arrival and how important the layout and location of the townhouse were to us. Every time we called they would say that they had "plenty" of townhouses available.

What we think happened was that we booked our vacation through travel zoo for $28.00 a night, which is a steal for Orlando. We reserved through Wyndham Vacation Club on a special they had. When Florida Vacation Villas realized what we were paying, they refused to accomodate any request we had simply because they were making little money on us.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Orlando and have to make a decision between Florida Vacation Villas and another location, I would choose the other location. We live in Tampa, FL and will certainly consider staying at this location again but if another location is equal, we will probably choose that location.

Room Tip: The townhouses seem nicer because they do not have carpet downstairs. The location of the townhouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Vacation Villas

Address: 2777 North Poinciana Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Florida Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Vacation Villas Hotel Kissimmee
Florida Vacation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.