We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike Ditka Runaway Beach Club STAY AWAY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Runaway Beach Club to your Saves list
Runaway Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3000 Bonfire Beach Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mike Ditka Runaway Beach Club STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

MAKE SURE YOU STAY WITH CHARLESTOWNE NOT MIKE DITKA. MIKE DITKA RUNAWAY BEACH CLUB STAFF ARE HORRIBLE.MIKE DITKA ARE PRIVATLEY OWNED APARTMENTS AND THE OFFICE IS OFFSITE.

When we made the booking on booking.com we were unaware that these apartments are privately owned and staff are not onsite to help you. Charlestowne staff are unable to help you with anything due to legally not owning these apartments. They can't even give us towels or toilet paper, although they are apologetic that they can not help us more.

The free shuttle service that Mike Ditka advertised on booking.com was not running and had not been running for 6 months. The pool facilities onsite were old and rundown and the tiki bar was closed the entire time.

We had a major situation with our in-room safe that was battery powered, the batteries ran out and Mike Ditka Management could not open their own safe they installed. We were told we had to call a Lock Smith and pay for this ourselves which is totally unacceptable as this was a facility they provided that failed. The Lock Smith arrived and had to remove the safe from the wall and grind into the safe in order to get all of our valuables out including money and passports. This service cost $220.00 dollars and took over 2 hours to sort out which the man leaving at 8pm at night (Mike Ditka staff had gone home for the night by then). Mike Ditka staff has only reimbursed us for $150.00 of it and we are still arguing for the remainder. The staffs at Charlestown Runaway Beach Club were sympathetic but could not help us as they do not own these apartments and are not legally able to do anything. The corporate management at Mike Ditka are rude and have not returned our calls and are still expecting us to pay, it has now gotten to the point after 3 weeks that we are going to take legal action against them as they are avoiding us and refusing to pay. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: DO not stay in any of the Mike Ditka rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I thank you for sparing time for providing your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. My front desk supervisor had told me about your unfortunate situation, and I appreciate you taking the time and letting me know about my staff lending and ear and showing sympathy for everything you were going through. We appreciate this feed back and you understanding the differences of the other mangement companies on property. We look forward perhaps in the future as to have you as a guest with Charlestowne Runaway Beach Club. Hope you had a safe flight back down under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    152
    69
    57
    88
See reviews for
384
71
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and from the pictures on the website I thought what I was getting was just a room and that the other stuff was an upgrade so when we walked into a house we were shocked! And for the price we paid we did not expect that. We enjoyed the stay and we look forward to staying there next time. The only negative things I have to say is as I have seen in another review the shower curtain was moldy I think they should replace those...the tv situation was quite annoying (even for my 12yr old) flipping through every single channel..the towel situation was bad, only providing 2 at a time then we had to call for more and they were half the size and kind of rough, the pool towel situation was even worse..went back 3 times for pool towels after they kept saying they were getting more and they never did..the wifi kept disconnecting constantly, fan in the living room was dirty and there were no directions on how to use the safe...other then those minor complaints we enjoyed the stay and will book there next time! I see a few repetitive complaints so I would recommend management fix those and it will minimize complaints! Thanks for making me feel at home!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I am pleased to note that the service along with the facilities provided by our team were able to create a pleasant memory for you. Your appreciation of the Runaway Beach Club Team is encouraging and motivating. Hope to see you back soon at Runaway Beach Club. I apoligize on the behalf of my houskekeeping team as we are making every effort possible to improve this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

first of this room the room was supposed to fit up to 6 people, however it only fits 4.

my real concern and issue comes with the service I received. it is good to point out this complex is situated in the calypso cay complex which has other hotels in such as country inn which is 2 seconds opposite. now when this holiday was booked off of Expedia is was done so under the premises of booking runaway beach club plus plane tickets. I therefore believe I booked runaway beach club. I now refer to the comment below made about different management, that is up to the hotel to sort if a customer has booked to stay at runaway they should not be blamed for internal management issues and mistakes during our stay.

during our stay we received free buses to Disney world the first 2 days which it had been advertised we should receive. the third day someone else is on the desk and expects us to pay 10 dollars as apparently that is what it is per day. now understandably we were upset and yet we were told we shouldn't be and it is not there fault or problem, it is an internal management issues as stated in the review below. however for the first 2 days we got it free so they clearly do not speak to staff anyway and every other hotel on the complex does not charge for park bus service it is complementary so frankly if you are looking at this hotel for park access and location do not bother instead stay in any other one in the complex like country inn which is a few seconds opposite and you get all buses free to all parks. also by adding a comment having a dig at upset customers is only going to annoy upset customers more.

the fact is your hotel facts, information and communication is not clear and the fact it happens to more than one guest proves an issue on your side. the companies management issues should not be put onto the customer, it is down to management to sort out and better run there business.

so it is your fault you have upset customers and miss communication leading to upset customers will always lead to negative experiences and it is poor service on your part.

I am even more outraged that I am made to feel not allowed to make my opinion as it may not be positive. By trying to isolate customer experiences and reviews it is not going to be what you want proves the level of care you are willing to provide.

quite frankly NEVER USE THIS COMPANY !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
On June 22nd 2012 our Trip Advisor reviews grew by 400 guest comments due to a rollover from the previous on-site management. Unfortunately, when there is more than one management company for a resort, Trip Advisor; must merge all previous reviews, good and bad, into one account. We have been facing; many calls from future guests that were very concerned by the negative comments that have appeared on Runaway Beach Club’s Trip Advisor listing since the June 22nd when the reviews were all merged into one listing. It may be helpful to explain what has occurred at Runaway Beach Club since March 16th, 2012.
Charlestowne Hotels became the new onsite management company on March 16th, 2012, when the previous management company was removed from the resort. The previous company relocated to an offsite location and still rents units to some customers. Unfortunately, when a company is no longer operating the services of the resort, is not able to fulfill all the promises and services as advertised. This has caused a lot of confusion not only for their guests but our future guests as well. Perhaps most distressing of all are the guests of the older company who have bad experiences.
We empathize with those guests and hope that when they return, that they will stay at Runaway Beach Club through the new onsite management and be able to enjoy a much better stay.
Since Charlestowne Hotels began in March, we have been constantly working to create an outstanding experience for our guests; and would love to have an opportunity to show you the results that can come from good rental management.
We are close to rolling out an indoor Café Azul, where guests and owners can enjoy their favorite beverage, and order a meal while enjoying a day at the pool. There are attendants at the pool area that offer a complimentary towel service, and a new kids and guest program is beginning, and these are just some of the new amenities that are planned: Movie Night, Arts & Crafts, Hip Hop dance classes, yoga classes, aqua aerobics etc. These will be based on availability and demand.
Again we are terribly distressed, that anyone’s first impression of Runaway Beach Club may not be a good one; but we would like to extend a personal invitation to you to return and experience the new changes being implemented and to assure you of the best in service and hospitality at the new Runaway Beach Club.
Please feel free to contact me directly; should you have any questions.
Yours Truly,
John Leite
General Manager
407-997-3656 x 71108
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Trip Advisor have linked these two companies together and unfortunately for Runaway Beach Club - they are linked as one and the same! Runaway Beach Club is run by Charlestown and people visiting cannot understand why they cannot have the same service as those who have booked with Charlestown. They do not realise and in some cases, do not want to, that Charlestown run most of the units on site and the remaining are run by three other companies whose names I have withheld. If you book with any of the other three companies you HAVE to check in at their check in desks which are not on site and neither do any of them intend telling you that!

I have listened the moans, groans and downright rudeness of people who, by the time they have checked in, know they cannot expect Charlestown to sort out any difficulties they may have with their unit. Usual complaints are lack of towels, bathroom tissue, toiletries etc., but feel it is their right to abuse the Charlestown staff at the front desk. If you book with one company please explain why you think another company can sort out these issues for you?

Ask questions ie do you supply towels, toiletries etc., is your check in desk on site - if not, you have NOT booked with Runaway Beach Club! The staff are friendly, helpful and caring; they have a list of taxi companies, pizza delivery companies, buses to the parks and so on to make your stay a pleasant one. So please, when you check out Trip Advisor who have made a hash of things by mixing these companies together and are not looking to correct their error, make sure you book with Runaway Beach CLUB. Sorry but witnessed so much abuse, including threats of deliberately inserting a bad review knowing they did not stay with Runaway Beach Club. I just had to put the record straight.

Room Tip: Two storey condos and some on the first floor have a patio, some do not, if you require a first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I thank you for sparing time for providing your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Resort nestled in Calypso Cay Area of Kissimmee (next to Lk Buena Vista). Private, quiet, large units. We stayed in a 2 BR, 2 BA (1 king in master, other has 1 full and 1 twin).Ceiling fans and central a/c. Sofas in LR also open up to Beds. Full size kitchen. Walmart and Publix close by for supplies. Beautiful pool area (and hot tub)and separate kiddie pool area, indoor half basketball court,& exercise room with tv. The service was excellent! Can purchase ticket for parks at resort. Some reviews I read weren't good, but the management has changed and perhaps that made the difference! I was impressed and will be back soon. We had a combined business and family trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to pool. Semi-Circular pattern. Less noise a little bit further away. First floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about our hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of my team. I once again thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality at Runaway Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Love the Runaway Beach Club, such a relaxing atmosphere. We had a 3 day scrapbook retreat here last weekend and it was just great. A special thanks to Maria Carney for making it so smooth and easy and like "home away from home"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am pleased to read you found our hotel outstanding and our staff friendly. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it best evaluates our product and services offerings. Ultimately, you serve as the best quality auditor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent the weekend here a scrapbook retreat. It was set up by Maria Teresa Carney. Had a wonderful time! We were set up in the basketball court and had lots of room. The lighting was great for scrapbooking and the 8 foot tables provided lots of working space. The staff was very accomadating to our late hours. I stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with several other scrappers and we had plenty of room. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a kitchen. Thanks Maria for helping us have such a fun weekend. Look foward to our next retreat there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Runaway Beach Club, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Runaway Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Beach Club

Address: 3000 Bonfire Beach Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Runaway Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Runaway Beach Club, Kissimmee and Orlando’s best choice for families and leisure groups alike. These spacious and convenient accommodations are just minutes from the area's world-famous attractions, including Walt Disney World, Universal Studios, Sea World, and so much more. Runaway Beach Club offers one, two, and three bedroom villas with full kitchens and living rooms decorated in Key West inspired furnishings. Guests of the resort can enjoy the two outdoor pools, a sun deck overlooking the lake, indoor basketball court, fully equipped fitness studio, business center, and intimate meeting space. Whether you’re visiting for pleasure or business, Runaway Beach Club boasts beautiful accommodations with added privacy and space in a location that is convenient to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Runaway Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.