We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings re resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mixed feelings re resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

Thanks to a great skyauction bargain, we had the opportunity to do a last-minute trip to Orlando, and spent 6 nights at Vacation Village at Parkway. Because we were traveling as 2 adults without children and celebrating our 20th anniversary, we requested a quiet location, as well as a handicapped accessible unit. We were placed in a standard (not handicapped accessible) unit facing Arabian Nights Drive, which is the main access road to the resort - quite busy and noisy at all times of day and night, especially around showtimes for the Arabian Nights performances. When we requested a change to a handicapped accessible unit (and hopefully to a quieter location), we were told that the resort was completely booked and that no other units were available. Each morning, we checked with the front desk to see if an appropriate unit had opened up, and were told the same thing. When we arrived in our studio unit, the toilet was backed up and the phone was partially out of service - ie, we were able to call the front desk, but were unable to place local or long-distance calls, or to retrieve incoming messages via the voice mail system. 90 minutes after reporting these problems, maintenance came to resolve the toilet problem. The phone issues were never resolved during our stay - a real inconvenience, as we had a child at home who became ill and our childcare provider was unable to reach us, so we made several trips daily (and during the night) to the nearest public phone to keep in touch. We were told that the resort's phone system had been struck by lightning shortly before we arrived, but folks in other units told us they were not having any problems. When you check in, you are given an inventory of items in your unit, which you are required to verify and return to the front desk within 24 hrs. The CD player in our unit had only 1 workable speaker, and the iron was unuseable (it had apparently been dropped and was missing 1/2 of its plastic housing, and the plate was covered with sticky brown "gunk") - we requested replacements for these 2 items when we returned our inventory list, but they never appeared. Parking was limited and not well laid out for our building - we had a "dead end" parking lot with virtually no room to turn around. The property has no gated security. No on-site convenience store or cafe, though it is a large resort and could certainly support both. On the plus side...Our studio unit was large (about 500 square feet) and exceptionally clean. The queen bed was reasonably comfortable, if not plush, and separated from the living area entirely. Furnishings and cabinetry in general were showing some wear, and obviously were not high quality to begin with, but were adequate. (Frankly, I've seen as much wear in some upper-end Marriott, Hilton and Disney timeshare resorts, but furnishings are of a higher quality to begin with there.) We were surprised to discover that our studio had a stackable washer and dryer in the unit (behind a folding door, which we ourselves repaired), and that the small kitchen included a full-size refrig and a 2-burner hotplate for limited cooking, as well as a large microwave/convection oven, coffeemaker, toaster, blender and plenty of cookware, dishes and utensils. Our small balcony was unscreened (an open invitation to visiting bugs) and contained a cheap white plastic table and 2 cheap white plastic chairs, and overlooked the busy access road (used by many noisy delivery trucks and maintenance vehicles) - so we spent no time enjoying our morning coffee in this location, though some folks might. The 2 smallish pools shared by 8 buildings were sparkling clean and inviting, but very crowded with children and their pool toys - no hope of a quiet adult swim at any time during their operating hours of 8am to 10pm. Our unit had a "welcome packet," containing a roll of paper towels, facial tissues, toilet paper, dish detergent and 2 small bars of soap - again, low quality, and we were glad that we had brought our own soap, shampoo, tissues, etc. We twice attempted to use 1 of the 3 complimentary internet access computers (available 8am to 10pm - so forget using them to do an on-line check-in at midnight for your airline, and there is no printer at all for printing your boarding passes), but they are located on the unsupervised 2nd floor of the check-in building and were occupied by teens "shopping" on Victoria's Secret website. Similarly, the fitness facility is equipped with several nice pieces of exercise eqipment, but is in the same unsupervised area and seems to serve as a playground for unaccompanied small children. When we checked in, we were offered the "opportunity" to sit through their timeshare sales presentation - we declined, and subsequently received 1 brief "reminder" during our stay (which we again declined) - but no high pressure. Hmmm...all in all, this resort served as an adequate base for our daytrips. It is located just off of busy and highly commercialized Rt 192 - certainly not the most scenic area, but convenient to a nice Publix supermarket and all manner of chain restaurants and convenience stores (if that's your thing). Hypothetically, this resort should be appealing for folks who are "doing Disney" (and, to a lesser degree, Sea World and Universal) - but its efforts to economize are blatant and its staff, though primarily pleasant, is not empowered to problem-solve appropriately. If you are traveling with children, no doubt they would love the activity around the pool area. If you are looking for a romantic retreat or the postcard-perfect "vacation of a lifetime," I would suggest Marriott's Cypress Harbour or Marriott's Grande Vista - both are better equipped to handle a wide variety of age groups and interests, including adults who simply want to "decompress" and enjoy quiet time together. However, this resort is substantially less expensive (especially if you're lucky enough to catch it on skyauction), and it is certainly well worth much more than the $30/night that we were able to grab it for. I would consider another stay here, though only off-season (which we were) and only if I had plans to spend much of my time outside of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    461
    180
    95
    72
See reviews for
713
238
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

We arrived here on the day after Friday 13th 2004 (Hurricane Charley) and were met with some destruction in the area but minimal on site. As other reviews have suggested we found the directions unclear and it is not clearly obvious where the Registration is. On arrival we met a very surly girl at the desk who was not helpful. We were then directed to the other desk for the timeshare presentation. I was initially prepared to say no but gave in to the pitch and agreed to the breakfast. At the breakfast we were chatted to but then were asked to send our kids back to the apartment so we could chat in comfort - this was a mistake. After a lengthy preamble we were given a hard sell which it took us several attempts to refuse. At the final refusal we were passed to a check out area where we were asked for our experience by someone who claimed to monitor the salespeople. He then effectively reduced the costs given in the other room by 75% in a last ditch effort to get us to sign - again we refused and got our free ticket voucher which we then had to redeem at another location. We certainly 'wasted' a whole morning and returned to very grumbly children- don't do it.
Having said all this the apartment was excellent and we had a A&B suite for 2 weeks which the children loved. The pool was brilliant and whilst we had no toilets for one day or use of the pool for 2 days we believe this was due to the hurricane so we can forgive them. We did encounter a fire alarm at approx 1am which was amazing - most people raced out but several people strolled out after 10 minutes fully dressed with luggage and cameras - only to find it was a false alarm.
Security on site seemed good and food deliveries were possible.
The location just off the US192 was excellent and you are right by the Arabian Knights Dinner Show although we didn't go to it.
Apart from the irritation of the timeshare sell we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would return - but not in the hurricane season.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

The problems started before we even got there because the directions on the website were incorrect and need to be updated. We mentioned this to them during check in and they said they were aware of the errors but seemed as if they could care less. Checking in itself was horrendous. When we finally located the driveway to the buildings we noticed a sign that said that check in had been moved to differrent location and a street address was listed ! Now if you are not from the area and have been travelling for hours and hours the last thing you want to see upon arrival is that you now have to find a different street in an unfamiliar city. As it turned out the check in building was around the corner (more or less) but an arrow or simple directions would have been a lot less scary than being greeted with a sign and a street address!! Getting back to the check in process itself- it was to say the least the worst checking in system I have ever encountered. The line was to the door and moved really really slow because there was not enough staff assigned. However there was another desk for guest services that had 4 or 5 staff memebers just sitting around doing nothing. It was appauling that they could not or would not assist the check in staff. After you finally check in you're sent to that desk for the time-share hard sale where they offer you a free breakfast and $50 to come listen to a presentation. I originally agreed but fortunately changed my mind as I later found out from another guest that the presenation was over 4 hours long! By the way, if you cancel your breakfast reservation they will up the cash they are willing to pay you from $50 to $124 so if you want to make $124 and get a free breakfast and don't care if you waste four hours of your hard earned vacation then I suggest you cancel and go for the bigger offer. Other problems were the electronic safe in the bedroom closet which never worked correctly and the matress that was so limp and broken down and uncomfortable that I woke up with a stiff back every morning.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

Very Clean, spacious, staff courteous.
Rated 4 stars due to noise + views (lack of - one of our units looked out at parking lot, the other unit at the pool, but was noisy and quite close to opposite building). The amount of noise that came through the (closed) windows and from the unit above was a bit much- floors are tiled and dining table chairs are heavy metal that scrape across the floor, causing considerable noise in unit below. We had 2 full units, one faced the pool, the other faced the parking lot. Timeshare staff tried twice to get us to attend- the 2nd time upped offer to $125. We said no, they were polite.

Decent accommodations if you pay less than $125/night. We paid $450 TOTAL for 2 units for the week- a terrific RCI last call deal.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2005

We were booked here because our annual timeshare was under construction. This place is beautiful!!!!!! Staff very friendly and accommodating. We upgraded our suite (to one with dishwasher and king bed) for $50.00. Very close to everthing we needed. Our only problems were I-4 construction (no fault of VV@P) and a salesman wanting us to go to the usual timeshare spill breakfast. We were firm with our NO!!! and were left alone after the intial sales pitch. The pool, grounds, and room was very vacation friendly and inviting. Make sure you go to the small animal preserve on grounds. Lots of families and friendly faces. We only missed our usual oceanfront view. Also, I wish timeshare properties would allow pets. Our baby maltese is part of our family and we missed him so much!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2005

My boyfriend and I won a 7-night stay at Vacation Village at Parkway Kissimmee, through SkyAuction for $211 USD ($267 Canadian). After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we were both worried that we'd been suckered into some kind of weird time share scam. We couldn't have been more wrong! Although Vacation Village IS a time share complex, we were never harrassed or bothered at any time.

I'm hoping this review will help anyone who is thinking of staying at this resort. Here is what we experienced:

Check in went very smoothly (10 minutes)and the clerks were very polite, pleasant and helpful. They recommended restaurants, pointed out nearby grocery stores and shopping centres. Once check-in was completed, we were passed on to a "guest services" clerk who issued us our parking pass and asked if we were "owners" or "guests". When we told him we were guests, he offered us discounts on amusement park tickets, a "free" breakfast at the Radisson Hotel across the street and a $50.00 "gift". We told him politely that we knew these were all tactics to entice us to listen to a time share speech and that WE WERE NOT INTERESTED AT ALL!! The clerk said "very well" and did not persist. The only other "time share related incident" we experienced was a phone call to our room on our 4th day, offering us $150.00 apiece to attend breakfast at the Radisson Hotel. We once again declined and were not bothered again. If this is what other people considered "harrassment", they're nuts! I'll gladly say "no thank you" on the phone to save a couple hundred bucks a night and stay at a 5-star resort!!!!!!!!!!!

The accomodations were fabulous to say the least! I would have gladly paid more than the $30.00/night we actually paid. The suite had a full kitchen including all dishes, cookware, stove, oven, microwave, full fridge w/icemaker, garbage disposal, washer, dryer, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, coffee maker. The bedroom had a king size bed, tv, 2 person jacuzzi tub (oh yeah!) and patio doors opening onto the spacious balcony w/patio furniture. The livingroom/diningroom area was tastefully decorated with a 6-person dining table, pull out couch, two lounging chairs and a BIG SCREEN TV (oh yeah!). The bathroom, including another tub and shower, was HUGE! They also provided 5 sets of towels (hand, face, bath) as well as 5 pool towels. I found this to be particularly convenient.

The suite was VERY clean and modern. Maid service was provided once a week, when they take out the garbage (you can dispose of your own as you go if you prefer-there's a garbage chute), and replace your towels. If you want more frequent service, you can pay for it (I think it's like $15.00). Our room was on the 7th floor (of 7) facing the parking lot/pond area in building #3 and we were quite pleased with it. There was no noise from the parking lot or from the adjoining suite. We took a little tour to check out the rest of the complex and noticed construction going on near another cluster of buildings. Don't know if this would have disturbed the people in those buildings or not. (We were in the cluster of buildings that included #1-#6). Construction was going on near building #9 I think.

Vacation Village offers daily activities like any other resort. They have pool volleyball, golf tournaments, trivia contests, barbeques and group excursions. I cannot say what these activities are like as we were gone during the daytime. There are two pools, two hot tubs,a pool house, a children's wading pool w/spraying fountain and a playground all within the complex. There are plenty of lounge chairs and the temperature in the pools and hot tubs was just right!! With your Vacation Village room key you also have access to the adjoining resort (can't remember the name) and their pool, pool bar, hot tub, tennis courts, shuffle board courts. It's a short walk across the pond/"conservation area"( where you can feed the pelicans/fish/turtles) to the resort next door. Their facilities were also very spacious and clean.

Vacation Village has a gym and internet room which we forgot to go check out as we were too busy. Sorry, can't tell you about those!

There is a huge strip a short distance from the hotel where you'll find everything from all you can eat $3.99 buffets and fast food to fine dining and grocery stores, liquor stores, pharmacies, coffee shops, water parks, golf courses, souvenir stores, outlet malls etc. I recommend Logan's Steakhouse for a casual, roadhouse-type meal. They have a large menu and the prices are very reasonable. Whatever you do , DO NOT try the LAS VEGAS BUFFET! I repeat, DO NOT GO TO THE LAS VEGAS BUFFET!!!!

If you're in the area to visit the parks, Disney is about a 5 minute drive from the hotel, SeaWorld is about 8-10 and Universal is ahout 12 minutes away. And it's an easy drive too! Pretty much straight there. Also, there's a nice view of the Epcot/Disney fireworks from building #6 at 9pm.

Our experience at Vacation Village was VERY positive. The suite was more than we expected. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. The jacuzzi tub was fabulous! The people we met in the pool, hot tub, elevator were super nice and friendly. The staff was polite and helpful. Maybe it's all a part of the scheme to make people want to buy a time share (NOT!), but I've never had such a great hotel experience as I did during my week at Vacation Village!! We checked out in 10 seconds on the ground floor at the elevator-poof and it was done!

So, I guess what I'm saying is that if you can get a good deal through Sky Auction or another method, TAKE IT, JUMP ON IT!! If you have to promise to sit through a time share presentation for a stay here , RUN AWAY!! I've never experienced the time share hard sell first hand, but I hear it's nasty.

I hope this has helped! Happy vacationing! :0)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Vacation Village and had a wonderful experience. We read the reviews posted here and did our homework before we traveled. We noticed that a lot of the reviews that posted disappointing results, were personal and the lack of poor planning versus the fault of the resort. Our check-in experience was great. We took a red-eye flight, called ahead to let the resort know what time we would arrive and had no problems at check-in. My husband went back the following morning to meet with the guest services reps and listened to a five minute speech about the resort, ticket offers, etc. He stated that he was not interested at the present time, but would think about it. The attendants were not pushy. Those who were unsure of what they wanted stayed a lot longer. Our room was very nice and even had a washer and dryer. Some things that may help you: You can pay an additional fee for breakfast. Partial rooms do not contain dishwashers. Each room is fully stocked with dishes, cooking and eating utensils. Rooms are arranged in suites - A & B. Rooms are cleaned based on a day - our day was Tuesday. Parking close to the building can be a task, but there is a loading and unloading area. You must use your key to enter the building/your room at all times. You will be given a list of items in the room to check upon check in. If these items are lost are missing when you check out you will be charged. The resort is located right off Hwy 192 on Arabian Nights - plenty of restaurants, pharmacies, gas stations, Target, Wal-mart, K-Mart within minutes. You can fly into Celebration International Airport instead of Orlando. Old Town is less than a mile away - free admission, parking, and vintage cars on weekend. Internet room has three computers - very slow, no DSL - second floor of check-in area. Exercise room small for resort. Swimming pool and playground easy to get to. Daily activities for young and old. Great playground for small children. Bar-b-que area with picnic tables between playground and pool - pick-up untensils at guest services. Credit card required at check-in for deposit - not charged unless you fail to return something or items are missing from the room. Basic cable with two "vacation" channels. You pay RCI so your confirmation letter is your receipt. Pre-plan your trip for a better experience. Know what you want to do before you get there and you'll have a better time. Enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Parkway
Vacation Village
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Kissimmee
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.