We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, good location, yet could use some renovation/cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spacious, good location, yet could use some renovation/cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here March 9-13, 2014, in building One, in a 2-bedroom.

Things I liked: The space (very spacious) and the security of the double doors - similar to a duplex, you have key entry to one door, and then you see the doors (also key entry) to 2 separate units, both of which are yours with a 2 bedroom. Awesome with privacy! My parents were in the smaller unit, and myself, hubby, and the 2 kids next door in the larger unit. Other plus: near the Disney parks, Publix, and other eating places.

Now, for the don't-likes: Building One is in desperate need of renovation; it's just old, feels old, smells musty. I'm sure the newer buildings are better (hope so, at least), but building One needs some attention. It also lacks personality, feels stale, a little cold. You don't get that warm and fuzzy home-like feeling while there. Also, if you walked barefoot (who doesn't in your condo?) in the room, your feet were black within a few minutes of walking on the tile. Yuck. Another thing that bothered me, given that this resort is HUGE, is that they don't recycle. Saw NO recycling bins, called the front desk and asked, and they confirmed they do not. So environmentally irresponsible!! Anyway, stayed here with an RCI exchange. Wouldn't stay here if I paid "real" nightly rates. Would give it a 3.5 if I could, just for location & space. It just doesn't compare to a Disney resort in service, cleanliness, and environmental responsibility. Just basic, too basic, and I don't prefer soot-coated feet on myself or my family. Oh, and no washer and dryer in the room. You must go down the hall and use your floor's community ones.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our resort. We’re sorry that the accommodations didn’t meet all of your expectations. Each year we make a significant investment into the property directed towards what we consider to be the priorities at any given time. Some of our scheduled renovation projects this year include replacing many of the furniture items in building 1 & 2, cabinet upgrades in building 3 & 4, and new bedding in building 7 through 9. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughtful suggestions on recycling. Your comments have been shared with our management team for further consideration. We hope you give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations and stay with us again the next time you visit Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    531
    201
    99
    82
See reviews for
842
259
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Love this location! Lots of space, pool was fantastic, clean, protected from the wind, and large enough for the amount of people using it. Staff are very friendly and want to make you happy! Our only complaints are there was never enough parking when we returned at night and had to park at another building and the wifi was terrible. We paid for parking and wifi and we expected it to be better. We would go to the pool sometimes to get a connection but that didn't always work. It seemed to be ok if you were there through the day but when everyone was back in the evening you couldn't get online at all. Our overall experience was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside. So nice to wake up to look out on the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recommendation! We’re happy that overall you enjoyed your vacation with us and that our staff was accommodating to your needs, but are sorry that our parking and wifi failed to meet all of your expectations during your stay. We hope that we may have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time you are in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, USA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The experience began on the right foot with a quick check-in even though we were early. We got rooms near two pools so we were where we needed to be. The first couple of nights/days were cold and wet so we were able to rent DVDs and watch them on the DVD player provided. Anytime we had any concerns a phone call was followed by a quick response. The management worked hard to please their guest. The only negatives were that there were not many activities planned on site. The management's philosophy was that guest were there to visit the "parks" so providing lots of meaningful activities was not needed. This is an area for improvement.The other area for improvement was the interenet connection. It was slow an annoying constantly needing to re-enter an access code. In this day and age the expectation is high speed wireless internet as part of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re sorry you were disappointed in our resort activities. Though the majority may spend their days at Orlando’s theme parks nearby, all guests are welcome to use our six pools, explore our Naturewalk on property, as well as participate in at least seven daily activities planned by our Activities Staff at the resort. We apologize that you had issues with wifi service. There are nearly 2,000 guest rooms at the resort and service may be slower at certain times. We hope that our friendly service and the comforts of home we provide will entice you to stay with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our family of 3 (parents and 12 year old) had a large space in building #11 facing the pool. We had a full kitchen, one bedroom with jacuzzi and a sofa sleeper. The place was clean and was refreshed with towels/bedding mid-week. While dishes and cookware were adequate, we wished the place would come with conveniences such as spices (not even salt and pepper available), cooking oil/spray etc. It's a pain to buy all of that and who wants to take it home on an airplane?
The pool and hot tub were clean, although the pool was cold when temps dipped for a couple of days. WIFI was sketchy sometimes, but it wasn't an issue for us. We had an issue with delivery of a kitchen item. We called housekeeping 3 times over several hours. Apparently someone tried to deliver and knocked, but due to the double door system, the knocking cannot be heard. For whatever their reason, housekeeping doesn't bother to unlock the doors and leave the requested item. Then they become irritated when you don't answer the door. Overall, a good family place and located close to all the parks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway! We’re happy that your family enjoyed their vacation with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed to find that we don’t supply certain perishables and we apologize for the issues you had with the delivery of a kitchen item to your room. Employees will only enter guest rooms when maintenance calls are requested or for scheduled housekeeping services. We’re happy that overall you enjoyed our hospitality and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I a writing this while at vacation village on my balcony overlooking the pool and hot tub. Used to own time shares but had poor trading power and sold my part to my brother and never looked back. This past fall however, my parents purchased the time share here at vacation village and let my family use it this week. If I could have had this as my property I wouldn't have sold it.

The facilities are new, clean, well maintained. The suites are well provisioned with linens and cook ware, and it is close to everything you could hope to do. From check in to staff people on duty, everyone's friendly and helpful. Well done. This place is great.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations at Vacation Village at Parkway. Your wonderful comments have been passed on to the resort’s management team so that they may be shared with the rest of our employees. We’re sure they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed their service and we all hope you return to Parkway soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

After crossing all of Florida to get here and as a guest of an RCI member, I wasn't sure what the reception would be like upon arriving at Vacation Village. I was pleasantly surprised. The friendliest check-in person ever - Nora - was on hand to welcome us. Not only did she learn all of our names immediately, she answered all of our questions and gave us tips as to where the local grocery was. She even called to make sure our room was ready.

The only bad part about check-in was being sent to the "sales" desk to pick up our parking pass. Once there, I asked the young man if he was as nice as Nora and he replied, "definitely not." (Should have been a hint.) He then tried to get us to sign up for a "free" breakfast that required a $20 deposit. He explained that the breakfasts were at 8 am and 10 am or we could sign up for lunch. I told him that really didn't work into our schedule as we were planning on being at the parks at 8 am. He then berated me - in front of my children - for a) not understanding that the parks opened at 9 and b) being "stupid" enough to buy full-price tickets online, when they offered tickets at a discounted price. This would have been nice to know prior to arrival, but that was not mentioned in any of the information I was sent.

I requested a 2/2 and was surprised at the way the place was set-up. It was different, but could be functional for a myriad of different groups. You enter through a single door and are faced with an A and B side of the suite. The A side has a full kitchen, King bed and a jacuzzi tub. The B side is smaller with a Queen bed, a hot plate and convection oven. Each side can be locked off from the other side which would be convenient if two couples or adult children were traveling.

Free WiFi is offered for up to 2 devices for each side of the unit, but it was really horrible. My iPhone didn't connect until the last day we were there and my laptop would not stay connected for longer than 10-15 minutes at a time. I didn't pay for the upgrade and I am glad. The TV in the living room worked only intermittently in the A side and not at all in the B side. A service call produced no results.

The bed was comfortable and I loved the jacuzzi tub after walking theme parks all day. The condos are very convenient to Disney, Universal and Sea World, plus Hwy 4 which will get you anywhere you need to go around Orlando/Kissimmee.

I would stay here again because of the convenience to the parks and because the room was clean and exactly what we needed. If I were staying for longer than a week, I would consider trying to find reliable wifi.

Room Tip: In the summer, I could see rooms with a west view getting VERY warm. Close the thermal lined curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball in certain aspects of your stay. We’re sorry for the issues you had with our staff member and have notified the resort’s management team so that it may be addressed. Thankfully your family enjoyed Nora’s assistance, the spacious accommodations, and all the comforts of home that they provided. We hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to prove that we’re not only the friendliest, but best all around choice when vacationing in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Room was not ready at check in time. It took 1 1/2 hours to check in. The RCI sales people made us feel uncomfortable. The Wireless Internet was terrible. We upgraded to high speed and it was still terrible. Accommodations were fine withe the exception of the kitchen could have been stocked better to accomidate four people.

Room Tip: We were in building sixteen which was the newest building. It had a nice pool. Our room faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your experience. We’re very disappointed to read that our resort didn't meet all of your expectations. It is our goal to offer great vacations at affordable prices for our guests and we appreciate your candid comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.