We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at Vacation Village!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great week at Vacation Village!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We used our RCI points to stay Sunday to Sunday in August. After reading alot of reviews, we knew what to expect and what to ask for. We had two teenagers with us and had booked an A/C unit for them to have their own room. When we arrived early, checkin was a loud and a tense experience with the high level of the noise in the lobby. Once we were at the counter, we didn't need to ask for a certain building, we received what we wanted. Building 19 - a very peaceful and newer location. The man stated our room was not ready yet but would call us once it was. That took 10 minutes and we were already being contacted. Wonderful! The units were wonderful and no complaints. We loved the pool and hot tub. We chose this location due to it is close to Disney and other attractions. When you read the reviews, you need to really say to yourself would that bother me or am I really here to relax and not to complain about every little encounter. I would recommend this location to anyone looking to use their points or weeks. Great location and great property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised by our resort and services while on vacation. Unfortunately no one resort can be everything to everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests happy at Vacation Village at Parkway. Most of the time we’re quite successful and our guests return to vacation with us again and again. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back to Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    458
    180
    94
    70
See reviews for
708
236
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have to comment very favourably on the Vacation Village Parkway. Their bldngs are kept in perfect shape year round, we just came back and are trully impressed by the super comfy , safe and well equipped kitchens, huge livqing rooms, bedrooms with whirlpools and well equipped kitchens. They also have 6 super outdoor pools and whirlpools.All grounds are kept in perfectly immaculate shape, Nature pathways, lakes, flower beds etc. However, please avoid any bldng that faces Gaylord Palms. They have a super noisy cooling equipmnet that surely does not let you sleep at night. Mainly at X mas time. Also the bldngs should have double glazed windows, and they DO NOT. What kind of an architect would design such inadequate sound barrier and a/c power waster??? Idiots do that, citing inadequate Florida code. You need to use ear plugs all night and certainly have to draw your curtains. I have complained about this a # of times but it falls on deaf ears!!! Now the new bldng # 20 and 21 is being built for the Platinum owners. Hopefully they will be luckier. In Las Vegas , the Grand View has double glazed windows, why not Florida ?The opressive heat makes it in in no time, a/c costs MUST be high and we, owners have to pay for that!!!That needs a quick review!!!

Room Tip: Only use the larger unit A, or both A and B, if you have a bigger family. Also a good show called Ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty to Vacation Village at Parkway and are proud that our accommodations and amenities have continuously exceeded your expectations. We don’t normally receive complaints on noisy central air systems at our resort but we do appreciate your feedback as we’re always looking at ways to improve our guest’s vacation experience. Thank you for sharing your review with us and we hope that we may share our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ah, you look at the photos of this place online and it looks great. Even the Trip Advisor reviews have improved since I started reading them about a year ago and the photos uploaded by guests, for the most part, look quite inviting. Well, fasten your seat belts, because you're in for a bumpy ride.

First let me say that I went into this with trepidation, as I "won" the package for the time share deal. I would never have responded to such a come-on - EVER - but I checked it out online and the deal was cheap, and, most importantly, the woman I spoke to said that we would go on a 90-minute tour, where they would just casually show us the time share offices and say, Hey if you're interested, stop by. Right.

After reading all the reviews about getting buildings with higher numbers, I requested via email a room in 18 or 19. Of course we were put in building 1. They told me that all the people there with that time share tour get put"near the activities" - code for "in the worst possible buildings". The time share people even told us that the higher-numbered buildings were for owners only. I find it hard to believe that all the people who are raving about those buildings are owners, but...who knows?

At any rate, our room did not have the broken cabinets etc. of some reviews and photos...the kitchen was brand new and the bath also looked recently refurbished. The sofa, however, looked like I didn't want to sit in it - and I have rarely stayed at a place, including budget motels, that had furniture that unappetizing. The bed was okay, tvs were ancient as mentioned in many reviews, but serviceable. View of parking lot.

The elevator was broken all 4 days we were there (as another reviewer mentioned) and this in another building. The working one was so hinky people were afraid to use it. We usually used the stairs even tho we were on the 4th floor. There was no shampoo, etc., so don't let the photos on the website deter you from bringing your own. ("We'd give it to you as a welcome gift if we had it but we don't have any right now." Folks who have been going there for years said it has gone downhill - They used to have those sorts of amenities but no more.)

We asked Jose (good thing I know Spanish, as he couldn't understand English, or perhaps didn't want to, knowing that complaints might be coming) about the elevator and he replied that they were fixing it as we spoke - that was the first day we were there. As I write I am sure it is still down.

Then the nightmare of the time share deal. I have never attended one of these things and, as I said, would never have done so had the woman not promised it wasn't going to be that kind of thing. Since the trip was cheap but not free (rooms for the same price available on priceline - $84 a night - but they tell you they're $225 or so a night and if you don't subject yourself to the time share torture time you will be charged that), I had believed her. When I mentioned this I was told that they hire marketers from all over and who knows what they do or say? They take no responsibility for their marketing. and the naïve fools like me believed their marketer. My fiancée had been to many of these presentations and said he had never been to one like this. It was an extremely hard sell and lasted THREE HOURS.. It ruined the entire day and considering we only had 3, it did a good deal to ruin the whole trip. We used that afternoon to use the two passes they gave us (for Universal) - not a place I really cared to visit, but you take whatever you get by then.

During the latter part of the sell after we'd refused, a higher manager came over and drastically lowered the price. We weren't interested and again refused. My fiancée complained of the broken elevator. As he has Parkinson's the stairway was getting old fast. The guy said he would take care of it and get us a "handicapped" room on the first floor. My fiancée told him if that were part of the sell, he didn't want it. No, the guy said, we just want you to be comfortable. He went away for a while then came back and said the best he could do was a ground floor but with a pool view. When we stopped at Visitor Services the girl didn't know what was going on. He haid said we'd be moved to a room near the elevator. She gave us the last room down the hall - a long, long hall. And it faced the parking lot. It was infinitely worse. even the one he'd mentioned faced the parking lot. First floor facing lot? We opted to keep the room we had and even had trouble getting someone on the phone to tell them that.

The pool area was clean and enjoyable and some of the staff was accommodating, but for the most part this was a very regrettable decision on my part. PLEASE don't let the photos online fool you. Odds are you will never be in one of those rooms. Let's face it, we complained, we had a legitimate ADA case, the place was over half empty - just our building - and did they move us to a different room even if they had to give us the bigger side (A side) or just a lower but better room? Did they even try to impress us ("potential owners" when we got there) by giving us a tempting room? No, they put those they want to buy property there in a crappy room and then show you what you COULD have. They don't seem to realize that the insult of being put in a room like that, with a faulty elevator, would turn people off at the outset.

Note that we mentioned the elevator many times to various people and the situation was never resolved. Not the hallmark of a good place. And their inability to rectify the situation with our disabled status says a lot about Vacation Village,

Near Disney? Who cares? Find a nice family-run motel somewhere or splurge and stay at Disney itself.

Room Tip: If you are not a member, there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We were very disappointed to read that our resort did not meet your expectations and we’re sorry for the issues you experienced during your vacation. Your experience does not reflect the standard of service we pride ourselves on, and we regret that now you have such a negative impression of us. While mechanical problems such as faulty elevators will occasionally arise, we work very hard to minimize these issues with the least disruption for our guests. As you can see by our many guest reviews and photos we normally receive praise on our accommodations and the services we provide. We apologize that we did not provide you with the same level of service and we hope your experience doesn’t deter you from visiting Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Vacaction Village in April 2012. We had 2 adjoining rooms as we went as a group of 5. Very clean apartments. Fully equipped. Safe for children as we took our 18 month old. The pool was lovely, so warm and perfect just to laze about it.
Great location for Disney.
We hope to return next October :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your compliments on Vacation Village at Parkway! We always do our best to provide the best vacation experience for our guests and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with your family again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the perfect location to visit Disney; just a few minutes from the entrances. We drove to the park, but a shuttle service is available too. The suite was large, clean, and overall a pleasure. The pools were nice and well kept. The staff was friendly, timely, and courteous. We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Some buildings a closer to the pools and I prefer a suite with a balcony that does not get direct li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. We agree, our various resort amenities and close proximity to Orlando’s exciting attractions makes our resort a sought-after vacation spot. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at this location, needles to say we like the location for disney and the pools on property. Unfortunately, this is the second time that the unit we have had was dusty and dirty. The floors were dirty and after walking in bare feet or socks your feet were black. This makes me question the rest of the unit for cleanliness. The bed was ok and the pillows are the smaller european type pillows. Why not King size pillows for a king size bed? The noise from the floor above (we were on the 5th) was awful as we could hear every move of the chairs and they seemed to drop stuff a lot. This really stunk trying to put a 3yr old to bed at 11pm. The Jacuzzi tub didn't work and this would have been great to use after all the walking at the parks. (bummer). I think we are going to check out some of the other time shares in the area that RCI has to offer. Disappointed.

The Davies Family

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Please accept our apologies for not providing an excellent vacation. We wish you would’ve expressed your concerns about your accommodations to the front desk staff while you were here. We certainly don’t want guests to have an unclean room or one with faulty equipment and would have corrected the issues you had or moved you to a different room. We regret that you now have a negative impression of us and we hope you will reconsider and return so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are always the best choice for an Orlando vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this review is very late, but we did not enjoy our stay here. The check in/out employees were friendly, but the time share folks that they force you to talk to in the back, not so much. We had to go back to them for a parking pass, they offered us a gourmet breakfast for $20, we specifically said we didn't have time or want to go on a time share tour, we were told we didn't have too. That was a lie we did have too, we were able to get out of it since we didn't have a carseat for my son and they did give us our money back.

Also the back area that says guest services/relations is only for time share questions. they barely acknowledge and if they do, they quickly tell you to go to the front. they sign should be changed, it's misleading.

When we were leaving, we called for a pick up, the driver didn't even get out to help us load our luggage, his texting was more important.

My son ended up getting sick and they told us to visit a location about 15 minutes down the road, but there was a clinic right across the street at the hospital we could of used.

we stayed in building 3 or 4, Suite a/b model. One of the elevators was broken for the 4 days we were there. The rooms were clean, we had an adjoined suite, which is connected by a shared hallway. Not ideal if you planned to have younger children stay in the other suite since the main door can be shared it doesn't have a top lock to prevent the door from opening.

We used points to stay here, but I would not visit this property again because of the staff and forcing of the timeshare tour.

It was very close to Disney/Universal and there were lots of stores surrounding the area.

Room Tip: request to stay in the new buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we apologize that we didn’t meet all of your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your comments as they help us decide what areas we need to improve. We’re not aware of a clinic at the hospital across from the resort, just the hospital itself. That is where we would normally send someone if they asked for a hospital or the nearest emergency room. If guests ask for a clinic in the area we refer them to either Centra-Care or Paramount Care. We’re very sorry that our staff didn’t provide you with the service that we are normally known for and pride ourselves on and we hope that you will visit again so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Parkway
Vacation Village
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Kissimmee
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.