We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort close to all the Theme Park action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Rothesay, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“A resort close to all the Theme Park action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I took our kids to the Orlando area for a family vacation and for part of our trip we booked the Vacation Village at Parkway. There are some positives and some negatives we have encountered with this resort. This resort is a perfect location along the tourist corridor on the 192 that can allow easy and quick access to the Disney property as well put you on the I4 very quickly if you are going to be visiting places like Sea World and Universal Studios. We booked into a two bedroom AB unit which is actually two one bedroom units with a shared foyer and separate key card doors to each side of the full unit. The nice thing is you can lock the door to the hall and simply keep the doors opened to both sides to allow easy flow throughout the unit. The A side of the unit is a little larger and offers more within the room compared to the B side.

The A side of the two bedroom unit has a full kitchen with a full size fridge, cook top with oven, microwave and dishwasher. There is also a washer/dryer in a closet off the kitchen area. The living and dining room offer plenty of space including a pull out couch to offer additional sleeping space. The master bedroom is pretty basic with a king size bed, dresser drawers, TV and whirlpool tub open in this area so you can have a soak and watch TV in your room. The bathroom for the A side if the unit can be accessed from the bedroom directly or through a 2nd door off the kitchen area. The bathroom on the A side had a double sink counter top and stand up shower stall along with the flush. Also the balcony can be accessed from the bedroom or through the sliding door off the main living area.

The B side of the unit is smaller and only has a half kitchen, meaning there is a full size fridge and microwave along with the standard eating utensils plus stocked glasses and plates. There is no stove top or oven in the B side of the unit but it appeared there was a hot plate under the kitchen counter if you wanted to cook something but since we had the full two bedroom unit there was no need to use the kitchenette in the B side. Also the living space is a little tighter on the B side but there is a dining table plus a pull out couch and chair to accompany the TV in the living room. From here there is a door that will grant access to a small balcony off the living room. The bedroom in the B side was smaller as well with a Queen size bed along with the dresser drawers and TV in room. The bathroom is standard with a counter top sink, a flush and standard tub/shower. You will find another washer/dryer on the B side as well. So if you are booking a 1 bedroom unit be careful as some 1 bedroom unit only have a partial kitchen and not a full kitchen so it would mean you are getting a B unit; if you need a full kitchen in a one bedroom then make sure you are getting an A unit.

The pool area is nice and clean with plenty of places to sit around the area. The pools are a freeform shape with plenty of vegetation in place that can offer some shade areas or sunny spots for the sun seeker. There is also a hot tub off to one side of the pool area. You will find a mix of lounge chairs and tables with chairs and umbrellas. The pool area was fairly clean and the towels are in your unit so make sure you bring them with you when you go to have a swim and remember to return the pool towel to your room afterwards as I did not see a towel exchange by the pool.

The buildings here are all multilevel and we were assigned a unit in Building 11 on the 3rd floor but the elevators went up to the 7th floor. Presently there are 18 or 19 buildings for units and being in building 11 meant we had an older unit. The higher the building number the newer the unit you are receiving. We found the driving area within the resort to be busy with traffic and during our stay the parking for our building was on the main road within the property. We were near the Arabian Nights Theater as it was our view from the unit. You would hear a fair amount of noise during the day and evening being on the side of building 11 that faced towards the main road and Arabian Nights. One evening after the kids had gone to bed we could hear a lot of noise from a group getting onto a bus parked at the Arabian Nights Theater. If you are looking for a little more peace or a better view then you may want to have an even number room as it seems the odd number rooms for building 11 tend to have a limited views and road noise. In fact we found it could be dangerous trying to walk to your car as few people would slow down or stop to allow you to cross the road. We witnessed several cars blow through the stop signs along the roadway within the resort property. Keep in mind this resort does not have a gated entrance or guardhouse you must pass to enter the property so anyone from the general public can be in the area or driving through all hours of the day.

This is a timeshare property and during check-in they are going to offer you a tour and a free breakfast or lunch plus some free gifts for attending their tour. Now they say it is not a tradition sales tour but instead they would like you to take a tour and fill out a survey of your thoughts on the newer units at the property to get your free gift. Feel free to do so but keep in mind you are going to be giving up some of your vacation time to do so but simply say no and enjoy your trip if you are not interested.

Overall this property is an ideal spot if you want to be close to Disney as well as have easy access to the area’s other theme parks but you are going to be staying in the heart of the tourist corridor so the area around the resort is busy day and night with heavy traffic. You will also have numerous choices of fast food and chain restaurants along with untold number of tacky tourist gift shops along the 192. If being close to the action is high on your list then Vacation Village at Parkway will fit the bill nicely but if you are looking for quiet and relaxation after spending your day at the hectic theme parks then you may want to look for a different resort.

Room Tip: The higher the building number the newer the unit you will receive on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. Positive comments here on TripAdvisor are vital when choosing a vacation destination and we’re sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. Our perfect location to Orlando’s theme parks is definitely a plus, but we feel we also offer a comfortable respite for those seeking a relaxing vacation. Guests are encouraged to experience our two beautiful nature walks, six pools, fitness center, and game room. We also feature a multitude of daily activities such as crafts, karaoke, poolside parties and dance lessons. Thank you again for taking the time to share and we hope that we may share our hospitality with you the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    459
    180
    95
    70
See reviews for
710
237
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place has an amazing location.
The apartments are nice and specious.
The items inside are very worn out and are in need of an update.
Instate of a DVD and an MP3 player we found a VHS and a Cassette players inside. If this was a museum I would have been impressed, but common, we are in 2013 not 1993!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. The resort is constantly in a state of renovation and maintenance. Currently we’re in the process of refurbishing furniture and upgrading some of the electronic equipment building by building. We’re happy that you enjoyed our convenient location and spacious rooms and we look forward to your return so that we may show how we’re constantly improving the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Falls, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

the wife and I stayed here on a whim, because she wanted a full kitchen. well we were thouroughly impressed!! the only drawback was a fairly long que to checkin, once we actually got to the desk we were done in no time. no thanks free breakfast/lunch we dont travel enough to consider purchasing.
the room was literally like a small apartment. living room, small dining table, small stacked washer and dryer, convection oven, fridge, the full measure. our deck looked into the pool area, meh, we didnt request a view.
Staff was super friendly and alwasy available and what a location. Adjacent to EVERYTHING really. We had dinner at Little Italy and were very happy, maybe Ill write a review later on, but there were literally 50 places to eat that werent far. In our checkin envelope there was a flyer for a food delivery service. the wife suggested we order our groceries as opposed to wasting the time shopping. at first I was skeptical, but boy were we happy, groceries delivered the very next morning! maybe Ill write a review on foodstroe2go later.
the in room directory was very informative and even had some money saving coupons for local eateries and takeout.

Vaction Village .. see you next time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your five star recommendation! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed the vacation experience we provided at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. We would however like to apologize for the lengthy check in time. A resort of our popularity will inevitably experience moments of heavy check-in periods but we try to minimize any inconvenience for our guests. We strive on a daily basis to offer our guests a first class vacation and we greatly appreciate compliments such as yours. We look forward to seeing you in Orlando again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Say "No!" to the $20 breakfast unless you are interested in purchasing timeshare. I would have given this a 5 star if it wasn't for this.

After flying in and traveling here, we had to wait in a long line to check in...about 30 minutes. Then we had to wait in another line (10 minutes) to get our parking permit pass. There we were told since we are RCI exchange members, they would give us a buffet breakfast for $20 to get our feedback on the resort. In exchange for our time afterwards, we would receive another $80 for coming to see them. Tired and hungry we didn't realize what we had done until later that evening....just to get our parking permit!

We tried to cancel our reservation slot for two days in a row. No one ever called back or answered the phone number they gave me. That day we arrived and were told if we cancel we forfeit the $20. We ended up going to the breakfast by driving to Disney Celebrations, then back to VV's meeting room for 4 hours of high pressure sales to purchase additional time share weeks. What a waste of our time!

Thank goodness my children were old enough to walk to the pool themselves while we were busy. Never again!!!

PROS:
1. Nicely appointed rooms. We stayed in Building #17 on the 10th (top) floor facing away from the swimming pool. From the balcony we had a view of the fireworks at Disney
2. Great, convenient location right off the exit to all the attractions. It's at the intersection of highway 4 and 192

CONS:
1. Threshold to outside balcony was quite higher than expected. It was about 3" high and we felt like we tripped over it each time we went outside.
2. Addtional $25 charge for the amenities fee to use their basic wifi, etc.
3. RCI states that we booked a 2 bedroom unit that sleeps 8 with a privacy of 8. It's actually a privacy of 4! We had adjoining one bedroom suite units together. Each unit had one king bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa in the living room. If I had known that, I may not have reserved this. The rooms were adjoined by the living rooms so the kids were a bit far away.
4. Check in was slow with long lines at 4 pm on Friday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments because we always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to post about their stay. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations. We’re thankful that overall you enjoyed your time at the resort and we hope you return so that we may have an opportunity to make your next visit to Orlando even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

First things first. Check in was easy, but I would try to do it early. I saw lines in the afternoon. 5 minutes is all it took. Building seven is one of the older complexes but u would never know it. Full kitchen in "A"units with washer and dryer are awesome. Ask for the top floor...7705 has a nice view over the parking garage but actually is fun to watch the rides at Old Town. Staff is very helpful. The only downside is the smoking at the pools. At least one of the pools should be smoke free. Oh one other thing the tvs are old type but who really wants to watch tv anyway. Access in and out is a breeze. 5 minutes from Disney property and never any traffic. Publix is close as well as many other restraunts and stores. Orlando area has tons to do and the vacation village is a fine place to use as your home base.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway. We truly take pleasure in offering amenities that surpass many other resorts and we enjoy knowing how much our guests benefit from them. Thank you for taking the time to share and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Flori
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Would have rated this a 5 but for an attempt to charge us a $40 "cleaning fee" since we were not staying a whole week. When I disputed this charge at check-in, as it was not noted in any of the information we received when our reservation (an RCI exchange) was confirmed-the manager on duty was able to waive it. We arrived for check-in early at around 2:30 and were checked in very quickly, despite that issue. Declined to have a "free" lunch or breakfast and had our parking pass lickety split. Stayed on the top floor of building 14 facing the Gaylord Palms and had a wonderful view of the Disney fireworks, which were truly spectacular for July 4th. Had the A/B unit combo and it was in great shape and very clean. Not ultra-luxurious but quite comfortable and the kitchens were well equipped. Did not receive one call or other attempt to give us a sales pitch. Landscaping is lovely, the pools are well maintained and great for kids, but I'm glad we were not in a unit near any of the pools as noise could be an issue since they are open until 11:00PM. All the staff we encountered were quite pleasant, even escorting us into the building with an umbrella when the staff from building 14 noticed us unloading the car in on of Florida's typical summer afternoon showers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 14 or higher. If you want a fireworks view AND a room away from pool noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We’re sorry for the cleaning fee error on your account. This fee is only applicable for certain marketing companies with guests staying less than seven days. We’re happy that ultimately we were able to provide you with you with a great vacation and we hope to share our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is confusing and not up to what they claim. Assigned a room then given keys to another room. B Units very small. Claimed bed ws a queen looked and felt like a double. Room small. Asked for a change in room. Told no rooms available. There are 19 buildings even at 100% capacity all were not checked in therefore there should have been a room to change to. Then when showed room assigned and room given keys to was told oh this happens.
Checked in at 12 Noon given keys at check in time 4:00P, checked out at 5:40P same day. When asked which room they were checking me out of because both roms appeared on the separate check in slips, they had a hard time answering.
Night Property Mnager would not come out of his office to talk to me. He told front desk clerk, to tell me he wasn't coming out. I spoke to him on phone earlier and was told no accomodations would be made and I could check out if I so choose. He would not change our room or offer any other explination. Many there were complaining both owners and guests of owners. Mr. Alan P night property manager left a lot to be desired in Vacation Villages at Parkway. I would not return to this property. Bad service all around.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the best service possible. Intensive evaluation and training with our team is underway to prevent these issues from happening again. We work hard to make our guests feel welcome and as you can see by most reviews here we are successful most of the time. We regret your experience and we thank you for your comments. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Parkway
Vacation Village
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Kissimmee
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.