We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building, good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Old building, good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We exchanged through RCI and were excited to get a place so close to Disney. Upon check-in, which was quick, we were directed to the Service Desk to get our parking pass, but all this Service Desk is there for is to hammer you to go on a timeshare tour. We did schedule one that ended up lasting 6 (!) hours to get discount tickets for Universal Studios. We were put in building 5, 5th floor, which is one of the oldest buildings and it shows. The 2-bedroom lockoff unit was grimy and really dated. The floors were dirty and our kids constantly had black feet from walking around on the tiled floor, which had several cracked tiles. The dryer in the smaller unit did not work, the small kitchen appliances are vintage Black and Decker cheapos, Dishwasher was really rusty, stove only worked on 2 burners and there was plenty of black mold in the shower stall. Not to mention the silverfish. We ran out of time running around in the Theme parks so after one week we decided to extend our 7-night timeshare exchange into a 2 day Hotel stay through World Hotels. They kept us in the same room so we dd not have to pack up and move. During the 7 night stay we never got our midweek service and even during our 2 night extension we never saw housekeeping. Paying good money for the 2 nights extension we would have expected to at least have our linens and towels changed 1 time but we ended up for 9 nights sleeping on the same sheets in a grimy unit. Upon checking out we complained at the desk and were credited $25 resort fee, that everybody has to pay there. We would probably stay again but would ask for a newer building that has A-C units rather than a-B units.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer buildings that have A-C units rather than the old ones that have A-B units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that your visit to our resort was not everything it should have been. We rank high in housekeeping with RCI and what you experienced is certainly not our normal standard. We hope that you will consider returning again to stay with us so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that we are the best resort choice for an Orlando vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    573
    209
    100
    87
See reviews for
906
274
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second stay at Vacation Village. Our last stay was 2 years ago and there has been a serious improvment in customer service. Everyone that we met working here went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. It is clear that this has been made a priority. The location is fantastic (very near Disney, not far from Universal and Sea World) and the units are very nice. Our pool and hot tub were great though the hot tub was a bit too hot for eveyone (there were conversations about it) but not too hot to get in and enjoy it for a little while.

LOCATION within the property is critical. If you want quiet don't get floors 1 - 3 on the pool side. We had 8th floor on the opposite side from the pool and loved it. Some buildings don't have a pool (you can walk over to another one). I recommend you call a few days before arrival and give them a preference. The activities center is a bit of a walk from some buildings so if this is important to you, ask to be in one of the buildings near the activities.

The only problem we had was that our updstairs neighbors like to drag chairs around on the tile floor at midnight and later. This is loud in the unit and annoying to your neighbors. If you need to move a chair on the tile floor, be kind and carry it!

VERY close to getting a 5 dot rating from us. Biggest drawback is the limited number of elevators. We had 3 for two huge 10 story buildings and one of those was out of order most of the week. The staff uses the same elevators so you wait for a while sometimes.

Overall we really like this resort and we will be back!

Room Tip: Call in advance to give your preferences. Higher rooms are quieter because the pool is close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We’re so happy to read that you enjoyed your second visit at Vacation Village at Parkway and that the level of customer service we provide pleasantly surprised you. Our employees take great pride in delivering attentive service to guests, and sharing this type of feedback lets them know that their hard work doesn't go unnoticed. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you the next time you visit our amazing city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Service with checking in was great. Building was a bit aged, and pretzel crumbs were found in my sleeper sofa. But overall, not bad for the price. Could have been a cleaner. Great location. Close to everything needed for a superior vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We’re sorry that we overlooked a few things but we’re thankful that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that we have a chance to welcome you back the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We checked in on a Sunday night and were greeted by such vibrant and friendly staff. I asked for a newer room and my wish was granted. The employees put us in building 16 and upgraded us to an A/C unit as opposed to an A/B unit. A/C's are bigger. The room was very clean, well decorated and appointed. Building 16 is closest to the biggest pool. The resort is huge and offers a shuttle to/fro other buildings and the main check-in area. The check-in building also houses the fitness center and internet lounge. We looked at the fitness center and opted to workout at "celebration health" as the resort's gym doesn't have free weights. We used the interenet lounge to print our boarding passes - and everything went well. We were in the Orlando area for only a few nights - so we didn't have time to enjoy the amenities the resort has to offer, but all looked awesome.

By the way..if you don't want to deal with all the timeshare crap - simply tell them "no thank you" when they offer you the free breakfast while getting your parking pass. The individual I dealt with was obviously frustrated with me - so that was a bit annoying...but it beats having them call you everyday.

Room Tip: Building 16-19 - newer buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We’re so happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort and that the accommodations and our staff exceeded your expectations. Our employees take great pride in delivering outstanding service to guests and sharing this type of feedback lets them know that their hard work doesn't go unnoticed. We hope you decide to come back to Orlando soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I are staying in an "A" unit in Building 9 for a week-long getaway. This unit has a nice floorplan, and the kitchen is efficient and organized well. The living room and balcony are spacious, and we have a great view of the pool. We are using the pool each day from 11 to 1, hardly anyone there (everyone is at the theme parks is our theory). Wonderful pool, clean, about 80 degrees, spa kept at 104 degrees, also clean. Pool furniture is basic plastic stuff, clean and comfortable and easy to wipe rain off.

We had a problem with the jacuzzi tub in our room - the on/off switch got stuck in the on position. The building maintenance crew was up in 45 minutes and installed a new swith, problem solved. Enjoyed the jacuzzi a lot.

The king size bed in our unit is very comfortable. We slept like babies, it was very peaceful and quiet at 10 pm. (Pool closes at 10 pm).

The location is great, there are restaurants and grocery stores within a mile. The entrance ramp to get to Disney and Universal Studios is a mile from the property. It takes us 10 minutes to get to Disney parks and 20 minuts to get to Universal Studios. We have an annual pass to Disney so we enjoy going there in the evenings for dinner at Epcot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the glowing recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway Resort! It’s our goal to provide a great vacation at a great value and we’re happy to hear that we are succeeding in making your visit a memorable one. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again on your next getaway to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a week in Orlando.
Traveling with 5 members of immediate family (2 parents, 3 Kids. 5, 9, 12)
Also with 2 Grandmothers + Aunt.

We were able to Trade our Timeshare points for 2 units (Total 4 bedrooms) at Vacation Villages.
We have stayed at other Vacation Villages properties around the country so basically knew what to expect.

This is a timeshare, there will be a sales pitch, or an attempt at a sales pitch. Just politly refuse a few times and they will get the message. Checkin had main pitch.

Units:
VERY large. Each 2 Bedroom unit COULD sleep 8. Larger side has King Bed + Sleeper sofa. Smaller Side has Double Bed + Sleeper sofa. Each side has Bathroom with Shower (No tub).

Units we had were aging a little. Couches especially were not very comfortable. Construction dumpster in the parking lot makes It appear they are rehabbing some of the units.

Kitchens: Appliances were basic but fine. Cookware was limited, but basically what we expect from a timeshare. There was "Enough" of everything, but for our group, glad we could borrow from any of the 4 kitchens we had (Larger side has full kitchen, smaller has microwave + hotplate only)

All staff we interacted with were great. Polite & efficient. We ran into cleaning + maintenance staff in the elevators a few times and each time they yielded to us to make sure we got the space we needed and they waited.

Location is great. Minutes to Disney. Ability to take food into Disney or return to your unit to cook will save you hundreds of dollars vs. eating park food.

As others mentioned, wifi is weak, And we got charged an extra $25 fee not previously communicated for Wifi, Safe, and resort activities. Not unreasonable, but frustrating that it was a surprise at checkin.

Free Grills were nice for a cookout. Supplied grill implements were new and good. (Checked out from pool attendant) Pool attendant could also exchange pool towels, but towels were available in your room at checkin.

Only 2 real complaints are that with a 2nd floor unit, overlooking the pool. It was loud in the evenings. Pool open until 11 PM. Our Kids got frustrated others were playing in the pool when we were putting them to bed. (We're a get up early and get tot eh park when it opens family)
2nd issue was that all the "Card Readers" for all the doors were finicky. Annoyance more than anything else.

Overall great trip, units exactly what we expected, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Would suggest requesting a room AWAY from the Pools. Pools open until 11 PM, hearing others frolic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway. We’re happy that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and our great location. We’re sorry that you were surprised by newly implemented resort fee. It is our understanding that it is noted on all RCI confirmation letters when a unit is reserved. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you again to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First things first, it's a timeshare resort. They are going to nickel and dime you and bug you with sales pitches. We have stayed here twice now and when you know what to expect from a timeshare community then you know how to make your stay more enjoyable. Namely unplug your phone and avoid all the "free" offers.

Pros:
-Location location location...close to everything Disney.
-We were in building 14 and the rooms were updated and nice.
-Every staff member we encountered was very friendly.
-Lots of activities for younger kids to enjoy if you have a few days where you plan to stay around the resort.
-Everything you need is in your room

Cons:
-We could hear every step the folks above us made
-$25 resort fee for the activities and "free" snowcones
-Wifi included in the $25 fee is sloooow and sketchy at best
-Remember, this is a timeshare community...they will try to sell you something

All in all we like this place. Like I said we have stayed here twice and would stay again if the opportunity was there. We have stayed at Orange Lake and both places have pros and cons that you have to weigh against each other. Overall we have been happy staying here.

Room Tip: ask for a non parking lot balcony. unplug your phone if you dont want sales calls. dont goto any m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We love to hear from families such as yours about their repeat visits at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. The resort’s staff does their best to ensure that travelers feel welcome to Orlando and enjoy all the excitement of the area’s world-renowned attractions. Thank you again for your post and for recognizing the value we offer our guests. It is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.