We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Miramar Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in bldg 9. Though it was clean, all the furniture was VERY old. The sleeper couch's springs were hard to sleep on. When you sat in the dining chairs, your butt hit the wood on the seat, cabinetry very old. Not enough linen...2 washcloths vs 8 towels! The nice things were the heated pool and the grounds. Caution for handicapped people....the doors are NOT handicap accessible! There is a button to push to exit, but none of them work and you have to prop up the doors to get inside your room. A person alone in a wheelchair would NOT have accessibility! Also, trash disposal is NOT available to first floor units. You have to go to 2nd floor to drop the trash down to the 1st floor! $25 Internet fee is a ripoff! Their website states complimentary Internet service but when you get there, it costs $25. when we told then what the website said, their answer was."we have to change our website". SCAM ALERT!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback on our resort. We’re sorry that we failed to meet all of your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to create an experience that inspires a return visit, so we encourage our guests to share any concerns during their vacation so that they may be addressed immediately. We would have been happy to supply you with additional linens if requested. The resort features 58 ADA standard units and we ask that guests advise us of their specific needs when reserving a handicap room so that we can provide the best service. There is no scam regarding internet service because this amenity is offered in a public area at the resort. In-room WiFi is an amenity included in the $25 Resort Fee that features other amenities like our shuttle services to the theme parks. We are thankful that you enjoyed other aspects of your trip and we sincerely hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    668
    257
    108
    102
See reviews for
1,037
337
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrardstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We checked in this resort late and the night staff was wonderful. This is a wonderful place, very beautiful and close to the attractions. I gave it a poor review mainly because if you are going to stay here, stay away from the lobby and whatever you do say no to the free breakfast!!!!! We made a mistake of going to the lobby to redeem a free gift that was posted outside our door. Little did we know this was an incentive to get us to come to the lobby and have us sign up for the breakfast. What a rip-off!!! They charge you $20 that we did not get back. They tell you nothing but lies, like there is no time limit to complete the breakfast, tour the model, and do the survey. However, it will take longer than an hour, so my question is: how is there no time obligation. The man said we could take as long as we wanted, but the morning of the breakfast we were told we would need longer than an hour. We didn't want to ruin our day so, we said no and requested our money back from the manager on duty, Josh. He was so rude to us, began arguing with us and then had the nerve to tell me " do you want to look at me when I am speaking to you, or is it that you just don't care". He said this while I was watching my two year old across the room. Really??? This man got so frustrated with us when all we were doing was trying to understand what was going on. He then proceed to tell us that he was doing us a favor by offering us a breakfast. This man should obviously not be a manager, he had no people skills at all. This situation could have been handled so much better and then I wouldn't be writing this. Yes, the loss of our 20 bucks really bothers me, but what bothers me more is how it was handled. If you are staying here hope that you don't have a problem you need to go to the lobby for, check in after hours, and anytime approached for a breakfast, say no!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our resort. We apologize for the way you were treated by a member of our marketing team and your comments have been forwarded to their management so that the lack of professionalism you experienced may be addressed. We’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations and the service provided by our other employees. We hope you do decide to return so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that we are the friendliest resort in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just came back from visiting Orlando and had a great stay at Vacation Village at Parkway. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. They have full kitchens with big living room, dining area and flat screen tv's. Nice pool and best of all the resort is only about a 5 minute drive to the Disney parks. Loved this resort and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for building number 10 and up (these are the remodeled ones) We stayed in buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway Resort for our TripAdvisor readers! We’re happy that you enjoyed the amenities of your accommodations and the resort’s proximity to the Disney Parks. We’re very proud of our resort and we can’t wait to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with an Rci exchange. I will say it is a typical resort and the people that expect their sheets fluffed everyday I don't know why they bother because no resort does this . The check in a little long this is why we usually ask for a later check in and avoid the rush . They pull the go to next desk routine and then they attack you And lie to you and pressure u into a time share presentation and you pay for it haha 20 bucks. Now the real truth David told my aunt that it was not the same thing for owners it is a free breakfast or lunch whatever you choose answer any questions you may have as an owner blah blah . I read it over when we got back to the room and immed. Realized that she has been very misinformed went right back to David was given the same smeel and told there is nothing we could do now either go or lose the 20 so ... We went the only difference bwtween the way we were treated as owners and the other poor people were treated was the lunch that was offered was a resteraunt you could choose from 5 and u went with your time share person .back to the horror of the presentation after being passed off to the " manager" and basically yelled at as to what we thought we were doing we told them we were told we had no choice and David told us we had to cause they signed the paper they backed off and we were able to leave over 4 hrs this took!! The night Staff was very nice they were very fast even at 2 am when we pulled the pullout sofa out and found no bedding .
They charged a 25 dollar resort fee this is to cover all the activities including Internet. We has no problems in building 17 getting service but it did constantly ask you to put the password in again and again so don't lose it . The staff was hit or miss and one extreme to the other either real nice and accommodating or engaging or the complete opposite we had both . This resort is a high pressure buy buy buy even the activities have some sort of angle attached . Went to do tye dye Tshirt ( I do this at every resort ) and they charging 10 bucks for a Tshirt with their resort name plastered all over it and some girl with a turkey Baster doing it for you. First time I ever passed on the Tshirt making . Sad sad . went to the spa day and it was a girl from a cosmetic company selling the products yes you sampled everything and it was nice to get away for an hour and the products were great and you got to take the spa socks home with you all for an extra $11 bucks. The bingo was fun be prepared though the girl calling at the poolside bingo didn't even wait for the first number called she was calling the next and even when we asked her to slow down just a sec she ignored us !!! so I would say don't try to play more than one card If you are not a bingo player . nice little prizes though Tshirts frizbees tote bags water bottles all with the vacation village logo of course and the gran prize a reload able Starbucks card with 5 bucks on it we won was so excited lol huge Starbucks fan :) all in all good resort. think they need to make a few tweaks though ! I think they are becoming too much about the branding and not enough about the visitors :( but let's be honest all of kissemmee and Orlando one huge tourist trap and just getting worse year by year . I would like to add that the 2 front desk men that I dealt with there are useless not friendly at all . Ran into ask about Internet real quick for directions and they said go to business center on second floor. I went no wifi and the computers they have boot you off every 15 minutes no pens and the printers not work properly did not even attempt to help me !! went to McDonald's down the road the customer service there was awesome haha. unless vacation village can sell you something they have no time for you so be forewarned . I would stay there again just because it's clean and sometimes that's all you can ask for when travelling . I did not bother with pics enough of them here already all units in buildings seem to be the same with the exception I think units A have full stoves and units B have 2 burner hotplate no oven so ask if this concerns you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of our resort. Although we’re thankful for your positive comments, we’re so sorry that we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations during your stay. Superior service is our top priority and we never want anyone to leave without the best experience. Through guest feedback we’re able to focus on areas were we can improve our service and value. Comments and concerns like yours are vital in helping us provide a great Orlando vacation experience for our guests. We’re thankful to know that you will return to stay with us again so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that we are always the best choice for lodging in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have read loads of poor reviews on here and personally I have no reason to complain we stayed in block 5 on the 3rd floor other people are saying upper figure unit blocks are better but ours was far better than we had seen in the pictures from RCI we was pleasantly surprised. full washer/dryer,dishwasher, waste disposal unit ,whirlpool bath tub in the bedroom and large shower and twin sinks in the bathroom
We was asked if we was under 30* when we was checking in (which we are) and was waiting for the free breakfast/ sales talk for timeshare which never came which was a relief after a 9 hour flight with 2 children so this had me thinking because we are under 30 the hard pressure sale for timeshare is not available unless you are wanting to hear the sales talk the do ask for it.
The only lower than expected thing was the fold out sofa bed,the mattress was a little thin
The room cleaning/mid week refresh was not what we have seen in Spain and Europe over the years and they will only change the bed linen and towels little to no tidying up done and emptying the bins yourself
There was 4 free to use gas BBQ's for you to use located in a quiet location near the pool side which was a big win for me and during our holiday used it a few times and so did a lot of other people
There is a well equipped playground for the children with soft bark floor covering for when the accidents happen :-(
The pool is heated and was very nice, sometimes a little too warm and not refreshing when the Florida sun is beating down on you, on the other hand they have a multi person hot tub style pool with a max temp of 104^f which was very nice in the evenings with a beer or two
The resort on a whole was amazing and would strongly recommend to anybody and will be returning on another holiday here soon

Room Tip: Block 5 was beautiful enjoyed every minute of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway. First impressions are lasting and we’re happy to know that we made a great impression on you during your visit to Orlando. Building 5 is a popular section of the resort and we’re glad that your family enjoyed your accommodations and the resort amenities that are conveniently located there. We’re sorry that you didn’t like the mattress on the sofa bed. The furniture has been recently updated but its difficult to find a sofa bed mattress that everyone likes. If you should ever have this issue in the future we ask that you notify the front desk and they’ll be happy to have someone change the mattress for you. Thank you again for your detailed comments, as we’re sure they will assist others when making their own travel plans. We can’t wait to welcome you back to Vacation Village at Parkway on your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was just my husband and myself taking this vacation.
After reading mixed reviews on here we were a little bit apprehensive. So on checking in I had already decided to ask what building we had been given and yes they said building 1, so I asked nicely if they could put us in building 18 or 19 the lady at the front desk said she would go and find out and to our surprise came back and said we have changed you now to Building 18. The resort is spread out over a large area and building 18/19 is on the far side. We were lucky in that our unit faced out on to the wildlife reserve some of them face on to I4. We were very pleased with the unit it was very clean and had everything we needed, washer/dryer, dishwasher, full cooker and plenty of pots and pans. Bathroom was fine with large shower and jacuzzi bathtub. Flat screen TV in lounge area and the bedroom. Swimming pool was very close by and was very clean. The only downside was being pressured by the guy giving out the parking pass to go for the free lunch/breakfast and an update on the resort. We had to give a $20 dollar deposit that would be refunded when we went for the lunch. Sunday came the day we were to go for lunch, and my husband said, I cannot be bothered going so decided to go out in the car to Clearwater and forgo the $20 that we had given as a deposit. After that the phone rang every day at least twice, we just did not answer as we did not want to have any hassel persuading us to go to a timeshare talk. I would definately stay here again but would say NO to the breakfast/lunch as we did feel slightly guilty for saying yes then not turning up but we had just come off a 9hour flight and just wanted to get away from this guy.

Room Tip: I would say ask for the newer buildings, we had a walk around the resort and noted would guess at an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Vacation Village at Parkway. We’re happy that you enjoyed your accommodations in building 18 and it’s serene, wildlife views. We’re sorry that you felt pressured by our representative. The resort is a timeshare property so we will asks guests if they would like to attend a presentation to learn all about the benefits of owning timeshare at our resort. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From many of the reviews, I was afraid I had made a mistake in booking. However, upon check-in, we found the resort and the unit to be delightful. Check-in was easy, relatively quick, and we avoided the dreaded time-share sales pitch at the parking pass desk just by asking to skip that desk and got our parking pass at check-in-and were never bothered about it! Asked for a newer building and ended up in Bldg 14, parking side, and found it quite nice. These are lock-offs for the 2 BRs, so no adjoining door for those with small kids, but great privacy for older kids or couples. The unit had everything we needed, comfy bed, large jacuzzi, shower, washer & dryer, cookware and dishes, balcony with sturdy furniture and lovely grounds. This included a mid-week spiff-up with fresh towels, bed making, vacuum and extra dish soap and laundry detergent, paper towels and toilet paper. They provide laundry detergent and dish soap for the sink, trash bags and a roll or two of paper towels and TP per unit, but no dish-tabs or shampoo. There are small bar soaps, so plan ahead. The nearby pool (Bldg 16-17) was no deeper than 5-6 feet with a zero entry end and a huge multi-person hot-tub, lots of chairs and a bathroom, and they were constantly landscaping all around. It would have been helpful at check-in to receive more info about internet access, the various pools and how to get to them, and activities, and the $25 mandatory activities fee is a little cheesy, but we really loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: corner balconies get great breeze-rooms near activities pool are going to be louder. Newer bldgs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation of Vacation Village at Parkway. It is our goal to provide a great experience and we appreciate your comprehensive review of our resort. The details matter to us too, and we’re happy that you noticed the small things like all of the cookware and extra dish soap and laundry detergent that we provide. We pride ourselves on our service and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you visit Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.