We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mega Resort Look and Feel (nothing "homelike" here)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Merrickville, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Mega Resort Look and Feel (nothing "homelike" here)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

There's got to be something in the water that interior decorators drink in Florida, and it ain't good.
... But let's start at the beginning...
The check-in process consisted of waiting in line for 45 minutes! That's a long time for anyone to wait in line: however, it does allow you ample time to develop and organize your tripadvisor review.
We stayed in Building 15, second floor. Supposedly, this building and its rooms had recently been renovated. The elevators are dark and dank. The Hallway carpet is grimy and stained. The floors in the room, although they are ceramic tile, were covered with a layer of who-knows-what, which moved us to literally scrub them by hand with a wet towel and some laundry detergent.
You would have to be blind to appreciate the decor theme: greens and mustard yellows, with some burgundy. The walls are a nauseating and ceilings are a nauseating peach. (Yes, colour does affect your mood and when you don't like the colours of the place you are staying at, well, it affects your overall sense of well-being). The window dressings and bed linens (comforters) boast garish prints of tropical flowers and leaves, birds, etc... Busy patterns everywhere.
The bathrooms are not stocked with shampoo or conditioner, but do come with a Dial soap bar - ensuring your skin is dry and tight for your entire vacation. (Folks, there is a Publix nearby, go buy your own moisturizing body wash and other necessary toiletries).
If you set all the decor related issues aside, you are left with squeaky beds and old appliances that make an inordinate amount of noise.
I DID appreciate the in room washer and dryer very much. Left the resort with all our clothes clean and this made my unpacking at home a breeze! (Again, one will have to journey to Publix to pick-up laundry soap and dryer sheets).
I'm not used to writing such disparaging reviews but they'd honestly lost me by "Hello" on day one at check-in.
Yes, it is centrally located to everything, which is a huge redeeming quality. There is also ample parking.
Our stay was good. Not great. Not much of anything. We weren't sorry to leave.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments on your stay with us. Vacation Village at Parkway Resort has received many positive reviews regarding our service and décor and we’re disappointed that we failed to meet all of your expectations. We’re thankful to know that overall we provided you with a good experience and we hope to welcome you back to Orlando on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    534
    201
    99
    82
See reviews for
844
259
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Good price, great location.
Parks 2 miles away. Walmart very near, afordable restaurantes near by.
The pool is great, they have different activities for guest,like salsa classes,etc.
If you like shopping there is a premium outlet very near. I would come back here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your trecommendation with our readers. Vacation Village at Parkway Resort has all the comforts of home for our guests and offers close proximity to all of Orlando’s exciting attractions. We’re happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and we hope that we may share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms are OK, not great. The bedding is sub-standard. The comforters are cheap nylon and fall off the bed all night long. The bedding sheets are mismatched and not of high quality, and the blankets don't fit the sizes of the mattresses, but heck the towels are decent.

We didn't spend much time on grounds or pool, but did take advantage of the shuttle to Disney, which was decent.

This resort is a MASSIVE concrete jungle with row after row of building. The location is great and very close to the disney parks.

The worst part was check-in. There is a bait and switch where they have you walk over to another customer service area to pick up your parking pass where they HARD PRESSURE you to attend a breakfast to "give feedback" about their upcoming facility. They pretty much refuse to give you your parking pass without signing up and paying in advance for the privilege of giving them feedback and then they give you a $80 gift. I finally insisted that we wanted no part of it, even though they make you that it is mandatory, and asked for my parking pass. It made me crazy mad to go through this, and we never participated in a single offering of the resort for fear that we would be hard pressure sales pitched AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We’re very disappointed to read that our resort didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate your candid comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance and our property. We hope in the future you will choose to visit us again and allow us the opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great property - very clean and the staff well attentive for the guests. BUT, different from our stay last year, in order to get your parking pass, they send you across the check in room to meet with a new associate - who ask you if you would be willing to attend a breakfast/lunch and answer a few questions about the property - which REALLY is a time share pitch. But they don't tell you that until you show up!. They sort of hold your parking pass hostage until you give them an answer. This is the KING of deception and marketing low life practices. They ask for a cash deposit..(no "cards' accepted" for this). I figured, free meal, survey, i can take a half hour. I remember the guy saying to me- you can leave anytime you wish... BUT.it certainly is not without pressure. Learned my lesson on this one! Property was great, but this just left a very bad taste in my mouth as i don't tolerate deception in business practices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share the details of your vacation with us. We’re always happy to receive feedback because it helps us know what areas we need to improve our services and ultimately improve our guest’s experience. We’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations but are sorry for the miscommunication you experienced with our marketing representative. We do not condone overzealous tactics because we realize that it is counterproductive to our goal. Your comments will again be used as a training tool to prevent these situations. We regret that this experience has left a negative impression and we hope that our resort and attentive staff will entice you to return to Vacation Village at Parkway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were guests of a timeshare owner during the week of Easter and had a great time. Great location, nice clean pool and the bed actually slept pretty good! I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a convenient location to visit the Orlando area.

I would love to see more luggage carts and control over the use of said carts so that everyone has access when the need arises. Check out day was difficult for most everyone we saw because the rolling carts were no where to be found when the busy check out time came.

Room Tip: The rooms that don't overlook the pool are the quietest. Our room had a pool that closed at 10p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor readers. We’re sorry you had an issue locating a rolling cart. Normally they are available but during high occupancy times like the week of Easter/ spring break, it may take some time locating a cart during busy check-out times. We’re happy that you enjoyed your Easter vacation with us and we hope you return so that we may continue to prove that we are the best choice for lodging for your family when visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay
Near all restaurants
Public is close by
Wallmart is near
Rooms are ok nothing great
But clean and tidy
Free shuttle to public anytime
Would recommend defiantly coz of the price and location

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We’re happy that we could supply you with a great vacation and that you appreciate the value we offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Vacation Village at Parkway the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We first stayed in Vacation Village in October '08. Now, 4-1/2 years later, we stayed there again. The building we stayed in was new during our last stay, so I was curious as to how well the property is maintained. I specifically asked for the same building and floor and they were able to accommodate my request (Building 15, top floor). The carpet in the main hallway was noticeably more traffic-worn, but the units (we had both A and B again) were still in really good condition. Being on the top floor, we didn't have to endure noise from above (my reason for requesting a top floor). The floor in the units are tiled, so noise does transfer to the units below. I recommend asking for the top floor, if available.

There are now two newer buildings (16 and 17) and another under construction. During our next stay, I will probably request a unit in one of the newer buildings. However, I was not at all disappointed in our week-long stay in Building 15.

We didn't take advantage of the pool on the property (we were at Disney every day), but I saw several people going to/from the pool each day.

Check-in and check-out was a snap. We got there about 1-hour ahead of the normal check-in time, and they were able to get us in ahead of time. The line was short even though we went during a busy time (spring break). We called housekeeping once for additional towels and they were delivered quickly.

This property is just minutes from Disney, and there's several restaurants within close proximity. When we return to the area in a few years, I will definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: If possible, request a top floor to eliminate noise from above. I would request a unit in Building 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! There is no better compliment we can receive than knowing that our guests entrust us with their family vacations again and again. We’re truly blessed with great accommodations and a perfect location in Orlando and we’re happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vacation Village at Parkway the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.