We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think this hotel will make the short list.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't think this hotel will make the short list.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here a couple days after already being in town for a week - doing it up i the Disney area. We extended our stay and found the "4 Star" area property. I think we struck out by getting placed in Building one. This building really needs to be renovated and in no way a 4 star offering! Of course we had an issue with the room after staying the first day and the hotel graciously moved us to a more updated unit in building 14. This was a much better unit and although not 4 star caliber, it was much closer than our first unit.

Room Tip: If you stay here - go for one of the newer units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Though the accommodations didn’t meet all of your expectations, we’re happy to know that our staff was able to relocate you to a room that was more suitable to your needs. We hope that our many room amenities and great location to Orlando’s premier attractions will entice you to stay with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    501
    188
    97
    77
See reviews for
773
249
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

There are something like 19 buildings in the Parkway complex. Depending on which building you have, there are certain advantages and disadvantages. Check-in can be a bit chaotic with upwards of a 30 minute wait at peak periods. Once you get an agent, it will be about 10 minutes to get your card keys.

The workout room is small for a large complex as Parkway. There are also only 5 computers with one printer in the computer room - again far too small for a large complex like this. There is a 15 minute limit but during peak times there are always people waiting. Both these rooms are located at the check-in centre.

You can always request ahead of time what building you want. Even when you are with the check-in agent, ask for a particular building. 1-6 appear to be the oldest however, the activity center is in this complex along with 2 nice pools where the activities take place (as well as the free snow cones which takes place once a week). All other buildings will be anywhere from 5-15 minute walk from this complex.

We stayed in building 14, top floor - suite 702 both A and B units. The A unit was about 1000 sq ft and was quite spacious with a full kitchen, jacuzzi. The B unit was about 500 sq ft and had a full sized fridge with a mike and a 2 burner stove top. Both units had a washer and dryer. Funny thing is the B unit had a larger and better flat screen TV than the A unit. The pull out couches that can sleep 2 are more for kids than adults as the mattress is a bit on the thin side. Building 14 is not that old and is nicely decorated, well maintained. We did have a view of the Disney fireworks.

Buildings 18 and 19 are the newest and they have the best view of the Disney fireworks. However, they are the furthest buildings from the main complex buildings 1-6 and they are right next to the busy I-4 highway. Also, they do not have their own pool (buildings 14 and 15 do not have pools however, a 3 minute walk to the buildings across the parking lot solved that problem). If you are in 18 and 19, be prepared to drive 5 minutes to the closest pool.

Cleaning was okay as mid week they provide towel service and turndown. For $25 each unit, they will do a full cleaning (they did not tell us at check-in it was each unit, and if you want it for a certain day and time do call them back to confirm as we requested afternoon and they did it in the morning).

There is a mandatory $25 resort fee for activities, shuttle buses and basic internet. The only thing we used was the basic internet - which was inconsistent and a bit unreliable. You can pay $1.50 per day for "premium service" which we did not do as that might not be that much better than the basic. Each code they give you for free wireless internet is only good for 2 devices, so keep calling them for more codes if you have a lot of devices in your group.

Parkway has a great location. Only a 10 minute drive from Disney and about 18 minutes from Universal. There are also a number of fast food and sit down restaurants all about 5-10 minute drive. The Publix grocery store is also about a 5 minute drive. Problem is, if you want to walk only buildings 1-6 will be about 10-15 minutes to the restaurants.

So.....make sure that you choose your building well depending on what you want to do. You can get an older building close to the activities and walk to restaurants. You can get a building that overlooks the Disney fireworks but you might not have a pool and have to drive to get something to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. Positive comments here on TripAdvisor are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we’re sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. We’d like to point out that even though the resort property is large, the amenity fee includes complimentary shuttle service to many of our amenity locations you described. Thank you again for taking the time to share and we hope that we may share our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayin in building 16 which was the newer one on top floor and had units A & C ....Very nice and loved the whirlpool after a long day walking at Disney. Take your phone off hook for the entire stay or you will be called every morning by the sales people. They also sit by fron door until about noon. we just ignored them everyday we went out. Lovely time overall!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the newer units :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your great review regarding your stay with us at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. We’re glad that you found your room pleasing and were able to enjoy all the amenities we provide. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Orlando vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Bldg. 16, Unit 608 from 12/7-12/14. It was new, clean and well appointed! There were 2 lock off units which was nice for privacy for 2 couples. Ours had a jetted jacuzzi in the master! I had read the reviews before checking in so we avoided the timeshare presentation. I've used timeshare for over 20 years and I would say this was one of the nicest units we've exchanged into. The new building made a big difference. We were 15 minutes from Disney/ Epcot.... Very convenient!
If I were going back to this area I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Vacation Village at Parkway Resort! We strive on a daily basis to offer our guests a first class vacation and we greatly appreciate compliments such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to Orlando soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I actually exchanged into here from an “associate” property. What I was assigned was a very old & worn unit in the first blocks built in this complex … and clearly it had never been upgraded. The hallway carpets were very worn. The old arborite kitchen counter tops had burns marks from where people had obviously placed a hot pot or pan. And these weren’t new marks, they were obviously many years old. But they did try hide the marks with a blender; I guess they need to find bigger blenders for that to work. The doors to our unit were old and damaged. They scraped and made loud noises when opened & closed. And the secondary lock on the door had been forced off in the past and was hanging loosely by a couple screws. The patio door didn’t lock … not a major concern on the 3rd floor, but obviously not the best security system.

Even though the resort was almost empty we had neighbors beside us for the first couple days (2 adults & 4 kids in a studio unit!). The walls were anything but soundproof; you could hear their TV quite loudly as well as the people talking & shouting. They were still making noise and pounding on doors at 1:30 AM, but I was told by the front desk there was nothing they could do about that.

The rest of the week we had people above us and you could hear every step they made and every time they moved a chair or dropped anything on the floor. And the sound travelled through the concrete so that in the bedroom you could hear them in the living room or kitchen above.

The bathroom layout was very odd. It was huge (larger than some bedrooms), but not much in it. Double sinks a toilet and a very small shower, and LOTS of empty floor space. The tub, a Jacuzzi, was in the bedroom. Fine for 2 of us, but would be awkward with more people if they wanted more than a shower (and there would have been plenty of room for another tub in the bathroom).

I tried to turn down the sales presentation, but after over 10 minutes of saying no to the guy at the desk it was obvious that if I wanted my parking pass I would have to attend the breakfast (including paying the $20 deposit). The sales person, in an effort to try get me to buy a unit, said they kept the good units for the actual owners and that people renting or exchanging got the crap (his words, not mine). If this is true (which it seemed to be in my case) that is great if you are an owner, not a good recommendation for anyone else.

The good parts of the unit were, first, location, location, location. It has quick access to I-4, Toll 417 & US 192 and it is literally across the road (freeway) from Disney. Second, the unit was large and most things worked even if they were old & noisy.

Far from the worst place I’ve stayed, but I won’t be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret that our resort didn’t meet your expectations and we appreciate your comments as they help us decide which areas of service need improvement. We work hard in providing an excellent vacation experience for guests and most of the time we’re successful. We hope that you’ll reconsider and stay with us again so that we may have an opportunity to prove why so many travelers prefer Vacation Village at Parkway as their Orlando vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When checking in, I was charged a $25 resort fee. While they claim that this includes a shuttle service, the extremely limited schedule was non-functional for any day at Disney. It was highly likely that we would miss one of these <5 runs each way per day and would get stuck paying for a long cab ride. Upon registering for a parking permit, I was told that they wanted to give us a complimentary breakfast. Before I knew it, they were collecting $20 cash deposit and told me it was a timeshare unit preview and survey that would only take 20 minutes. We went to the breakfast on the property to find out it was "across the street". We waited 20 minutes for our "guide" and then proceeded to spend another 20 minutes to drive an roundabout meandering path to the restaurant that was "across the street". We quickly ate while our guide chatted with us. At this point we were an hour in. I told her we were told it was only a 20 minute deal. She said it was a little longer and told us she was going to do a driving tour of the property, then a unit, then a pitch. I told her we were in a hurry. She took the direct route back to the hotel - about 2 minutes. We caught up to her in the parking lot and told her we were not interested in wasting any more time, so we forfeited our deposit and headed to the park.

The rooms are decent. Has all of the essentials and lots of room. There is a note stating that none of the dishes are sanitized, so we rewashed everything before use. Our bed had a big yellow stain on it, so the comforter spent the time on the floor. The sofa bed was thin and the mattress looked a little gross, so we used the blankets as additional sheets/padding and gave our daughter a blanket we packed. The mid-week cleaning was done well. The maid must have realized why we stripped the comforter because it stayed off of the bed. She arranged all our daughters stuffed animals nicely which thrilled my daughter. Our room was next to the pool support building which has a loud pump noise the entire time.

Overall, the proximity to the parks is great. Steer away from the breakfast and you should be fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with some of the services provided. Our daily theme park shuttle services depart from the resort starting at 7:10 am through 12:15 pm. Guests can return to the resort on one of our shuttles beginning at 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm. On days that Disney’s Magic Kingdom is open till 11:00 pm, our last shuttle service from the theme park will leave at 11:30 pm. We apologize for the experience that you had with Guest Services and have sent your comments to their management for their review. We hope that you will allow us a future opportunity to exceed all of your expectations and stay with us again the next time you vacation in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had points expiring, but only a few and wanted to visit Disney World. Based on reviews on Trip Advisor, we chose Vacation Village at Parkway. We were not disappointed! The check-in went smoothly and the folks were friendly. The building's public areas and our room were nice and clean (very important to us!). The decor was tropical (not everyone's cup of tea) but not over-the-top. The linens were in good shape and the bet was comfortable. As there were only two of us, they gave us a "B" unit. A & B Units share a doorway off the main hallway into a vestibule where you use your key to enter either A or B unit. This is likely so larger parties can stay "with" each other. The B unit's kitchen is complete except for a dishwasher, albeit somewhat small. The cabinets were the inexpensive DIY type and the furniture has seen better days, but was not ratty. The TV's (although 2005 vintage) were not flat screens nor HD and the cable selection was mediocre. However we were out of the unit most days anyhow, so that was only a mild inconvenience. We were on the 6th (of 7) floor, which we feel always helps cut down on noise. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back should the opportunity present itself. Oh yes ... it's very near WDW, US-192 and I-4 so getting around was EZ!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort. We are sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. We’re so happy that you enjoy your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.