We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is our 6th stay at this resort through an RCI exchange. We have stayed at various buildings and last year our unit was in building 16 - the newest in the resort. I had emailed the front desk to request this again, but unfortunately, as advised by RCI several weeks earlier, there was a problem with the block and as repairs were ongoing I didn't know if it would be ready for my arrival date - 29th June. At check in there was no mention of my request or the fact that I had ever been there before. A bit picky of me maybe, but, like the majority of people I work hard to pay for my vacation, and felt pretty disappointed when the front desk person just said the block was closed and that units in building 17 has not yet been released. I ended up in block 11 which was fine, but it was the total impersonal way it was handled that got me!
Anyway - why do so many people complain about the timeshare sales !! Don't people realise that you don't just get stuff for free! Say no thanks at guest services when you pick up your parking pass, and no thanks again when they call your room! It's as easy as that ! So, location wise this place is hard to beat. The pools are fine and the housekeeping is thorough. I see they are planning a couple of new blocks nearer the check in building. Would be nice if they could squeeze in a clubhouse or even a coffee shop or bar to give the guests a base.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We love hearing from our repeat guests and appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience. We are so sorry that we could not honor the room request upon your arrival and that our staff wasn’t attentive when you checked in. We pride ourselves on superior customer care and unfortunately you caught us on an off day. We are very thankful that you have continued to enjoy our location and service during your visits and we hope that we may have another opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    505
    193
    97
    77
See reviews for
788
250
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my third time at this resort in the last 10 years. Coming back this year after not being back since 2008 I remembered why we decided not to come back...the bed is uncomfortable, the pillows were very uncomfortable, my husband and I woke up every morning achy. There were a lot of spiderwebs along all of the lamps, the place seemed dusty. The floors are not soundproof, we kept on hearing the people upstairs moving the furniture, running, lots of items falling on the floor and this was at 1:00 a.m...very annoyed!! Granted I did stay in one of the old buildings but you would think they would still keep up with the cleaning and the maintenance of these units. I do not consider this a true resort because the activities they have are very far and few and not what we expected compared to other resorts we have stayed at. I was disppointed on how we were tricked on going to the so called V.I.P. Complimentary Lunch and a gift would be given to us and that all we had to do was a survey and it turned out a presentation on trying to get us to buy a time share which a took a total of 2 hours of our time....very frustrating with them starting with the highest price and then all of a sudden they had a price that would have been more appealing if they started with that. But we did tell them from the beginning we were not planning on spending any money on but kept on pushing. The lunch was delicious but it was frustrating to have to deal with the different sales strategies. We had Unit A and Unit B and it is spacious and nice but will not be back unless they update it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We regret that we did not meet all of your expectations because we strive to provide great vacation experiences for every guest that chooses to stay with us. We are successful most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we fell short of that goal. Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor and we hope that we may have a chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our "everything but Disney" tour of Orlando. We had a two bedroom unit that is better described as two whole units connected by a single entryway. It was great to be able to have the kids in their own place, yet still be connected. I was amazed by how much space we had!

I would definitely stay here again. The pool was nice and the location was very convenient to everything, more so than anything we've stayed in off of 192, which gets really congested when the parks let out.

The one thing I wished we'd have taken advantage of are the picnic grills located throughout the property.

Room Tip: If you have kids, go with the two bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are very happy to know that we could provide you with a great family vacation and that you were able to experience other areas than just the theme parks. Orlando is home to an endless array of attractions and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Disapointed. The pictures and RCI gold crown status promised more.

We requested, an got, a 2 bed apartment as knowing the 1 bed is put me up sofa bed in the sitting room along side to main bedroom. The standard of decor is good, however when we checked in we were told this was the newest building - but in arrival the carpets in the main hall are worn and the decor looking tired. Apartment has ceramic tiles throughout, full kitchen with washer dryer, dishwasher and large fridge freezer. Shower room / toilet has large shower and with sink and toilet. Bath not in the same room, but in the link 'bedroom passage way' to shower room from the bedroom. Room safe is chargeable at $10.

Do not look for quiet if you are in building 18 / 19 with apartments a / c - these look out on to the main I4 highway meaning sitting on the balcony or having the patio doors open near impossible due to the noise, all day and night.

Check in was painless However did not mention the building location, we were checked in for 2 weeks - so very poor.

DO NOT accept the welcome breakfast unless you want to endure a sales pitch. We were offered and accepted this, after clearly stating we were not interested in buying anything or attending a sales pitch, we were told it did not involve sales only a welcome to the resort and the area as RCI members. The sales team are nice and friendly to start but become rude and patronising when you say no - several times. We have attended presentations in the past, but this was the worst behaviour by far.

Another point to note - WIFI is not free, they wanted to charge us $50 per week per device per apartment - a whopping $300 for the 2 weeks stay for my pod / pad / phone - no chance. Managed to negotiate this down when checking in, but be aware.

To summarise - location to parks and highway good, you definitely need a car as public transport poor and taxi costs will run away with any cash. No onsite shop or central meeting point (tiki bar, main pool, etc) would not recommend resort for families there are better resorts on I-drive where they have a trolley bus operating for those wanting to go out without the car.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing the highlights of your Orlando trip with us. We are certainly disappointed to read that our property did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. It is our priority to provide all of our guests with exceptional service and accommodations and we apologize that we fell short of these expectations during your vacation. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Orlando to prove that we are a great choice for lodging in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Resort property is nice and well kept. Staff at check-in is nice. The rooms are not great. Whenever you see accommodations for 4 or 6 or whatever, keep in mind two sleep spaces are counted for a pull out bed (from couch). It is just one of the worst things I have ever seen. Ever. We had to call desk and get a second mattress and ended up using both (one on top of the other) to get somewhere close to comfortable. It was not good. Flooring is primarily ceramic tile; it just looks cheap to me. Walls are thin so if you have a loud neighbor, too bad. For timeshare traders, my opinion, this place is nowhere near a gold crown resort. For those who might be tempted to listen to the timeshare presentation, be prepared for what has got to be the rudest agents in the country. I've been to a number of presentations at many places, these people are flat out awful. If you do the so called "update", be prepared to say NO, and say it emphatically. You'll have to say it several times, to at least three different people. It really is incredible. Location of the resort is good, near Old Town, restaurants, and easy access to Interstate and Disney. Overall, I'd give it a B-minus at best. I was very underwhelmed given the resort rating and pictures. I expected so much more for a Gold Crown resort.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a full kitchen. Kitchen well equipped, will save you $$$ to eat-in during you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We were very disappointed to read that our resort did not meet all of your expectations. It is our goal at Vacation Village at Parkway Resort to offer great vacations at affordable prices for our guests. We appreciate your candid comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance and our property. We hope in the future you will choose to visit us again and allow us the opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just spent 3 nights at the Hilton Grand Vacations on International Drive in Orlando before staying a week at a renovated unit in Vacation Village at Parkway, Kissiimme, FL so we automatically compared the two places while staying here. The six of us stayed in a two bedroom lockout unit. There was plenty of space for all of us, but the finishings are not high end. At an RCI gold crown resorts you expect to find granite, upgrades cabinets etc., we did not find that here at Vacation Village. I have to say if you are on a budget and don't pay much for your stay then it could be a great value, but if you are paying the same prices as over in the Hilton resort as we did, then stay at a Hiltion or Marriott resort. The positives of the resort was that it is close to Disney World, the staff is friendly, and there are many activities on site. We took advantage of the activity center many times and my children enjoyed the center. The pools are great. I also really appreciated having a washer / dryer and dishwasher in my unit. I believe the dishwasher only comes with the full kitchen side, but there was a stackable unit on both sides of the lockout. We exchanged in RCI for our week. One piece of advise don't go to what they call the free meal / survey / model tour. It is really a timeshare presentation. We got sucked into 3 hours of our time when there was no time obligation. We got our "free" gift but it was not worth our precious time in the Disney area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are sorry that we were not able to meet all of your expectations but are thankful that you appreciated our location, amenities, and our friendly staff. We hope that you allow us another chance to prove that we are an excellent choice for a Disney vacation and stay with us again the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the resort for 7 nights at end of June 2012 , building 11 Level 7 where the master air conditioner unit located above our main bedroom and was running 24 hours and so loud we could not sleep in our bedroom. We contacted guess services and was told nothing can be done about it. We slept on the sofa in the lounge room WITH bedroom door closed but STILL CAN HEAR THE NOISE & the sofa is smell and old. Discovery USA is the shuttle service listed in the resort directory and it is a worse service we have ever use .The bus is old ,dirty and unsafe. We caught the bus (return trip) from Magic Kingdom one rainy night and water was dripped down from the roof of the bus. IT WAS A VERY UNPLEASANT STAY AND WILL NOT COMEBACK TO THE RESORT AGAIN .... RCI member...

Room Tip: Stay away from higher floor to avoid a/c unit noise.Do not Use Discovery USA service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate it when our guests share their experiences because it lets us know in what areas we need to improve our service. We are sorry that we failed to meet all of your expectations during your stay. We have forwarded your comments to the shuttle company so that they may address your concerns with their management as well. We regret that you have such a negative impression of our resort and hope that this experience does not deter you from visiting Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Free Parking, P...
Show More
4.3 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on International Drive
Family-friendly...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#146 of 328 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
7.8 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Free Parking, P...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#18 of 157 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.