We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday apartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barefoot Suites

Save Saved
You added The Barefoot Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Barefoot Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 Florida Plaza Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday apartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed there at our Disney World trip to Kissimmee.
Ordered thru Expedia since it had some good reviews 4/5. Nice hotel with full kitchen (fridge, disher, washer, drier, pans, plates and cutlery). Jacuzzi with big bathroom. TV in every room with some nice channels. A balcony that faced the pool.
Great for on the budget family. Lots of nice diners just 2 minutes drive to the 192 highway. No toll roads access to downtown Disney and theme parks. Just 8 minutes drive in average to the parks. Publixx, Wallgreens and Walmart, 5 minutes drive away. Gas station exiting to 192.
The hotel supplies detergents for the towels and clothes. Also for the dish washer.
Free wifi :) Automatic gate with code to prevent unwanted guests.
In general thought, if you are coming with a automobile it is great to save a extra bucks on the Disney resorts. Keep in mind that parking in theme park is 14$ (March 2013) a day per car. But it gives you the freedom to travel whether you have the "hopper" tickets or skip the public transportation.
Most important if you rent a car be sure to fill it up in Kissimmee couse the stations near airfield is charge twice for a gallon.

Room Tip: There is a small rides attraction park that goes loud into the night during the holidays near the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    62
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
131
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We headed out to Florida slightly worried about the resort since the cost was so low. But we shouldn't have, its fantastic. We stayed in the main block, on the ground floor. It was wonderful, since the kids could run to and from the pool, whilst we relaxed either in the pool area or in the apartment. We walked in to Old Town a few times, which was brilliant, with an excellent mini fair area for rides and fun. We shopped at the local Publix, which I'm guessing is comparable to a waitrose, or Sainbsurys. We ate in a few times, with the lovely food, we bought, but obviously had a few meals out. WiFi was great too, took laptop and watched Netflix whilst out there since the US tellly was full of adverts. Overall we'd definitely come back here, since it was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were ideal since they led on to pool area. Good for kids, since they can pop back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Online it looks like a 10- but... the first room we had was on the 6th floor. The baby next door was crying loudy and it was as if there was no door or walls seperating us. We could hear the adults talking along with the TV. We called to be relocated and they did placed us in a handicapped room (that part was ok) on the 1st floor. The security guard was very nice and helpful. She brought us to our new room and was personable. She made us not feel bad for needing to move. The second room was much better in terms of noise. The front of the "condos" face Old Town, an amusement park that has loud music, but it wasn't too bad because we were on the very end. The 1st foor room had a funny smell and come to find out it is the garbage disposal. We told the front desk TWICE it was not working and they NEVER fixed it. We ended us buying incense and plugging it to deal with the smell. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to be able to cook. The pans were ridiculous - EVERYTHING stuck to them (don't forget your Pam if you are staying here). There was a washer and drying which is a bonus. The dryer took about 2 hours to dry a small load, but it worked. The tile was dirty in this room also. I washed the floor because our socks were turning black. There was a fairly good sized stain on the carpeting. They need to STEAM CLEAN both the tile AND the carpet on a REGULAR basis! The pool was really nice along with the hotub. They have a pretty cool childrens splash park. The woman at the front desk was aloof and didn't really seem like she cared about our disposal concerns. I did ask for coffee and it seemed like that was a pretty big deal to her.. WORK ON YOUR PERSONALITY! Without customers, you won't have to worry about feeling crabby at work!
I won't say it was horrible - not at all! BUT if they want to have GREAT reviews they need to work out their customer services issues and do some preventative maintenance and deep cleaning. There are soooo many choices of lodging in Kissimmee to get and KEEP business, you are going to have to be Better than the Rest!

Room Tip: The higher you are on the floors the worse the noise across the street. Ask for a room with no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 BR suite and it was huge! Location is in the heart of old town, but the rooms are quiet. It is close to Disney, 20 mins to Universal, 40 mins to Legoland. The customer service is poor. There is no maid service. But the price is low ($90 per night on their website), so it is a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the resort and we loved it. It was ideal because it's so close to Disney, Universal Studios, a ton of restaurants and shopping places. The actual resort is so much nicer than the pictures you see on their website so we were surprised when we got there. We loved the full kitchen, spacious bathroom, built in washer and dryer, and that the living room could serve as another bedding area.

When we had guests the employees were very helpful with providing extra towels, pillows, and blankets.

We all loved the big hot tub and the staff was so nice they allowed us to stay a little over the closing time for the pool area!

The only thing I would suggest for this resort is that they have a shuttle service to Disney and Universal studios, even if they charged it would be a lot easier for traveling!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked online directly through the hotels website for 4 nights because I had read some bad reviews and we had the option of staying with friends so I didn't want to commit for the whole stay up front. The location is great, close to the parks and right off 192 so no problem finding a place to eat. We rented a one bedroom/one bath room and it was on the third floor of the complex which faces right towards Old Town. The room was spacious, the kitchen had everything we needed and as a whole the room was clean enough to be comfortable. The pool and hot tub area is standard with a "pond" behind it, nice to see some local wildlife. Depending on how sensitive you are will determine if Old Town will bother you. There is no question as to what song they are playing and the music plays until at least 11pm, much louder on the weekends with the time usually going past 11pm. We don't mind background noise so I just left the bathroom fan on all night, it muffled the music enough so it wasn't a bother for us, we loved Old Town and the classic cars. There is free WiFi.

Our Con with this place was when we tried to extend the stay. The first time I asked at reception the computers were down so the girl at the desk gave us 2 extra days because she knew "off the top of her head" they weren't booked and we were told to come back and check later for all the days we needed. The next time the Manager wasn't in and the girl at reception didn't know how to make reservations, she gave us one more night and told us she'd check with the Manager and leave a message on the room phone that night if we could stay or had to check out. When we got back to the hotel there was no message so we woke up early the next morning to see if we had to check out, the girl at reception told us we could spend our last 2 nights there no problem but 2 hours later we got a phone call accusing us of staying past check out and asking us to leave. It was extremely frustrating when we were giving them more business. After discussing the situation we were offered to stay our last 2 nights, we opted to go.

It was definitely a half and half for us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our unit was small but clean and cheerfully decorated, and had everything that we needed for a relaxing week! The whole property looked clean and freshly painted, very fresh and bright and uplifting. The pool was clean and inviting, even with the alligator pond right next door (SO cool!). The neighborhood was a totally different story...very rundown and seedy looking! I was getting really nervous until we went through the gate at the Barefoot, but it was seriously like the whole place had been created somewhere else and then plopped down in the middle of a tourist trap neighborhood that stopped being maintained somewhere around 1987. Old Town across the street was delightfully tacky and a lot of fun! The one complaint that we had was that the noise from Old Town was very loud late into the night, but that's not the fault of the Barefoot Suites at all. The employees were helpful and cheerful, and we got cookies at check in and even got a midweek cleaning included, which usually doesn't happen at these condo-type places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barefoot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barefoot Suites

Address: 2750 Florida Plaza Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Barefoot Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Barefoot Suites, you will step into a tropical oasis in the middle of all the Central Florida attractions. Our gated suites resort emanates the charm of "Old Key West". Experience the turn-of-the century feel, yesterday's spacious rooms, and today's convenience. Airy one-bedroom suites with queen beds or 2 bedroom suites with a queen/King bed both are complete with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchens, each suite features a Full-sized sofa-sleeper for extra sleeping space. Enjoy the view of our private lake immerse yourself in our heated pools or hot tub. Adjacent are great dining options and activities for the entire family at Old Town Entertainment Complex. The Maingate entrance to Disney is just 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Barefoot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot`n In The Keys Hotel Kissimmee
Barefoot Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barefoot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.