We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit... and we lost the love!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Barefoot Suites

Save Saved
You added The Barefoot Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Barefoot Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 Florida Plaza Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Baden, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“3rd visit... and we lost the love!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Last yr I wrote "2nd visit and we still love it". This year we were sadly disappointed. We paid double this year & our stay was a real let down. The high rise building was sold & is being turned into condos. Clearly upkeep is not high on their priority list. The carpets were filthy & had huge stains from the kitchen through the dining/living room to the bedroom. When we opened up the master bed we found that the sheets had not been changed & were so disgusted by the soiling! We had to launder the sheets because there was was no one to call as office staff left @ 8 pm. The floor under the bed could NOT have been vacuumed in months because there was dirt & soiled pieces of paper on top of one another. During the day 1 person is in office for the condos (now Barefoot Suites) while other staff work for Island One group (villas). Wifi had 4 bars & we could connect but couldn't get onto the web. We called Help Desk and they got us up & running once but the next day it was down again & they were never able to fix it. We were surprised that during our other 2 visits the building was full & busy & this year the parking lot was about 20 percent full at the best of time - even over the Christmas busy days. We hardly saw anyone. The security gate coming into the complex was NEVER locked & always open! It made us feel incredibly uneasy given the neighborhood & that our room door was open to the outside. They no longer give parking certificates so anyone can just drive in and park. A week to the day we arrived our door cards didn't work so we had to track down the security guard late at night & get new ones. He asked our checked out date (10 days in future) so I clearly asked to ensure we don't have a repeat of this next week. Sure enough, next week during pouring rain we had to walk over & find the guard so we could get our cards updated. Outside of the building is showing neglect... dirty walkways, walls, elevators, etc. We heard people thumping above, a baby crying and a dog constantly barking - all late at night and early in the morning. Dogs aren't allowed but someone snuck it in. We saw them walking the dog & then enter an apt so know they definitely stayed overnight with it. People above did their laundry at midnight and since the washer/dryer were in the master bedroom the noise came down through & into our room. We never experienced any noise on our 2 previous visits. If they are expecting to sell as timeshare they sure have a lot of cleaning up to do to impress anyone. The couches/bed mattress (sagged in the middle) need upgrading & they need someone to pay attention to the dirt. It's sure easy enough to spot! Given the lack of secuity/wifi/cleanliness & excessive noise for double the price - we won't return again.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the rooms for cleanliness BEFORE the day staff go home (8 pm). Definitely check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    63
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
132
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We walked out of the Greater Palms Hotel down the street because it was so disgusting and found this place by luck at the last minute on New Years Eve. What a wonderful place. I just wish we could of stayed another night to enjoy the amenities. It was clean, beds were comfortable excluding the sofa pull out but are any comfortable? Coffee pot did not work but that was a small issue. Bathroom was big, kitchen was nice and fully stocked. It's close to a lot of stores and restaurants. I would highly recommend this place. Just be sure to ask for two beds if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for two beds if needed. Do not try the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely pleased with my stay! Clean, spacious, beautifully-decorated rooms that are only a few minutes from Disney! I could not believe how nice the place was for the rate I received. The staff was very friendly, too! And they told me they are working on getting wifi up.

I will be staying here everytime I visit Orlando!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Huge, clean rooms at a third the price of Disney resorts. Great kitchen facilities. Nice decor. Only 10 mins from Disney. This was almost perfect. Unfortunately, not quite.

First up, check-in wasn't exactly service with a smile. The man behind the desk didn't utter a word, and the girl was as brief with the pleasantries as she could have been. When querying the state of our room over the intercom, the cleaner used the word 'dirty' - not exactly an inspiring start! Fortunately we were assigned to another room.

Secondly - No Wi-Fi in the room. Like, at all. Not even an option. Want Internet? Sit in the lobby and pay $8/day. This SUCKS and is a huge deal breaker in 2012, when we rely on Internet for everything. No thanks. I wound up in Starbucks 1 min down the road and spent that same $8 on coffee and cake, with free Internet to boot. If I'd have realized there was no net, I wouldn't have booked.

Finally, the penny pinching attitude of management was a real turn off. Want a late check out? The fee is $50 per HALF HOUR (nearly as much as per night!). Fail to return that little 10 cent piece of plastic key that other hotels let you keep as a souvenir? No problem - just pay the $25 replacement fee. Of course, you get 2 keys upon check-in, so enjoy your $50 gift! Smuggled your cat in the room? $200 fine.

All this and more could be found in the 'guest directory' which read more like a rule book of reasons to sting you at every opportunity vs. a handy start to your vacation.

Anyway, for $75/night (we thankfully avoided such heinous crimes such as misplacing our room keys), the suite was very clean, spacious and very well located. The lack of Internet means I probably won't revisit given how integral it is to our vacation planning and staying in touch, but it was a nice enough stay all the same.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pros: This is like staying in a condo without the extravagant resort fees. Freshly baked cookies in the evenings. Staff are all EXCELLENT. Nice quiet woodsy area to view from your private screened-in balcony. Pool area is very nice and has BBQ grills. Big bedrooms and bathrooms, nice full kitchen.
Cons: (And this can be a big con) It is located right across from Old Town. On the weekends especially, it is extremely loud there and you can hear the screams, the noises of the car show, and the people inside your room with all the tv's on! Even when we stayed in the most quiet area of the resort (not the 6th floor), it was still very loud until about 1 am! Also, there are lots of people walking all around outside because Old Town is literally right across the 2-lane street. There is a guard gate and a fence, however, to keep all the visitors to Old Town out of the resort's parking lots!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdhmason
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located RIGHT next to old town, the only thing that you should know Is that the party in old town goes till eleven, but after a day at the parks, it's a non issue. Staff was great, and I go to Orlando A LOT, and have stayed across a wide spectrum of resorts. As far as value for the money, when my wife said " we found our new spot" I knew I would be impressed. Room had a full kitchen, living room, huge bathroom, bedroom, screened in patio, and was SPOTLESS! Was easily 800 square feet. This is the kind of place you stay for a week as a family of four and "function." Pools, playground, even deer grazing out back at night:) I will happily return. Skip the"value" and timeshare "resorts" this place is the real value for the money. Room like this would easily cost double in another town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Grounds were spotless. Room was spacious & cozy. Playground was fun for my son. Old Town is right across the street. Fantastic place to stay. I would recommend it to all. Everyone was extremely friendly & helpful. The pool area was very nice but it was a little too cool for swimming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barefoot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barefoot Suites

Address: 2750 Florida Plaza Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Barefoot Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Barefoot Suites, you will step into a tropical oasis in the middle of all the Central Florida attractions. Our gated suites resort emanates the charm of "Old Key West". Experience the turn-of-the century feel, yesterday's spacious rooms, and today's convenience. Airy one-bedroom suites with king or queen beds are complete with living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Each suite features a queen-sized sofa-sleeper for extra sleeping space. Enjoy the view of our private lake immerse yourself in our heated pools or hot tub. Adjacent are great dining options and activities for the entire family at Old Town Entertainment Complex. The Maingate entrance to Disney is just 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Barefoot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot`n In The Keys Hotel Kissimmee
Barefoot Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barefoot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.