We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nemo suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Art of Animation Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1850 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nemo suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our family of 6 just returned from 4 nights at Disney's Art of Animation. We booked one of the Nemo suites/building 5, ground floor, room 5517. This was an excellent location, right beside the pool, a short walk to transportation and food court.. The majority of the rooms here are suites, the only standard 4 person rooms are in The Little Mermaid block, the farthest walk from main building.

The rooms are not large but the ample storage makes up for the size. Each suite has 2 full bathrooms one with shower, one with tub and two flat screen TV's. There's a coffee maker - something you do not get in the value resorts, a refrigerator, microwave, paper plates, cups, plastic cutlery and a digital safe. The bathrooms have soap, shampoo/conditioner combo and a blow dryer.

There is sleeping for 6 comfortably with a queen/full size in each - the bedroom, the living room (pull-out sofa) and dining area (Murphy bed). All beds were quite comfortable.

Housekeeping was amazing. If we asked for a blanket, we got 3. Requested extra coffee - we got half a dozen. We did leave a tip daily - with 4 adults and 2 children loaded with toys, the room was pretty messy.

The Landscapes of Flavors food court was great for all our picky eaters. It offered something for everyone and the menu in certain areas changed daily. Most selections are cooked fresh, so you may wait a few minutes for your food. There's an Italian station with build you own pasta, meatball subs and grab and go pizzas along with build your own burgers, salads and a stir fry area. There is also an area with desserts and ice cream. Over the course of the 4 days, we were able to sample all meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never had a problem getting a table - the food was good.

While the bus service was great, most often there was SRO. On the morning we headed to the MK 3 buses pulled in consecutively and radioed for a 4th when the driver saw line was still quite long. We never waited more then 5-10 minutes for a bus at any time during our stay.

The pool is big, clean and gated/locked - you use your magic band for entry. It's staffed with several lifeguards and they offer life vests in several sizes. There are racks of towels by the exit doors of your building. There is also a small water park, a bar poolside, laundry room, game room and gift shop.

The staff from check-in to check-out (front desk, bus drivers, housekeeping, etc.) could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: Room had perfect view of the 9:45 nightly Frozen fireworks at Hollywood Studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    1,014
    263
    66
    45
See reviews for
2,195
162
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My kids loved this hotel! The layout was much better than CBR we also stayed at. No matter what building you are in, you are only a short walk to the bus stop and cafe. We stayed in an Ariel room which was cute but very small. If you have more than three people I would book a suite. I wish they had Ariel suites as we love the little mermaid. The room felt a little cheap / low quality which would be my only complaint.



The grounds are so cool, and we spent a few hours walking around while our son screamed and ran at every statue of characters he saw. The nemo swimming pool is also really fun. The restaurant is large with plenty of seating and a nice variety everyday. Even when it was crowded everything moved very quickly. Check in was quick smooth and friendly.

If I was going to stay at a Disney resort again and had kids under the age of 10, I would stay here. This was much better than the moderate resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our family booked two Cars suites for a week. We had three adults in one suite and two adults and two kids in the other. The suites were very comfortable and clean and the decor was very cute. The Queen bed in the bedroom was very comfortable - it was covered with with two sheets with a blanket in between. No more comforters which is OK with me. The sheets were nice. The bathroom in the bedroom was pretty spacious and had a large walk in shower. There was lots of counter space and three hooks on the wall. The towels were on the small side but were OK quality. They expect you to use room towels as beach towels but we shipped down some beach towels in advance. They don't provide a ton in the way of complimentary toiletries - just body and face soaps and some combination shampoo/conditioner. There is a wall mounted hair dryer but I always bring my own as I use a concentrator attachment. The air conditioning worked very well. You could turn it down to 65 but I think that was as low as it would go. My mom thought it was too cold! My mom used the fold-out couch and set it was pretty comfortable. It was a little heavy to pull out but not too bad. There wasn't a great place to store the cushions and coffee table but it was fine. The kitchenette has a mini-fridge, microwave, sink and a coffee maker that uses pods to make individual cups. They provide you with disposable cups, plates, bowls and cutlery. We shipped down our camp stuff in advance so we wouldn't have to use the paper goods all week. The fridge is not the small size but more of a mid-sized dorm fridge. It held quite of bit of food and drink that we had delivered by Garden Grocer. My mom's bathroom was divided into two spaces - the sink area and then the toilet and tub/shower in a separate room. She liked having the tub. We never used the murphy bed but we really liked having the table as a big desk area. There is a TV and big windows in both rooms.

Our rooms - 1738 and 1740 - had a view over the parking lot and landscaping. However, we could see the Frozen Fireworks show at Hollywood Studios every night at 9:45 right from our rooms! So cool! We were at the end of the hall farthest from the elevator so it was really quiet which was nice. We were in Building 1 - Mater! It was just a minute or two to walk to the main lobby and bus stops or the Big Blue Pool.

Mousekeeping did a really good job. Once they knew our schedule (out early, back midday for a break) they cleaned our rooms in the morning and they were done when we got back for lunch break. Perfect! They also left several nice towel creations for us and set up little scenes using the kids' stuffed animals.

The hotel itself is over the top with the character theming. The kids loved it. The landscaping is very well done and it's very clean. However, I wish there were some trees! There is a distinct lack of shade and it feels a little barren. The Big Blue Pool is really big and they have organized games for kids and families in the afternoon. It has a zero entry side and doesn't get very deep. Probably not even five feet at the deepest. It gets crowded and noisy but what can you do? It's full of families on vacation! There is also a wet play area and a small dry play area for little kids. The pool bar has a good selection of beer and wine and some yummy $10 cocktails. They also have a little food at the bar like pre-made sushi and sandwiches. We also went to the smaller Cozy Cone pool in the Cars section. This pool has stairs or ladder to get in. The Cone cabanas were really cute. There are very attentive life guards on duty at all pools. There are also bathrooms with showers and laundry rooms at the pools. They have life vests available for kids to use at the pools.

The food court is big and got crowded and loud at times. They have several stations with different offerings (pasta and pizza, international foods, salads, burgers, etc.) and the food we had was well prepared and tasty. They are doing some tile repair work in Animation Hall - the main building. It looks like it was improperly installed and they are replacing it section by section. The staff we encountered were very friendly for the most part - particularly the bell services staff.

Bus service to and from the parks was very good for the most part. We had one morning when we waited a very long time for a bus - over 40 minutes! Clearly something had gotten screwed up that morning. Otherwise, all waits were within 20 minutes.

Overall, I'd say this is a great "value" option at Disney that is very family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I just spent a week at Disney's Art of Animation Resort and loved it. We had a one bedroom suite for 4 adults with a one and a three year children. Everything there was spectacularly clean. The pools, grounds, rooms halls and stairways included. It's one of Disney's 'value' resorts so we could afford the suite but it's 5 star in my view.
We stayed in the Cars wing in the Tow Mater building where the rooms were patterned to look like a garage. Diamond plate drawer fronts and similar effects throughout made it very much garage like but also a bit plain. If I stay there again, I'll choose another theme.
A large crystal clear pool with gradual entry never gets over 4 foot deep adjacent to an equally large children's fountain area with no depth was great. All were Nemo themed. There was also a Cars themed children's pool but we didn't get to it. Food in the hotel restaurant was good and staff was very friendly. Room had an apartment refrigerator along with Microwave and two full bathrooms. King size bed in the bedroom. Comfortable fold out queen sofa and double murphy bed. Great for families.
Overall, Art of Animation is very much like Pop Century (a short walk away) and the other 'value' resorts. Just differently themed. Regardless, it's a great place to stay on a budget. I couldn't think of a single complaint.

Room Tip: I was in building 1 and had a room facing the fireworks. Absolutely perfect view. If you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 days of our holiday. We started of in a cheap Rosen inn and finished with Disney!
This hotel didn't disappoint at all! It was amazing! We were in the little mermaid part. The room was lovely and well themed.

Everything was clean and on a large scale! My son couldn't believe that there was music underwater in the Nemo pool!!

I would love to return!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the Art of Animation and loved it! When we stayed our daughter was 5 and our son was 1. We had a Lion King suite, my wife and I had our own bedroom and full bath and the kids stayed in the living room/tv room area which was VERY nice! The couch fold out into a bed and also the dining room table folded out into a bed as well which is where our daughter slept. The service here was great, everyday they would do towel origami and place our daughters stuffed animals in different positions throughout the room.

We loved the Lion King suite and everything about Art of Animation Resort. There are three different pools you can use at anytime. The cafeteria had great food and the gift show was nice as well. There is also a nice arcade with a lot of different games to choose from.

There is a bus station at the resort that will take you anywhere you want to go on Disney property: Magic Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom/Typhoon Lagoon, Epcot & Downtown Disney. The longest we had to wait for a bus was maybe 15 minutes and you can bring your strollers on the bus as well. It was very nice to just ride the busses and not have to worry about parking and putting gas in a rental car at the end of the week. Plus the busses take you right to the park entrances so there isn't a long walk or a need to ride the shuttle bus from the parking lot to the front gates.

If you have kids who are fans of the Disney movies this is a great place to stay that will not break your budget!

Room Tip: There are four different themed rooms to choose from at Art of Animation: Little Mermaid, Lion King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am a big fan of the Little Mermaid so, I have been wanting to stay at this resort since they built it a couple of years ago. It was everything that I thought it would be and more. The room itself, was simply adorable, and the attention to details is incredible. There are 3 different pools to enjoy along with an area for the kids. A couple of nights a week they show movies on a big screen by the pool located behind the main building. The resort is located on the lake, and we really enjoyed a stroll by the lake every so often. The staff could not have been more friendly, and they went out of their way to make it magical for my kids and I. I loved the convenience of an onsite restaurant, and it was open until midnight which made it perfect for picking up a late night snack when coming back from the parks. Although, I will say that it is kind of annoying that you have to wait in like three different lines if every member of your family wants something different. If you plan to eat in the restaurant, take advantage of the cup that you can buy to get free refills throughout your entire stay. The cup is like $18, but it is totally worth it. Also, the kids meals are a great option because they give you plenty of food, and it is a little cheaper. I am a pretty big girl, but I ate a kids meal almost every meal we ate there. There is also an onsite gift shop with a very large selection, and if you buy something in the parks you can have it sent to the hotel gift shop so you don't have to carry it around all day. My only complaint, is that the Little Mermaid section is very far away from where the buses drop off. When you come back with two tired kids from a long day at the parks, that walk is killer. We were there for a total of 11 days and 10 nights, and with the exception of the distance to the room, everything was magical. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: To keep from walking what feels like miles to your room, pick a room in the Cars or Nemo section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Address: 1850 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 1,120 suites designed after Finding Nemo, Cars and The Lion King, and 864 rooms inspired by The Little Mermaid, you'll feel like you're staying in the middle of a Disney story with all of your favorite characters. Family suites are opened in May 2012 and standard rooms are scheduled to open September 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Art of Animation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.