We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay to stay on-site, not for the room or the resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Art of Animation Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You pay to stay on-site, not for the room or the resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited the hotel for the first time in Nov. 2012 with my girlfriend. Hotel is new and nicely deocorated, and as always, the staff were great! However, this is nothing more than a holiday inn on Disney grounds. You pay a premium to stay on Disney property but it does have it's perks. Free bus, parking, and extra magic hours were a nice benefit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby. Some of these rooms can be quite a hike to the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    1,300
    355
    91
    56
See reviews for
2,809
214
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel frequently for work and I've developed rather high standards for hotels over the years. Overall, I was very pleased with Disney's Art of Animation. As a property designed for kids, spot on. 5 Stars all the way. The layout of the property, integration of movie themes, and the like are all spot on and sure to leave lasting memories for the kids.

A couple things to keep in mind:
Though this is a fairly new property, it still is a "value resort" -- which means the accommodations are on the lower end of the spectrum of expectations. (Think "Hampton Inn" as compared to "Hilton".) As far as hotels go, the bed and linens aren't the most comfortable in the world.

Also note that from the main building (Animation Hall) to your room could be a bit of a hike. We stayed in the Finding Nemo Suites which were a convenient couple-minute walk. Lion King or Little Mermaid could take you some time to get to the main hall (location of food court and transportation to the parks).

Pools are great. Food court is good - yet hectic at peak meal times.

I'd likely consider staying here again in the future. Yet with the multitude of great parks that Disney has to offer, I also might try something new to see what it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The resort really does have the wow factor for little kids. We stayed 9 nights in a cars suite and requested it to be near the animation hall which they were able to accommodate. Some of the small things that annoyed us were the slow speed of the elevator, the quality and options of the onsite food.

For a new building the elevators took far to long. The biggest disappointment was defiantly was the food. Perhaps it's Americanised but it was over priced, laced healthy options and very tasteless. The room service option by far was the best option. I wouldn't stay here Again and would suggest you think twice about staying In the little mermaid wing due to the huge distance between the room and the busses.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Second stay in the past year at this fun place...upon check-in, we were upgraded from our reserved standard room to a family suite in the Cars section. I don't think we can ever go back to the Little Mermaid Standard Rooms because the family suites are just so amazing. Plenty of space, comfortable beds, clean, no noise from the other guests, fridge large enough to hold a 1/2 gal of Milk ($3.19 purchased at the "Landscape" food court), so you can eat breakfast in your room at the table with seating for 4.

My children loved the pool and the activities including the "Big Blue Pool Party" held every afternoon. Disney cast members were friendly and helpful. This resort is very relaxed - but a little more upscale from the All-Stars.

Magical Express from airport very efficient. Never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus to the parks. Also noticed that at closing on a Friday night - there were 2 buses back to back at MK to take AOA guests back to the resort (ride took 18 mins).

Overall a very positive experience at this bright, happy, and well managed resort!

Already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just came back from our trip to Disney. It was the first time we did All the Way Disney including Hotel, transportation, meals plan, the princesses, everything!!!

We were fascinated with the hotel and service. Rooms are veru clean, spacious and more important they took under consideration the experience for the kids and family.

Room Tip: Little Mermaid area is a little bit far from the transportation and amenities but it wasn't an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and my 3 best friends. 6 of us total, and we all loved it! Wven though the system was down when we arrived, we were given a room key and a free day of park tickets! That's what I call Disney quality magic/service! We stayed in the Finding Nemo section and from the minute we walked in, the room was spotless! Really just excellently cleaned, I applaud our mousekeepers!

The kitchenette included a mini fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker which I used to make myself tea and it worked splendidly! The kitchenette included paper bowls, plates, plastic spoons, forks, knives, and a can opener as well as a cork screw for wine!

Both the sofa bed and the murphy bed were easy to assemble, and so comfortable! The only issue I had with sleeping was that we could hear EVERYONE on our first night in. Thin walls? We only had that issue once though, I guess coming back from the parks really does knock you out!

The landscape of flavors was excellent! The food is yummy, and it's not totally crowded! We only ate there once, during breakfast on our second day and all received our food within 5 minutes! We were seated in less than 7!

The buses didn't take very long to show! The longest we waited for a bus was around 10-15 minutes and the shortest was 5 minutes! My only concern is that every family is a big one! We often waited for a second bus because we didn't want to stand on the way home, and often times the families are so full that the bus is full in under a minute! The buses do come around quickly though so waiting was not really an issue for us.

I have to say the greatest perk of the hotel is that in the gift shop, there is a section dedicated to essentials you may have left at home! After our first day I discovered that my lips are the only part of my body that gets sunburnt, and lucky me that the gift shop had chapstick! Other things that that section included were sunblock, tooth brushes, tooth paste, even thread to sew some ripped clothing up! It was really quite useful!

All in all, I loved it here! Everyone in our party did! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a lake view from the fourth floor in the Finding Nemo section! Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Art of Animation during the first week of May. There were six of us - four adults and two kids, so we stayed in a suite in the Finding Nemo building. I had read in other reviews that Finding Nemo is the best location, and I found that to be true because of the proximity to the restaurant and buses. Our kids, 5 & 8, are past stroller age, and they do fine with the walking, but there is enough of that at the parks - they don't need it at the hotel, too.

The suite has a bedroom with a full/queen bed and attached bathroom with stand up shower. The living area has a fold out couch and a really cool pull-down table/bed. The comfort of these mattresses is far higher than at the all-star suites (Disney's other value resort with suites). There is a second full bathroom with tub attached to the living area. There is also a kitchenette, with supplied utensils and disposable cups & bowls that is very handy for when you want to bring food back to the room. Both the main living area and the bedroom have tvs.

The furnishings are very nice and art-deco like in style. Everything is heavily themed with the Nemo/sea theme. The kids loved the room, and we felt like it was an extension of the vacation and the fun.

The restaurant is a cafeteria-style setup, just like at other Disney value resorts, and the food is comparable, though I think somewhat better in terms of selection than what we had at our previous stays at other value and moderate resorts.

The pool is AMAZING. We spent the last day hanging out at the pool and had a blast. There are lots of lounge chairs (though very few tables, which can make eating a bit difficult), a poolside bar, a zero-depth entry, which means that non-swimmers can easily wade in just as far as they are comfortable. Also, they had tons of organized activities all day with prizes.

The arcade was also a hit for my kids. The games gave you lots of tickets, which you could exchange for what is essentially junk, but junk of a higher quality than your average Chuck E Cheese or something like that.

The other think that I really appreciated at this resort is that it is a short bus ride to all of the parks. Some of the other value and moderate resorts are much further away. This resort is a few minutes from DHS, a few more to Epcot, and a few more to Magic Kingdom & Animal Kingdom.

We will definitely go back to this resort. The only cautionary note is that the two beds in the main living area offer no privacy whatsoever. We had the kids sleep in the bedroom so that the adults could all stay up later and not have to worry about keeping the kids awake. That's fine, but once it's time to go to bed, it's like you are all bunking up in one big room.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Nemo building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Address: 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be surrounded in the artistry, enchantment and magic of Walt Disney and Disney•Pixar movies. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that invites you to explore the storybook landscapes seen in such classics as Finding Nemo, Cars, The Lion King and The Little Mermaid. From delightfully themed family suites to wondrously detailed courtyards, Disney's Art of Animation "draws" you and your family in to become a part of some of your animated favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Art of Animation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.