We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Art of Animation Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during spring break and we loved it. Besides the long walk to our room from the pick up area and food court, the room was nice. Only problems we had was house keeping walk in on us twice and tried to argue with us about our checkout time but not that big of deal. Next problem was which isn't Disney fault was some very snobby people. Some of them must not of realized they were at DISNEY WORLD! Not a 5 star hotel!!! This place is made for for kids. Get over your selves
Have fun :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,697
    1,087
    286
    69
    47
See reviews for
2,356
175
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Perfect hotel for families. Never a boring moment. The imagineers didn't forget one detail. The Little Mermaid room was a little tight for a family of 3. The decor was adorable and I loved the bathroom. The wait for the buses to the parks was never longer that 10 minutes and the drivers are so happy. We even sung Happy Birthday on the bus to another guest. The only issue I could address, was the choice of food in the food court. If you have little children, there were not any hot dogs, chicken nuggets or ice cream. We walked across the bridge to Pop Century a few times to eat.

Room Tip: The rooms by the Mermaid rooms were quiet and we even faced to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over Easter break. We stayed in the Little Mermaid building, which is the only non-suite building in the complex (Nemo, Cars and Lion King). The rooms were adorably themed, especially the shower! The hotel is centrally located to all of the Disney parks. The food court was spacious and was busy, but manageable. The only downside was after walking the parks all day, the Little Mermaid building was the furthest away. Housekeeping was great and the pool was very nice. I would definitely consider this again for another vacation. If you are fans of any of the movies, then you will love this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Upon arrival the lobby was great. There was an arcade and neat pool. The Little Mermaid rooms, however, were less than desirable, but hey it's DISNEY! Air will not go below 68, but it was cool outside, so it was manageable. The BIG issue was that Housekeeping came into our room and the room beside us and stole from us. We reported the theft to Management and Security. We were told it would be "investigated". Everyday, we were told this until we arrived back home. We did not hear from them for 1 week. A claims representative from Disney called to inform us that they could find no proof that theft occured eventhough they know housekeeping accessed both rooms. They said it was highly unlikely that housekeeping would have taken anything because she spoke to us when we found her in our room and that it was more likely that we just misplaced our items (including cash) !!!! I promised them I would spread the word NOT to visit their resort!! Absolutly do not feel like a "valued" customer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the Lion King building and the room is perfect for children. My husband's parents purchased a large room that included a bedroom with bath, a pull out bed that doubled as the backing for the dining room and a pull out sofa. The two bathrooms blew me away! Very roomy, granite tile, and Lion King them throughout. The only items in the room that did not fit into the theme were the kitchen appliances and the LG televisions. Very impressed. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our 8th visit to Disney and each time we have stayed at one of the Disney resorts. My kids loved this one and they range in ages from 9 to 16. The weather was chilly so we were limited in our use of the pool area but was very impressed with the area itself. This was the easiest check-in I have ever had-staff were extremely helpful. The buses were timely even with the excess of travelers there for spring break. Overall this is a great resort that I would highly recommend! We stayed in the finding Nemo suits - just fyi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The worst beds I have ever slept on! I travel for work so I've stayed in a lot of places. I didn't know this was a "budget" hotel, we paid $400.00+ a night for a Cars suite room. The towels were cheap, nasty and small (and I'm small). No pool towels. No room service. The rooms were very loud with super thin walls - you can hear someone sneeze. We stayed at the Grand Floridian last time, for less, but my little guy loves Lightening. The kids loved the outside decor and the pool and that's all that counts. The bed was so uncomfortable I slept on the pull out couch bed, it at least had some foam. Just a cafeteria that is chaos and only 3 choices for kids lunch - corn dog nuggets, pizza, or toasted cheese. Have a magical time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Address: 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 1,120 suites designed after Finding Nemo, Cars and The Lion King, and 864 rooms inspired by The Little Mermaid, you'll feel like you're staying in the middle of a Disney story with all of your favorite characters. Family suites are opened in May 2012 and standard rooms are scheduled to open September 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Art of Animation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.