We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!--somewhat responsive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!--somewhat responsive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I attended a conference here in late July and the hotel is one of the largest I've ever stayed in. It's a very large sprawling hotel with multiple restaurants and a great water park style pool for kids. My children thoroughly enjoyed the pool and slides and had a great time overall. The convention center is extremely convenient to get to as it's attached to the hotel and the walk back and forth was a bit long but nice due to the great scenery. The restaurants we ate in were somewhat reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The only issue we had involved one of the beds in our room. The first night we got there my daughter slept in the bed and complained of a urine smell in the bed. We told the housekeeping staff the next morning and they said she would change the bed. Well she did, she changed the linen but not the mattress. The next night I slept in that same bed and during the night the smell was pretty bad. When I woke up the next morning my clothes reaked as this bed was obviously saturated with dried urine. I called the front desk and they said they would have the mattress changed out. Well, when we returned from Sea World that night the linen had again been changed but the same urine smelling mattress remained. I went downstairs at this point to speak to a manager who assured me it would be changed. We waited a bit and no one had come yet to rectify the problem. I called again and they assured me they were on their way up with a brand new mattress. The mattress was replaced at about 11:30 that night. They were very apologetic and gracious but had the mattress been changed from our first complaint to the housekeeping staff our stay would have been 5 stars instead of 4. Overall I would go back as I know this situation was not totally their fault but I just wish they had been a bit more responsive to our initial and secondary complaint about the mattress. Overall, great hotel with a somewhat responsive staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the service you experienced from our housekeeping staff. At Gaylord Palms we pride ourselves on being a resort dedicated to flawless customer service, and it’s clear we did not provide this for you. Our leadership team uses guest feedback like yours to address areas of concern and take corrective measures in order to improve our guests’ experience. We're happy to hear that the rest of your stay went well and that overall you did enjoy the Resort! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    849
    345
    190
    112
See reviews for
800
404
61
1,067
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Family holiday (7) and this was the restful last week of our holiday. Very large place with superb pools for both adults and families. Atrium room was nice but for the time we were in the hotel bit of a waste of money.
Staff were very helpful in particular Ben from Corfu!
Please note check ahead to see if there are any conventions on, we had a Snap On weekender they held a party in the Atrium which was incredibly noisy why this couldn't have been held in the convention centre I'll never know. We complained and was given a reduction in our final bill.
We only had one meal as it was beyond our budget, pricey and generally good although mine was bland.
All on all a great experience!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Reosrt grounds as well as the pool and atrium view room. We apologize for the loud noise levels in our atriums, and we're glad that Ben was able to take great care of you! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at resort June 28-July 8 for convention. Only people ever in room were daughter and I and staff. Brand new shoes and jacket bought for this event stolen from room. Reported theft when discovered only to be sent a letter when we returned home that due to Florida law , the hotel is not responsible for theft. What was the purpose of even allowing me to report it? Keep your clothes in the car. Stay with Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We genuinely regret the experience you had in our resort. ~Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel has wrecked me for other hotels. I am sure I will not find a hotel that has the standards and customer care as this one. When I realized the room was not going to be adequate for my party...they couldn't do enough for me to get us into a larger room. The staff was impeccable and the place is downright gorgeous.....I want to live there. And...if you have ever read any of my other reviews I don't usually have a lot of nice things to say....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We know you have many options when booking your accommodations in Central Florida, which is why we sincerely appreciate you choosing Gaylord Palms. We’re thrilled our STARS (employees) were able to assist you with the room and make it right for you! We look forward to welcoming you back! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We recently stayed for a convention, and when we checked in were told there were no rooms available! I booked 8 months ahead of time, and also paid for 1 nights stay. Not happy at all. Manager couldn't do a thing about it. That's some service. On our way to the other hotel, a room became available and we had to pay for a taxi to take us back. The beauty of the hotel is definitely unsurpassed. The rest of our stay was wonderful. The pool was nice, but I found just walking around taking in the scenery to be the best! Beds were comfortable & the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Gaylord Palms. As a company, we pride ourselves on empowering all of our STARS (employees) to make it right for our guests -- and we’re thrilled they were able to do so for you! Thank you again for the kind words. We will be sure this comment gets passed along! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I decided to enjoy a long weekend at the Gaylord Palms with another couple, and we were generally impressed. The front desk staff was excellent, the grounds are well manicured, and there are lots of things to see and do on the property, We never left the property until we checked out. We especially liked the adults only pool, and the wait staff that would take orders for food and drinks while we relaxed around the pool. Be aware that they will close/evacuate the entire pool area if lightning is within 8 miles. Lots of food options on location, as well as a spa and several shops. All in all we had a great time.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a room facing into the atrium. They have balconies and there...
See more room tips
Green Features: They take steps to be "green" but it's up to you to reuse your towels.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the adult pool area, the front desk staff and our property amenities. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Gorgeous atrium--this was our second time here, this time we reserved the atrium view---small balcony but was nice to sit there and take in the view--lots to see:alligator pit and snake tanks, Mel Fisher treasures....--each section is a bit of Florida---Key West , Everglades, St Augustine "fort"---neat--shops , several restaurants---but very pricey! We had the Shrekfest breakfast, which my son enjoyed---ate at Sunset Sam's which is shaped like a sailboat--excellent big piece of grouper but no sides???just the mango salsa---kids ate free at the restaurants at least. There's also a small market to get breakfast items and coffees, and a self service yogurt shop--pool does get crowded, but the 4 slides are awesome---the Pool games guy was lame ---wasn't very enthusiastic, then did a lackluster conga line around the pool but the eager kids were having fun anyway--they have pool servers that take your order ,but it's faster just to go to the bar yourself--pricey drinks here as well--but heck you're on vacation so why not?!

Room Tip: get the atrium view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It sounds like you and your family definitely explored all over our Resort, including the pool, the slides and Sunset Sam's restaurant! Thank you again for the great review. We hope to see you again soon! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.