We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Resort - Fixable Plumbing Problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Luxury Resort - Fixable Plumbing Problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late January. The service remains excellent (This is our 10th visit). The valet was prompt, and the bellman was quite helpful with our bags. The entire process from arrival until we got to our room was about 10 minutes. The rooms have been recently remodeled, and our king room was very comfortable. The only problems we had were with the shower and a very noisy baby next door. The shower had a very-low-flow shower head, and it was impossible to properly set the temperature to a comfortable level. The water temp fluctuated wildly from too hot to too cold, even though I moved the control lever very slightly. Concerning the noisy baby, this is the first visit where we have heard anything from another room. However, this time our sleep was rudely interrupted in the middle of our final night's stay. To the hotel's credit, they did comp that day's resort fee for our inconvenience. While the overall stay was enjoyable, they do need to fix their plumbing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    849
    345
    190
    112
See reviews for
800
404
61
1,068
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

this hotel has always been a great place to stay but we were happy to hear marriott had bought it a year ago. rooms were clean and service always very good. there was only one hitch during the stay and that was trying to lift my husbands mobility scooter out of our truck. it was 11pm and I realize the valet services has limited service at that tume of the night. there were a couple but seem to be having good time talking to limo drivers and then disappeared. we finally lifted it down ourselves. when I saw someone finally I asked if she could help my daughter get around all the cars and received a flppant answer about not understanding how our daughter couldn't move the truck.all the other times during the day we had wonderful service with the valets always coming to us and offering help. the staff was always asking us if we were being treated well and we were.

Room Tip: we like to be away from front of hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: love the no smoking in all the marriott hotels/resorts
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was at the Gaylord Palms tonight for a meeting, and it didn't start out too well - not the hotel's fault I think. The room for the meeting was changed , lack of signs made it hard to find the room, and when I finally got there the room was overfull (standing room only), so I gave up and left. I went back to valet parking, where I had just left my car 20 minutes before - and met two young people who any organization would like to employ : John P from Houston TX, a valet parker, and Mariella B, the cashier at the valet stand. Mariella asked me how I was and I said "frustrated - I just spent $25 to valet park my car for less than a half hour for a meeting that I wound up being unable to attend". I'm sure she hears that kind of thing every day, but she must have mentioned it to John, because he told her that he had been the one to park my car and it had indeed only been a few minutes before. She and he came out and found me and offered to refund the parking fee, which certainly made me less unhappy with the situation. He then got the car promptly so I could be on my way.

It may seem like a small thing, but the fact that these young people would make an extra effort to do the right thing for the customer - and that their management has obviously empowered them to do so - is very gratifying. I had paid and wasn't raising a fuss about it (after all, the problems I was having weren't their fault), but they made the effort to make things right.

I actually tried to contact Marriott to give them some positive feedback, but I couldn't find a contact. So hopefully this comment will somehow get to management there.

Regarding the property - I didn't stay there, but the common areas were very nice and beautiful. Location is convenient. Everything was clean and well maintained.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordPalmsResort, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Cynthia, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Gaylord Palms. As a company, we pride ourselves on empowering all of our STARS (employees) to make it right for our guests -- and we’re thrilled they were able to do so for you! Thank you again for the praise. We will be sure this comment gets passed along!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Check in took least than 10min. Room was clean and spacious. Valet service was prompt and professional. Valets always asked if they could give us directions.
The hotel is very close to the enterance to Disney. Perfect location for getting around the Orlando area.

Room Tip: Emerald Bay rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our vacation was a mix of business and pleasure. My husband had a conference and we came along with the kids for a few days.
The hotel has a nice water park so I see how the hotel would work better for families in the summer.
However, we were extremely disappointed with the Disney Parks shuttle service, it's rare, inconvenient and you end up needing to take a taxi.
Most hotels in the area offer a MUCH better shuttle service. If your destination is Disney, it's not worth the stay. The Atrium is huge, the kids enjoyed seeing the Koi fish and the buffet was nice, it's just not a great pick for Disney.
Also, we found sharp beer bottle caps on the carpet so the room was clearly not cleaned properly, we complained about it and heard nothing from the hotel. There were a few other small annoying things like the water pressure not be good but it did not bother me as much as the other things I have described.

Room Tip: They charge you an extra $40 to face the atrium. It's nicer view but it's not a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights for a sales meeting. This place is huge, with many divisions. All staff was polite and professional. The room was very clean with all the modern amenities you need. The free internet was a little slow, but apart from that, you can't complain about this place. It is about 20 minutes from the Orlando airport, and easy to get to. My employer had arranged for transportation, room, and meals during my stay. Did not have time to use any facilities, but some of my co-workers told me the gym was average, and the pool was very nice. If you're bringing the kids to Disney, you might want to consider this place. Although staying at one of the Disney resorts might be more convenient, this place might be a little more affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

So if you've stayed at one the others will be similar. The best one is in Tn, the newest in Va, the most convenient is this one in Orlando because it's close to Disney yet offers that Gaylord quality rather than all the tourist driven hotels in the area. Great Choice!

Room Tip: Some rooms are small and the AC is motion senored so you have to be in the room for it to cool down
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.