We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just got back from a short stay at the Gaylord Palms Resort. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas, really gets you in the holiday spirit. The christmas tree in the atrium is huge with plenty of lights...Christmas shows...hot chocolate...it was just great. While we were there we went to the ICE show at the convention center there...my 7 year old son LOVED it....but dress warm...its a cool 9 degrees inside! (Coats are provided). The restaurants at the resort had great food and moderately priced. The room was clean and comfortable...with a balcony that had a view of the atrium. Gorgeous at the holidays...I recommend it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the atrium if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    833
    341
    184
    110
See reviews for
784
392
60
1,056
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am giving this place 4 stars. But only because we brought our two boys here for a Disney vacation and despite how AWESOME the kids pool was and how "soooo cooool" the alligators were and how GORGEOUS & LUSH the inside was..the hotel really needs one or two more kid friendly restaurants. You really are in the middle of nowhere, so unless you have a car, you have no choice but to rely on what is on site. The 'Villa Flora' restaurant was the best buffet I have ever tasted! But kind of expensive ($18 for a child) when you have a 6 year old who doesn't each much of anything. Breakfast wasn't any better. The only other place to get breakfast was the little coffee shop...but they didn't have basics like Cheerios (they had frosted flakes, fruit loops, but no Cheerios) and the line was ALWAYS out the door with convention groups. It seems the hotel is trying to become kid friendly, but just has to fine tune what it offers young families. If I was a corporation looking for a place to have a convention- hands down I would pick this place! And, really, I would bring my family back despite bleeding money at the restaurants simply because the place was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Rooms #8127 & #8131 are top notch! Fantastic views! Spacious, double sinks, nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gardens,florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my first time at this property. It was a very large resort with a beautiful atrium. We went to see ICE which was at this hotel so we figured staying here would be our best bet We got an atrium view upgrade as a Marriott Elite member which was lovely since we had the view of the large Christmas tree and beautiful lights. The hotel was clean, the restaurant Wreckers had great burgers. My main concern was that I was quite surprised that for a so called luxury resort, they would have such crappy, uncomfortable beds, the cheapest pillows I have ever seen in a hotel and a very old, ragged comforter. In addition, we did not appreciate the housekeeper just walking into our room at 9:00am the day that we were checking out without knocking. When she opened the door, she saw the 3 of us having coffee and rudely stated "you are checking out today, aren't you?" I said "yes, and check out is at 11:00am." She slammed the door shut. Well since I thought that was unprofessional, I went to the hallway to speak with her. I called her and she continued to walk without turning around. Finally I walked closer and she decided to respond. I asked her if there was a problem. She nastily stated no. I asked her her name. So when I went back into the room I reported housekeeper Kimberly for her rude, unprofessional behavior. Why do I bring this incident up in addition to the horrible sleeping issues…because one would not think that would occur in a resort of this magnitude.

Room Tip: Atrium room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you can stomach the almost $20 parking fee, there's a lot to see here (if you time it right), especially if it's raining, too hot or (heaven forbid!) too cold outside. They have two big lagoon areas, with fish and mature alligators. Twice a week, on Mondays at 1 pm and another day during the week (ask which day) at the same time they will feed the baby alligators, called grunts. (they are fed 3x a week in the summer). They have one person especially dedicated to caring for the gators, which all come from (and eventually go back to) Gatorland. The guide will explain as much as you care to hear about the life, care and feeding of baby gators, and you also get to hold them and get your photo taken with them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We came here today with a group of 30 seniors from our church in Lakeland to take in the spectacle called 'ICE' that was being displayed in the convention center Ice artists are brought in from as far away as northern China to carve tons of ice into wonderous works of art. It was very cold in the exhibit area but heavy parkas are provided to everyone. Very colorful. Then we walked over to the hotel part of the resort to view the tens of thousands of Christmas lights and dozens of huge decorated trees filling the enormous central glass domed section. What a full day. A wonderful day. We did not stay in the hotel so cannot rate that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very large Resort Hotel. Beautiful landscaping, clean resort, lots to do and see. Rooms overlooking atrium are lovely. Very comfortable king size bed. Food at Sam's very good, service a little slow, but may have been the time of day. Definitely would go again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had been at Gaylord Palms for large corporate meetings in the past, but this was my first trip with the family. Check-in with Puss n Boots posters and key chains for the kids were a nice touch. The woman working the front desk asked what we planned to do, then found us a room in the most convenient spot. Overall customer service throughout the property was very good.

The new children's pool area they added in 2012 is fabulous. The water slides were fun for kids as well as mom and dad. The first night we were there, the pool area was quite crowded but we learned that an employee event was taking place. The next two days were not nearly as crowded. There was a zero entry pool with a stage at the far end - the first night the characters from Madagascar were putting on a show. My kids were perfectly happy spending the entire day playing at the pool area - it was clean and well-staffed, so that was an easy request to accommodate. We did break-away on Monday to attend the fish feeding in the lagoon and the alligator hatchling viewing. The man who does the information session is very good and patient answering questions. The kids liked walking around looking at the various areas on the property and their fall decorations were very well done! Lots of picture spots.

We had a car, so we ate off-site. Lots of options nearby. We did visit the coffee shop and ice cream parlor. Yes, they charge for parking and the restaurant prices are on the higher-end but that is the norm for a convention property. Business travelers expense those charges, so it is an easy way to increase hotel revenues. They do have some nice promotions if you are combining a stay with a trip to Disney, so that may be worth pricing out.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing into the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.