We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, amenities but walls a little thin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Country Christmas
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, amenities but walls a little thin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Gaylord is a massive and gorgeous property located a short drive from Disney. I was there for a trade show and got to experience their ample convention space as well as their amenities. Dining choices were excellent from coffee at Java Coast to great steak and seafood at Old Hickory Steakhouse. Make sure to ask for Guy at the Old Hickory Bar.

The different theme areas were simply amazing. While I didn't have time to enjoy the pool, it was vast and had separate areas for kids and adults. Service was excellent throughout and my room was very comfortable. The only negative would be the thinness of the walls. I could hear my neighbor as if she was in my room. And once her kid arrived, I got a nice, unexpected 7 a.m. "I'm hungry" wakeup call from next door.

That said, the only time you're really in the room at the Gaylord is to sleep. There is so much to do in the property alone to take up a weekend trip. I plan on going back with the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    800
    331
    178
    106
See reviews for
761
375
59
1,021
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is magnificent! Great buffet at the back on the ship restaurant (I cannot remember the name of the restaurant). The hotel personnel are a hit and miss...some are very nice and others are not. I stayed during Christmas 2012 and had a great time. Watch out for the parking fee...it is not cheap. Extremely close to Disney!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We extended our Florida stay by adding 3 nights at Gaylord Palms where we had stayed a few years ago. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We had no idea that we would experience such a wonderful stay. Our every need was taken care of beyond our wildest dreams. Brian Cooper and his staff at the steakhouse made our celebratory dinner a magical evening including the chef coming to our table with an amuse bouche that was extraordinary. The dinner that followed was superb! Gorgeous dessert selection followed with a return visit from the chef. Sharon was our server and was spectacular. We went to the steakhouse the night before for a small meal just to see what it was like. Equally as wonderful. We went the night after our anniversary dinner for a nightcap and stayed until midnight thanks to Guy, Brian and Beth. WOW!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a beautiful resort. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous! It is quite family oriented and kid friendly. The restaurants are pricey, but the food is delicious. The customer service leaves a lot to be desired considering what you are paying for the room.We had to switch our room because it wasn't the room we had confirmed. It took 1 1/2 hours to receive our luggage with numerous phone calls. The next day our room was not cleaned till after 4PM again with numerous phone calls. The halls were littered with dirty glasses and beer bottles. We were there with young children and didn't appreciate looking at this everytime we got off the elevator. Our stay was 4 days, and they remained there throughout our stay. The shower head was not working properly, I was tired of complaining so I didn't. All in all, I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 1st week of May 13 with family. Chose this hotel as it was part of the convention that I was attending. The hotel has enough activities for children while you are away attending the conference.
Though we missed some of the key activities like Gator Feedings - Kids were too jet lagged and slept thru the entire evening on the scheduled day.
The water activities are quite good. Kids had a blast.
Though I would recommend not to take the 1st floor - particularly in Key West Wing. Every evening there was some or the other convention parties - people are having a very noisy party till way past mid night. The rooms are not sound proof to keep the laughter and loud conversations out.

Room Tip: Do not choose the 1st floor rooms in Key West Wing overseeing the Sunset Sam's restaurant. Most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while my husband worked and it was great. I didn't need to leave the hotel to keep my preschoolers entertained. The splash pools, the character events, and just strolling the interior of the resort was fully entertaining. I ordered room service (pricey) but the food was there in five minutes. All of the staff from valet to room service was great. My only complaints were that it took forever to track down a server at the pool to get dinner and drinks and one of the parking attendants seemed to always be grumpy and texting while working. Overall, a great experience for our family!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The facility is wonderful, and you pay for the building. Food is expensive. We stayed here for a conference in May. I would not choose to stay here on my own personal expense. The conference are is wonderful and accommodating. Location is nice

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.