We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is truly magnificent in the public areas. There is a lot to see and do in the atrium area of this hotel, looking at the plantings alone is enjoyable. Extremely well landscaped. There are several choices for restaurants: a buffet, a steak house, seafood restaurant, coffee house, etc. This hotel is situated by itself off I-95. If you have forgotten something, you can't just run out to the local Walgreens or CVS. My husband forgot his tylenol and i had to buy some at their shop...small bottle, $9. Yikes!

The rooms are decent, but nothing extraordinary. We were on the 2nd floor with an atrium view so this was a plus. However, we prepaid the room fee ($231). Had drinks & dinner on the property (3 people) at the less expensive Sunset Sam's, the seafood restaurant. Food was good & service was pleasant.

Got the bill the next morning & we still owed $260. There is a $20 resort fee (includes free wifi, shuttle to the Disney parks, 2 bottles of water/day, & access to the fitness center, etc). There is also a $24 + tax valet fee, a variety of other taxes totaled $35.18.

We were there meeting a relative who was staying there for a conference, so it was convenient to be there. Would I stay there again? Probably not, considering the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the atrium. Much nicer view than overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    849
    345
    190
    112
See reviews for
800
404
61
1,068
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was extremely surprised and very happy with my recent stay! I was in town for a bachelorette party. We got 2 adjoining rooms. Firstly we stayed in the Emerald Bay rooms- Room 5336 and it was beautiful! I was very impressed with the renovations. The bed was also super comfy!!! The staff was extremely helpful and happy!

My favorite thing was the separate pools- Adult and kids- they are right next to each other (ish) but the adult pool was relaxing and serene- just beautiful! Its a stunning long pool lined with more than enough chairs, private cabanas and palm trees.

The kid side was just as nice with water slides and scheduled games.

The pool staff was very helpful and had great service. The food was good. I also did the breakfast buffet one morning and it was delicious - a bit expensive for family maybe but if you are on vacation you are going to spend money anyway.

There are so many stores and restaurants on the property you really don't have to leave.

I would def stay here again and I will def check out the other Gaylords!

Room Tip: My room was renovated and not like some of the pictures I saw on trip TripAdvisor so maybe ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel. But be prepared to pay for it. The grounds are pretty but huge. Because of this you will be walking a large amount unless your close to the main building. The rooms are large, and spacious. The Wi-Fi works on and off.
There are vans that take you to the parks, but check the hours on these. they dont travel as often as the on property hotels. And you are at the mercy of their mechanical issues, not having the fleet that the property hotels do.
Charging for parking is a rip off here. You are already staying on their property and paying the price. Now they go and charge you up to $40 a day just to park there. that in itself is a ripoff, and makes me want to look elsewhere.
The star rating I gave it was just for the hotel itself. Would I stay here again. I dont think so. You can find something cheaper out there and just as good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved this resort. Front desk was going to put us on first floor view of the parking lot. We didn't like that being two women, so we asked for a room higher up and toward the atrium. The lady at front desk looked again and we were put on the 7th floor facing the atrium. Beautiful view. Try asking for one of these rooms very much worth it. Only down fall was on Friday and Sat. nights it got loud down there even being on the 7th floor we could here noise down there. Should be a quiet time. The beds were great, housekeeping does a good job. Food in resort was pricey. One of the coffee shops has a huge cinnamon roll for a small price best value in resort. We stayed in the Everglades section which had a glass elevator, ride it even if your room is not in that section. We even had a balcony that we sat out on every chance we got. I really did enjoy staying here and loved everything about it.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the highest floor toward one of the atrium's beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying here, it was pricey but so worth it. When we checked in we asked to upgrade our room, and Teri Jo gave us a complimentary upgrade with a atrium view. It was perfect even so I stayed an additional night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As most have mentioned, the resort itself is incredible. For a Floridian it really does capture many areas of Florida: St. Augustine, Key West, and the Everglades. The theming of the atrium is truly terrific. So, if its raining and the amusement parks don't sound like a great idea, hang around the public spaces. The property is also a short drive from the Disney entrance. Now, if you select this property be sure to get a great rate as you will pay $18 to self park (!) or $24 to Valet. On top of that there is a $20 a night resort fee (not sure what that gets you).

The rooms are fine, but nothing terribly special and the beds may be uncomfortable for many. If you can get a balcony facing the atrium that is a great plus and the really nice guy at the desk gave us this upgrade.

As for the restaurants, as others have noted they are expensive and service is spotty at best and, at least at the sports bar/restaurant can be down right rude, unapologetically so (they bring wrong drink orders in under $20 minutes, and in another 20 minutes you might find a server who can fix this, but..and this is great, you may be charged for the wrong drinks as well as the ones you ordered!---guess the resort fee doesn't include courtesy or decent service.)

All in all a beautiful place, amazing public spaces, but eat elsewhere and save a ton of money. The only problem is elsewhere can be a good drive and since self-parking is somewhere in the netherlands of the property it can be a frustrating experience.

Room Tip: As for a balcony room (they may call it an upgrade and knowing how things work there is probably ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved it here and would return but I would not recommend if you are planning a Disney trip without a rental car and counting on their shuttle service to get you there, it just didn't run frequently enough. We did have a rental car but the $18!! plus tax parking fee per day is the reason I cannot give this hotel a 5 star review.
Room is nicely decorated but not high end. Bed was comfortable but I did not like the sheets. We had a small balcony overlooking the atrium which was nice.
We had a very good and very expensive meal at the steak house, a decent meal at the Key West restaurant. My son enjoyed the nachos and wings at the sports bar/restaurant Wreckers. We had an expensive but good buffet breakfast at Villa de Flora with Shrek and Fiona.
We enjoyed the pool area but it did get very crowded on the weekend and they could use a few more staff walking around to order food/drinks from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.