We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in some areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lacking in some areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was a great for keeping our kids entertained. The family pool has music, a water fort, 4 water slides, water basketball, and zero entry. We did not eat or drink by the pool because it was so expensive. Every item was above $14 including drinks. At night there is a pool party and a movie (more about this in the room section). Overall the pool was amazing and the best part was the water was heated.

The hotel was massive. It has over 1500 rooms with our room located on the top floor overlooking the pool. It was great until the pool party movie started and didn't end until after 10pm. This was a problem because our kids were exhausted from Disney and then we could hear the movie blasting from inside our room. I called the front desk several times and all she said was that they could move us at 10 pm or have the movie turned down. Oh she did offer cookies and milk but I declined because the kids were sleeping. The daily maid service didn't clean our room until 5:00 pm two days and we had to entertain the kids in the hotel, which wasn't hard to do. The parking fee is $18 per day with another $22 resort fee or more if you have more than 2 people in the room. I felt the parking was overpriced for the area and the resort fee was pretty high too. There are alligators and turtles in the main atrium that are feed every other day. The viewing area is small so make sure you are there early to grab a spot to watch. There are also Dreamworks characters that are stationed around the hotel to meet with the kids. That was a nice surprise.

We bought our tickets to Disney from the concierge desk which ended up costing us an additional $100. When we talked to the lady telling her our plan she sold us a 2 day ticket. Our plan was to see Magic Kingdom one day and the other day to park hop to Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, and Epcot. When we went to Animal Kingdom to add on the park hopped which the lady at the hotel said we could instead of it costing only $37 for a one day ticket (which she should have sold us) it cost us $57 per ticket because she sold us a 2 day ticket. You should stick with buying your tickets at Disney because Disney wouldn't help us because we bought the tickets off property. We talked to the hotel and they said there was nothing they could do. This was disappointing because the tickets cost us $900 which is a lot of money for this type of mistake. No one apologized and blamed it on us for not knowing how the tickets worked. We are from Colorado and this was our first trip to Disney. We were trusting the official Disney Ticket salesperson to lead us down the right path. If you buy the tickets at Disney and this would have happened they would have refunded the day that was unused and sold it as a one day ticket with a park hopper add on saving us over $100 total.

Overall, this was a nice family hotel and stay but I don't think we will return. The overall service and attention to detail is lacking.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool if the kids pool party is going on. The movie is so loud and tends to go unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    978
    400
    221
    132
See reviews for
949
449
63
1,216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel needs to be visited to understand the mind blowing garden inside. Interior is build to resemble city streets and it does the job well. It's a pricy hotel, but right next to Disney parks and with plenty of own entertainment for little ones

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Gaylord Palms while attending a conference in Orlando. The hotel was astonishing. Although there were several people from our conference checking in, I was checked in and on my way to my room in no time. The room was quite comfortable....I slept like a baby. The atrium at the hotel boasted beautiful flowers, waterfalls, a Koi pond, and alligators that you could watch being fed (don't worry, they are enclosed). I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely destination hotel with a beautiful atrium filled with waterfalls, fish ponds, alligator and turtle ponds. The Florida flowers and foliage are incredibly colorful and well-maintained.
The friendly staff is helpful, polite, and well-informed. Rooms are comfortable and come with marble showers, refrigerators, and soothing amenities. The family pool is a wonderland for children with bells, whistles, and water slides. There is a terrific adults-only pool with lots of long lap lanes and a bar close by. Most every restaurant is expensive as is daily parking. There also is a daily resort fee which includes WiFi and bottles of water. Conveniently located next to Disney World, this is a great vacation experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in the Atrium. Better view then over the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Gaylord in Orlando for a cheer competition. The hotel is beautiful. You'll need a map to find your way around the first day. It was so much fun to explore. The room was very clean and nice. We had two meals there. One at the sports bar and one at the pool restaurant. Although quite pricey the food was excellent. The adult pool is a great place to relax. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gaylord and had a great time. I was impressed with the refurnished rooms. I have previously stayed at different Gaylord before and never liked the style but the new styles are modern. Kids enjoyed being in the pool all day. The water fun house and slides kept them entertained.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the atrium with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent customer service clean hotel many amenities. Location is key. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. resort is only 10 mins away from 0 town and 17 minutes away from downtown city walk

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - Lake Buena Vista South
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on International Drive
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 160 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.