We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing for the spouse of the conference attendee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing for the spouse of the conference attendee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sometimes traveling with your spouse you end up in the room a lot, but not here. There is a fabulous outdoor pool, but if the weather is iffy there is so many places to walk and around and spend time enjoying in the huge atrium. Good restaurants, interesting shopping and great atmosphere. Our room was very nice and spacious. FYI! Don't order food at the bar near the pool and then go to a table if it opens up, the waitress was very rude to us for having done that. If she had explained and made us feel comfortable we would have left her a tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,131
    782
    326
    177
    104
See reviews for
749
368
59
1000
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After attending a wedding in Melbourne, FL decided to bring the family to Orlando for our last few days. We spoiled ourselves at the Gaylord Palms! I made reservations through the Marriott website and was immediately able to see all the taxes and fees added to the room. I hesitated to change hotels but decided we would stay and splurge. Man, was it worth it!

The location of the hotel is in an area away from the Disney traffic- thank goodness! It's location off of International Dr made it easier and quicker to get to. We checked in and the front desk staff couldn't have been friendlier. We stayed in a deluxe suite on the 4th floor facing the atrium. The room was very spacious and nicely appointed. The view was amazing and the hotel itself, awesome!

I selected this hotel because of it's on-site waterpark and amenities. It did not disappoint. The water was warmed to 84 degrees. We were at Disney during the day and missed the Cypress Springs water park since it closed at 5:30pm. We were still able to enjoy the zero-entry pool with basketball goals. The kids had a great time swimming and playing basketball. The resort provided large pool towels. We walked around the resort and saw the baby alligators and different types of fish. There was also a large turf area near Wreckers and my son was able to play in a quick kids' football game. This was definitely one of the kids' favorite hotels!

I utilized the valet parking ($24/day) instead of self-parking ($18/day) for the convenience. They were very expedient and stated during each call they have the vehicle downstairs in under 10 minutes. We never had to wait. We had to have them bring the vehicle up to get something out of it and it was no problem. The staff was very friendly, with or without tipping.

The costs do add up, but none were a surprise. You'll have the room cost plus taxes; resort fee plus taxes and parking plus taxes. My room cost was basically an additional $50-$60 a night with the fees and taxes. I had planned for it and it made it bearable. If they had caught me by surprise, I would have had a very different attitude towards it. The resort fee included wi-fi and that was convenient. I've seen internet rates up to $25 in JW Marriotts or other resort style hotels. Including it in a fee and not having to log on and pay was better because we had at least 4 devices in our room logged on. The rates for food are equivalent to a resort hotel but if preferred, there are many, many restaurants neaby. The Orlando Premium Outlets on Vineland was about 15 minutes away and restaurants within 5 minutes.

Marriott Elite members will be very satisfied. They take care of their members. I'm definitely glad this is a Marriott property and we will definitely be back when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Request atrium or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Gaylord hotel and staff were awesome,But the Spa experience was dreadful . I purchased the hour and a half for $180 ..... What a huge disappointment for a massage. It was a Mediocre back rub at best . Formerly the Canyon Ranch occupied that spa and I periodically had massages there. If you are planning a massage Don't Get It Here! huge waste of $$$$$ for less than a back rub experience!!!!! Denise H. Orlando Fl. The reason for this post is they never responded to my comments and concern. I live in Orlando and work in house in a huge timeshare resort and have since stop referring my owners there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was here for just three days - wish it was more!!! The soothing and relaxing atmosphere of this hotel made my jetlag bearable.

The staff are extremely friendly, and being one to get lost easily they were always helpful with giving me directions to where I needed to go!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the atrium! Unfortunately I was stuck with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is outstanding. Our kids ran around and saw the "ship", koi pond, alligators, etc. We really enjoyed the zero-entrance kids pool.

Our room was pretty average. I've stayed in motel rooms that were just as nice. We had an "awesome view" the parking lot and dumpster, but hey someone has to have that view, right?

Add $20 to your nightly rate for the resort fee. Add $18-$24 per day for parking. The resort fee covers your access to all parts of the hotel, wi-fi, and two bottles of water that are placed in the mini-fridge. There is no in-room microwave and I think that is intentional so that you can't reheat anything and must order room service or go to one of their restaurants. My husband requested a ride to meet us at Universal and they were prompt in providing a town car, but it was $40.

All in all it was lovely, we had a nice time, but I'm the type that would rather shell out the money for the room and that be the end of the fees.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful long weekend stay. Stayed Christmas weekend and enjoyed all the festivities. Loved the resort and the gardens. We arrived early and our room was ready so the check-in process was fast and easy. As expected the Atrium view room was fantastic, couldn't imagine staying here and not having the atrium view, worth the extra money! Very pleased with the customer service we recieved, on every level...from the security guard that came to help with our safe to the wonderful employee that walked us to our destination when we asked directions. Yes they do charge some extra fees such as the resort fee and valet, but they are up front in telling you, this is your choice to stay here. Room was neat and clean. We ate in a Vlla Flora, Wreckers and Sunset Sams, all were good. But if you have a chance order room service and eat on your balcony, pricey but worth it!!!
Would I come here again.......without a doubt!!

Room Tip: High floor and an atrium view is a must....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This resort is really amazing place ,first closed to convention center.
The staff is so friendly efficient and always try to accomadate for special request.the glass pyramide is amazing so you can get to differents restaurant even if it is raining without worries .The room are clean spacious .It is a big place but easy to go around bcd of the maps .It is a nin smoking hotel but they have beautiful outside area , the pool is so fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.