We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience at an above average price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Average experience at an above average price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of a convention. An impersonal experience with nothing to recommend it other than comfortable beds--and we did not have problems with noise because our room was on the outside.

The hotel pushes for limo service--turns out to be much more expensive than taxis. I wonder if the bell people make money with the limos. I would recommend renting a car--and be prepared to pay $15 per night for parking.

There are lots of restaurants on the property but the quality of the ones we sampled was average for prices that were fairly high. Breakfast cost was outrageous and the choices in that department were limited.

Overall, if I were to go back to the area for recreation purposes, I would not choose this property as it is isolated, not close to the parks (with limited shuttle service), and the rooms are nothing special. Plus I had the feeling that I was being charged for a lot of extras--parking, resort fee, etc. It adds up.

The atrium is beautiful, but there are not enough places around it to sit comfortably and relax. The pool is definitely a plus, especially as there is an adults only one, and the best food experience was the one poolside.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, you might want to avoid the ones opening to the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    820
    336
    180
    106
See reviews for
772
385
60
1,035
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you plan on spending time at the pool area, of which there are two (one for adults & one for families with childern), I recommend you stay in the Emerald Bay area of the hotel. This hotel is HUGE and if you are in the Key West wing it is a very far walk. Although, walking around the hotel is a great experience, as there is so much to see I wouldn't want to walk through the entire hotel everyday for a trip to the pool. Also, it seems the Atrium view rooms are noiser than the outside rooms - as there is always something going on at the stage.

The restaurant in the boat in the Key West area was very nice and the little coffee shop has excellent coffee and quick breakfast choices.

Service overall was very good and conference area was well organized and comfortable as well. We took the shuttle to Disney and it stoped at Disney World last, so it took about 45 minutes to get only about 5 miles away. I would probably just take a cab next time.

Room Tip: Emerald Bay Wing is closest to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was looking for a Marriott Hotel in the Kissimmee area, and was told by Marriott to check into the Gaylord which they had just purchased. What a surprise. I had stayed at a Gaylord in Nashville, but never expected to find one here. It was a unexpected pleasure. A little pricey, but well worth the experience. It is a little smaller than the hotel in Nashville, but the same structure and design, with restaurants and bars all over the place. While Nashville had boats in the river through the lobby, they had alligators and fish here. Much more like a Florida experience !

All-in-all, a great facility. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room to get the full hotel experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was at Gaylord attending a conference and stayed there for few days. The hotel is not in the city but not far from Shopping malls and the down town. It is quiet and good for business stay or if you are looking for a place for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I only had a chance to stay one night, and next time will stay longer. The location is great, easy access, and close to theme parks. The front counter service was nice and friendly. I simply asked about an atrium view (which is very unique), and was upgraded for free. The christmas theme lights were well done. This hotel is owned by marriott now which offers great government discounts, as well as many promotions. I look forward to going back to explore more of the property soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very beautiful hotel..the rooms were very spacious and the service was excellent. It was pretty noisy by our room, not sure if it was an elevator shaft that we heard or what. We didn't have a rental car so we started out being pretty dependent on the restaurants at the resort. There are no sidewalks that would allow you to walk somewhere. I guess you could if you really wanted to, but only in daylight.
We were a bit disappointed in the variety and the $$$ of each restaurant. We eventually took a cab to local spots to get out a bit. The free shuttle is nice, but only if you plan to be gone for 6 hours. If you want to eat out, you need to either order in (which didn't include a lot of choices) or take a minimum of a $25 round trip taxi.
There was a nice coffee shop where you could get breakfast....but allow time in the morning, because it is very busy!
Overall it was nice, but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for sales conference. It's in great shape and has a lot of really neat stuff to see. The conference rooms were in good repair, with working AC and heat (unlike older hotels). The conference center is huge. Rooms are in really good shape - hallways had nice carpeting, rooms had no smell, room attendant was very good, etc. With 1000 rooms, it would give a Vegas hotel a run for its money.

The sports bar (Wreckers) is incredible. It's a legit sports bar with a Vegas book-style watching area.

HOWEVER, this place milks you for every dime. Coffee shop is expensive as heck (and slow too). Self-service coffee machines charge $3.75 (!!!??!?!). And it goes on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.