We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Functions too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great for Business Functions too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Recently spent over a week at the resort for business meetings. It was an ideal location. Numerous restaurants served our group delicious food with excellent service. All staff were pleasant. Hotel offers interesting and unique atmosphere with its huge atrium. Adult pool area was very comfortable. Gigantic TV at its sportsbar - biggest i have ever seen. Service however was not very good at the sports bar - hit and miss as we were there everyday. Rooms were nice but nothing special, but very little time spent there. The hotel was very busy with functions and Christmas celebrations but handled the large groups well. Location is excellent - close to local attractions, restaurants, convention centre, shopping etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    798
    330
    177
    105
See reviews for
759
372
59
1,019
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We took the grandson here for his birthday and got a very good deal on the buy
one get another night free for the occasion. We booked an atrium view, but
found out none were available at check in and were almost downgraded, at a
lesser fee, to a pool view, until we spoke to a manager and waited and one
became open. It wasn't a great start to our vacation, but the room was as we requested
with a balcony so we could see the Christmas lights and hear the music, which
seemed like a good idea at the time, but after hearing the same songs three
times a night we might reconsider in retrospect. There was so much to do with him we really
were busy most of the time. Get a schedule when you first get here so you can
plan and not miss anything. Some, like the poolside movie and character meet
and greats are free, but ICE and gingerbread decorating and arcade fun and parking will run
up a tab. The character breakfast was over priced for the food offered, and the
three characters can be met outside the restaurant. Also there are no hand
sanitizer stations so bring your own. The restaurants all have children's menus
but are pricey and there is no real kids place to just get pizza or a corn dog. Dinner for 4 in the sports bar was over $100. We were in a hurry to check out and left a couple of items in the room that never turned up when we called back. Couldn't get a copy of our bill mailed to us from Marriot either. We had a good time, but two days was plenty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recently attended a heath expo at the Gaylord Palms. The parking gate employee did not welcome or greet us in any way. I asked him directions and he was not at all helpful. We finally found a parking space and spent about 6 hours at the expo. We waited in line for quite some time for a snack before entering the expo. The food was overpriced, less than mediocre,and the service was haphazard . The real shock, after spending around six hours at the convention center, was when we were leaving. Very difficult to get out as many cars were leaving at the same time. By the time we got to the ticket booth to pay for parking we were told we owed over Sixteen dollars. Outrageous. We were stuck in this hotel, had to eat there, park there for the convention and they charge us over 16.00. The health expo was informative and worth the time we spent there. Parking there was not at all worth the cost. That is the first and last time I visit this property. We were very disappointed with the food and the parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here while attending a conference at the World Center Marriott and were not disappointed! The Gaylord was stylishly decorated for the December holidays. We were upgraded to an atrium room with a balcony that overlooked the center of the hotel. The room was spacious, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The hotel can be a little tricky to navigate initially but if you are there for leisure, it is really fun to wander through and marvel at all the decorations, the gators, boats and castles!

My family used the pool area while I attended the conference; the adult pools and hot tubs were very relaxing. The pool area includes a kids waterpark that looked like lots of fun for little ones! Pool staff were very attentive and gracious.

We did get a chance to see ICE and were glad we went! Do remember your hats and mittens; 9 degrees is COLD! We did not have any problem with our tickets; in fact, we had to go earlier than our scheduled time due to a website error that allowed us to buy tickets later than the show was open. We recieved a call from ICE staff.

Glad it was an overflow hotel for my conference; would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an atrium room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was the 4th time we stayed at Gaylord Palms. Service was great as always.
Has a great time with the Dreamworks experience, this addition is great, we were able to
go to ICE as many times as we wanted, and breakfast with Shrek was a lot of fun.
We arrived in our 1973 cadillac convertable, a classic that is in mint conditon and the valet
service to extra care of it. We were most pleased.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms higher up have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Gaylord Palms. We were there for one night to visit the ICE exhibit. The hotel is beautifully decorated for the holidays with plenty to do and see. We had our two children with us. They enjoyed the scavenger hunt, character meet and greets (Shrek and friends), visit with Santa and much more. There was plenty to see and do. The entertainment in the atrium for the tree lighting was beautiful as were the gardens around the resort. We did not have a chance to use the pool area but will definitely be back again. The ICE exhibit was fantastic. WE all enjoyed looking at the wonderfully carved ice sculptures as well as sliding down the ice slides. Our room was very clean and we were well taken care of. We were on the top floor and could see everything from our balcony. Yes, as others have mentioned, it can be a bit noisy during the atrium festivities but we had no problems after the entertainment was through. The beds were comfy and the room was very clean. We took advantage of the package pricing that included the Shrekfast. My only complaint here was that we had to wait a long time in line to get seated for breakfast so the point of having to make a reservation didn't make much sense. All in all, the food was good and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: We had an atrium room on the 8th floor close to the elevator which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is lovely. However everything was very disorganized: Our room was never made up before 5:00 pm unless we called housekeeping and complained. Nor was our room vacuumed, bed made up properly or dusted. The room itself was very pretty. We went to ICE and the Will Call line took 60 minutes due to slow service (and we paid for our tickets online). The line to enter ICE was also disorganized and it took 30-40 minutes to enter. It could have been mainstreamed and far more efficient. Even the staff at the slides inside were disorganized. We wne to the lounge/bar in the lobby before dinner. The bartender was in attentive. When we finally got her attention we ordered a drink and asked for some pretzels or nuts. We were informed that the bar did not have these. W could not get a "refill" and waited quite awhile for our bill. We went to The Hickory Steak House with friends. The waiter argued when I requested a black napkin, the food came out cold, it came out incorrectly and cold the second time. They just could not get their acts together at this pricey restaurant. Though the manager gave us a card for a free meal, we would never return to this restaurant. We decided to leave the hotel and have dinner in Celebration (which turned out to be a great decision).It should be noted that ICE was more hype than great experience. We bought the pictures for a pricey $35.00 but the staff put there hands all over the pictures and we had to request a new set. Gaylord Palms is worth experiencing during the Christmas season for the day to enjoy the atmosphere and to see the free show in the atrium. I would not stay there again. Sadly, it could be such an outstanding hotel. The management just doesn't have a clue...nor do the employees. Great management, great training of staff would make all the difference in the world.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor and it actually was noisy. If you are going to stay, request a center room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.