We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I stayed here as part of a conference. What a resort!! The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and so very organized. Your first steps into the atrium almost take your breath away; you feel like you've entered another world. As a former Floridian who now lives in Canada, the resort has truly captured the different regions of Florida in their decor (they even have live alligators swimming around!!) There is so much to see and take in! We have stayed in a atrium room both times, but in different areas. We love to leave the balcony doors open and hear the waterfalls, it's also a lot of fun to sit and relax on the balconies and just watch the people coming and going. While my husband was busy with the confernece I made use of the pool and fitness center, both top notch. There is a separate pool area for families, with a fantastic waterpark area with slides that any kids would love; as well as an adults only pool that is quiet and very large. Not sure about the family pool, but the adult pool offers food/bar service right at your lounger, a very nice option. The fitness center is quite large with everything from weight machines, free weights, elipticals, treadmills and other special machines. They also offer classes such as yoga, crosstraining, and others at a small fee; very reasonable. I know they have an amazing spa there as well, but I have not had the chance to try it out yet.

We have also eaten at all the restaurants in the resort; they are all fabulous!! No need to eat elsewhere. The location is quite close to the Disney resort ( 5 minutes), but not right in the middle of all the craziness. The concierge was fantastic; she help arrange ticket to see blue man group at Universal. She also help arrange a few dinner meetings offsite, by checking into availability, sending copies of menus to our room and booking the reservation and sending the confirmation and directions to our room as well, (hand delivered). This is one of the few luxury resorts in the Orlando area that is well worth the price. I can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: For the little extra cost, you HAVE to stay in an atrium room. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,133
    783
    326
    177
    104
See reviews for
750
369
59
1001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

One of the nicest hotels and convention centers in the Kissimmee area. Service, food, atmosphere are all 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and when I turned in, I chose to Self Park and followed the signs, which took me to the Convention Center part of the resort. I walked at least a mile to the hotel lobby to check in and found out I could have turned the other way and parked closer. This was not clear so when you turn in, turn left and you'll then see the signs.

Outside of that, I thought the resort was just fabulous! Alligator feedings, a restaurant on a full size sailboat sitting in water, herb gardens, it was all just amazing and beautiful. You really felt like you were in your own Gaylord world!

I stayed in a deluxe suite, which was huge. Large front room and bedroom. It was just me, so it was really too big, but I still loved it.

The Villa De Florio Buffet was great! All the fine dining restaurants are pretty pricey, but that's fine dining, right?

Definitely recommend this both for families and for couples! Would love to bring my husband back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Recently we stayed at this hotel for a conference. It is a beautiful hotel with great atmosphere. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating.

There is a lot of construction going on but it did not interfere with the conference or sleeping.

The conference area is beautiful, clean and very spacious. Be ready to walk in this hotel as it is a resort and very spread out. The Acoustics in the ball rooms are very bad so sit up close.

The restaurants in the hotel number four. We tried two of the three. The prices are outrageous but you are paying for the surroundings. That didn't bother me that much but the food itself was nothing special. For a 5 star hotel I find it hard to believe you pay $32.50 for a buffet that was average at best. It also said they changed from Italian, to Spanish to Greek each night. Well we went there two nights thinking we would get different food and it was the same other than the desert and soups/pasta. Very disappointing. Unfortunately we had no choice as we had no car and the conference left little or no time to get off property without a hassle on transportation. Would definately work in a taxi next time.

The rooms were beautiful and quiet.

I would say that this is a good hotel but if you want to be closer to be able to walk to things this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed great but we were given a suite due to a mix up in the reservations and I can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I love Gaylord Palms so much that when my two daughters and I wanted to go on a vacation last summer we decided to go to Gaylord Palms for a week. We stayed there the whole time!!! It was wonderful. You have to get an Atrium room and sit on your balcony and watch people and relax. Sleep with your balcony door open and hear the waterfall all night. The temperature in the atrium is always 72 degrees so you are always comfortable. I love when it's raining out and it's still beautiful inside. Each section of the hotel has its own theme so you can go to different parts of it and be transported to that place. They just made over the pool areas and added a water park for kids also. I can't wait to see it this year!

Room Tip: choose an Atrium view in the Everglades wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week in January 2011 for a convention. Loved the hotel with the nice strolling areas, small shops and different types of restaurants. Staff is polite, helpful and efficient. Not a cheap place but worth the money in my opinion.

The room was large and very comfortable and offered a great view of the huge main Atrium, which is comprised of a sort of jungle with waterfalls, ponds and palm trees and aligned with shops and a small coffee/sandwich place (which is open 24/7).

The restaurants are nice. Fast and courteous service. Menus comprise of 'typical' american food. So don't expect culinary escapes here.

What I dislike (same for just about every hotel out there): why charge for WIFI...? This must be the latest ridiculous milking cow in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I spent 5 days at the Gaylord Palms resort for a conference in 2004. I liked being able to stay on the same grounds as the convention centre. The food was great and the grounds were nice. I thought the pirate ship bar in the atrium was pretty cool. Since I was there for work I only spent a few hours one day at the pool and didn't use many of the ammenities. Overall I have no complaints and would recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.