We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamworks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746 (Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Gaylord Palms
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
“Dreamworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for the Dreamworks experience with our daughter. Check in could have run smoother but over all we had a great time. It was expensive, but not compared to similar at Disney. I am glad we got the Dreamworks package as we were allotted more time with the characters and VIP treatment. We greatly enjoyed the live shows, especially since the Christmas music was Christian and not just secular. The hotel atrium is gorgeous and was beautifully decorated. The lights at night were so pretty! Staying in the hotel was convenient, other than the extremely high priced food. We left the hotel for dinner. We had the character breakfast which was a lot of fun and the food was great. This was our family Christmas gift, so a splurge.

Room Tip: The outside room was very quiet. An atrium room could provide a view of the shows, or not, and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    859
    348
    194
    113
See reviews for
813
410
61
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The price reflected a wonderful stay with many amenities that were offered, some complimentary (excellent) others a fair price. Coffee always available w/snacks as you are entertained by music and talented entertainers.
Room w/balcony worth the extra small amount. Lot's of smiles from children and wow from others. Location Great , Gaylord would be our choice with families with lot's for them to see and plenty of room to roam!!

Room Tip: Definately with Balcony in the Atrium Awesome View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Do not hesitate to check in here if you are after a perfect break. The quality begins with room staff and continues throughout the resort. Nothing was too much trouble anywhere in the hotel - if you could dream it you will find it here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5171 with balcony overlooking Key West & the lagoon - fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night in December with our two small children to see the Ice and Snow shows held in the hotel and convention centre and were promised a wonderful hotel experience - but we dont really feel that is what we got,
On approaching the Gaylord it is a pretty magnificent sight even for Orlando with it's holiday lights and vast atrium. The first thing you notice is that you have to pay $13 flat fee for parking, which is not unusual in Orlando but pretty steep since you have already paid for a room,
We checked in at 2pm in the afternoon and it seems like we checked in with everyone else! The check in line was huge and we waited a good 15 minutes just to check in. The staff were pretty friendly and nice so it was a good experience. Be prepared to pay the resort tax which is about $15 dollars, again this isn't unusual for Orlando but steep when you consider the price of the room.
We originally booked a Florida view room, having read reviews of the Atrium view rooms being noisy, but when we got there we were allocated an Atrium view room in Key west. The rooms are very nice, well furnished with two queen beds, a fridge, a good sized bathroom and flatscreen TV. There is also a balcony to sit out on. The beds were good quality and we slept well in them.........eventually.
However the downsides in my opinion are the noise - the resort holds shows at holiday times (I dont know if they do at any other times) and the noise in our room was alarming - sleep is not an option with an atrium view room. We had all the doors shut, curtains drawn etc but the noise was still enough to drive you insance at 10.30pm at night.
The inside environment of the hotel is nice to walk around, but not really all that special and although they have gators and fish you can see these most places in Orlando. The environment of the hotel did not wow us at all and the shops and resturants were, in my opinion too many.
Another problem with this hotel is that is it in the middle of nowhere so if you dont have a car or bus you are forced to eat on site and the prices are unbelievable. We saw many people coming in with Mcdonalds bags and supermarket food presumably to avoid paying the prices.
This is a fairly good hotel with nice quality hotel rooms - but the downsides mean we wont be staying here again - for me there are better hotels in Orlando for a far better price.

Room Tip: If you need peace to sleep or have small children who wake easily go for a florida view room, these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Gaylord as part of a big group (a convention of 3.5 thousand people, with half of them staying at the Gaylord). I got a room with a balcony facing the internal covered area, which is huge and impressive, with restaurants and other attractions, like evening shows, wild animals in the artificial lakes etc.
Valet parking is quick as the valet parking lot is located right besides the front porch. Even if you do not call upfront from your room to ask for your car, the wait will not be that long. If you call them, it is likely that your car will be ready by the time you reach the front porch.
Check-in was a breeze, with very attentive staff (the same staff member who did my check-in called my room to ask if everything was fine). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Gaylord Palms is a terrific hotel with beautifully appointed rooms. Its huge, well appointed, great service and a pleasure to stay at. I attended a business conference and enjoyed my stay. I'm sure families and couples would be equally impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We didn't stay at this property, but attended for the Shrek the Halls Ice sculpture display and the Kung Awesome "snow" display. Ticket price was $40 per person over 12, under 12 $35.

You have to pay $13 parking to get into the hotel parking lot to attend.

They make you take a group photo at Shrek, packages start at $20 for a print and up through $35 for prints, USB drive etc etc.

First, if you are going to see both, MAKE SURE YOU SEE SHREK/ICE FIRST. You are going to get wet in the Kung Fu Panda snow and then you are going to be miserable standing around in 5 degree F ice show area as you slowly freeze your feet, knees of your jeans, butt of your pants etc etc.

Shrek/ICE was really wonderful. Your ticket is for half-hour window (i.e. 11-1130) on the theory that you will only be allowed in the area for that window. However, no one was checking, so if you have a high tolerance for very frigid temps, you can be leisurely. The iceworks are just amazing. The movie gives you some background on how they put it all together, but it is clear that love and pride goes into carving all these exhibits. The tour goes through lots of Shrekiness, and then you get to the middle, which is 4 ice slides. You can ride as often as you like, about 5 min line, and there is a smaller, dedicated slide for kids. After leaving the slide area, you pass through several more Shrek areas, and then get to the dragon, which is really huge. Amazing to think it is made out of ice.

I want to point out that our favorite part BEGAN at the dragon. From this point forward, they ditch the Shrek theme and colored ice, and just do crystal clear statutes of non-dreamworks stuff. The giant angel is wonderful, and the nativity scene is just breathtaking.

The parkas they give you for this exhibit are not enough to keep you warm, take gloves and and a hat.

Kung Fu Awesome snow was anything but. This area is basically a typical park playground buried in about 12 inches of snow cone ice. The "snow tunnels" are two plastic tubes. The slides are typical county fair get-in-the-burlap-sack slides. The only "snowball" throwing was on two dedicated target ranges (i.e. chip board cut outs) where kids had to wait for an employee to chip enough ice with a steel garden spade for them to create a slush ball. The "snow" was just awesomely bad, the kids and adults had all walked on it and compacted it back into what is technically "frozen slushie goo" that was useless. Kids trying to make snowmen ended up with snowmen the size of my shoe. They laughingly put snow block makers out there for kids to make walls or something. Kids would use these to pound helplessly at the frozen surface and scrape up enough for half a snow cone.

The most wonderful part was that some genius decided to install this winter wonderland over carpet. (yes, carpet) So, as it melted, it soaked the carpet and retained the water, meaning everyone's feet got soaked, even if they didn't go into the "snow."

The actual snow/play area was smaller than a basketball court.

The only ones who will enjoy this are people who have kids 10 and younger who have never been around snow. Older than 10, they are going to be checking their ipods in 5 minutes, tops.

Summary: ICE, wonderful, well worth it. SNOW, awesomely bad, skidoosh right on past it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.