We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stallion 51

Stallion 51
3951 Merlin Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34741
407-846-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 activities in Kissimmee
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fly an Authentic WWII Mustang. Stallion 51 offers the rare opportunity to experience the legendary P-51 Mustang and the historic T-6 Texan in flight as well as the Introduction to UAT flights at the controls of the L-39 Turbo Jet. Orientation and Introductory flights are with experienced instructors who allow you to take the controls in dual-cockpit, dual-control authentic vintage aircraft. Hands-on orientation flights include pre and post flight briefing, video recording of your flight, photo and flight training certificate. Stallion 51 has been a leader in WWII and Vintage aviation for over 25 years; keeping aviation history exciting, available and safe for everyone. Visitors are always welcome to tour Stallion 51's facilities.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Aurora, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I experienced one of my "bucket list" items when I hooked up with the crew at Stallion 51 and took the controls and flew the P-51 Mustang "Crazy Horse 2". I had been wanting to experience the flight for some time and the opportunity came on 29 June 2012. The experience from making the reservation through the pre-flight brief and flight was top shelf, the staff was easy going and professional. My pilot John "Homer" Black was great, his depth of knowledge, love of flying and eagerness to optimize my flying experience truly optimized the time at Stallion 51. I did not know what to expect walking in, just wanted to get in the cockpit and fly, however how the crew at Stallion 51 treated me and my wife was far beyond what I expected and optimized the expeireince !!!!! I highly recommend them as they make a once in a lifetime opportunity a reality and one you will never forget !!!!!! Tally Ho !!!! Thanks "Homer" be back for Jets !!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustangOps, Public Relations Manager at Stallion 51, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
JoeA20; As we say in aviation; from pulling the chocks to shut down, it sounds like you had a great flight in the P-51 Mustang at Stallion 51. Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is to make sure that the flight you have dreamed of is truly the flight of your dreams! We look forward to your return and will keep the Jet ready to go for your next flight! KT Budde-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I flew on the afternoon of the 6th July 2012. I had never personally flown any type of aircraft prior to this. It was a 50th birthday present to me from my wife. As a lifelong Mustang enthusiast I finally had the chance to actually fly one. They say you should never meet your heroes as they rarely live up to your expectations. The Mustang did not disappoint. It was all I had hoped it would be and far more. An experience I will never forget. My thanks to my pilot John Posson (for his patience at my unending stream of questions during the briefing and his good natured tolerance at my ham fisted efforts in the air....although I still maintain the barrel roll was deliberate on my part!) and all the staff at "Stallion51". To describe them as "exceptionally professional" would be a huge understatement. Yet they blend this professionalism with a very open and friendly atmosphere. If you are a fan of the P-51 or indeed any World War Two era fighter then I cannot recommend a flight with "Stallion51" highly enough. I'm determined to return and do it again. All in all an amazing day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Stallion 51, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Jon P, Everyone at Stallion 51 Flight Ops are glad that we could not only make your 50th birthday memorable but that we could also fulfill your lifelong dream of experiencing the P-51 Mustang "first hand". I think the video tape that you took home of your flight to share with friends and family should prove that your barrel roll was a planned maneuver! We look forward you coming back for a visit. KT Budde-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“From Patrick "Rick" Costa "Beyond Awsome"!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Its been 3 mos. since I flew in and took the controls of "Crazy Horse 2" their beautiful P-51 and I'm still on an emotional high!!! My pilot John Posson and everyone there are the best!!!! I will be back to fly again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Stallion 51, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Rick, glad to hear you are still flying high from all the fun you had flying Stallion 51's Mustang. It will be great to fly with you again, we promise to save a place in the cockpit for you! KT Budde-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

In June 2012 I had the opportunity to realise a dream ...flying in a Mustang. Everthing was very easygoing from the reservation to the actual flight.

Upon arrival I had the great view of 4 Mustangs lined up in the hangar, all of them in perfect condition.

The reception at Stallion 51 was very friendly and I could immediately walk around to take pictures. My flight instructor was John " Homer " Black. He gave the entire preflight briefing a very professional touch and gave a lot of useful information before the flight ... which permitted to make more out of the actual flight itself. The flight was just a great moment -- even without any flying experience . The one hour passed just too quickly...

Thank you also to the groundcrews which maintain the aircraft in perfect condition!

Hope to be back at some stage at Stallion 51.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustangOps, Public Relations Manager at Stallion 51, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Luxembourg flying friend; We are glad that our attention to detail; from the cleanliness of Stallion 51's hangars to the pristine condition of our P-51 Mustangs to our thorough pre-flight briefing so that you are prepared to enjoy every moment of your hands-on flight makes a difference. We take pride in what we do and we are glad that it shows. We look forward to you coming back for a visit. There is always flying fun happening here. KT Budde-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over The Top Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I arrived for the morning flight session and met my flight instructor Steve Larmore. Steve is awesome...he went over the P51 Mustang in great detail and discussed the combat maneuvers we would perform. Steve smiled and said... you will be flying this aircraft. I knew this was coming...I was like a kid at Christmas. After the pre-flight meeting we walked to the hanger to get up close and personal with "Crazy Horse". Steve secured me in the second seat (rear seat) and went over everything I needed to know. Steve jumped in to the first seat (front seat) and prepared to fire up Crazy Horse. Steve took this bird off the ground like the seasoned professional pilot he is...we climbed to an altitude of about 2,000 feet when Steve came on the communication system and said...Mark, the stick is yours...I remember Steve saying the Mustang is a very easy aircraft to fly. Steve communicated with the military installation close by and received permission to enter their air space...Steve talked me through all the combat maneuvers we performed...just follow his instructions and you will experience why the Mustang was considered the meanest fighter in the sky during WWII...Steve also informed me that I will be landing this aircraft. This truly was the experience of a lifetime...this was the number one item on my "Bucket List"...I am 62 years young and have not had any previous flight training...I'll do this again.

Mark Smith
Boston, Massachusetts
April 24, 2012

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustangOps, Public Relations Manager at Stallion 51, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Mark, It sounds like you had the time of your life flying the Mustang with Stallion 51. Thank you for letting us know that we fulfilled your dreams of not only flying in the Mustang but also of taking the controls of the P-51 and flying the maneuvers that won the war. We hope that you will come back to check out all the aircraft we have in our stable and fly with us again. KT Budde-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stallion 51 also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Stallion 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stallion 51, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stallion 51 to your Saves list