We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Bevervage going downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort to your Saves list
Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   7593 Gathering Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food & Bevervage going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is my 4th trip to Reunion in 6 years. The new owners have raised prices while service has noticeably slipped. They moved the Steak place to the 11th floor so now there is no where on property to get a simple burger except the golf grill. All the prices are up 30% from my last trip. A steak dinner is Morton's prices, Outback quality, and Denny's service. The new Italian restaurant is BAD. No one in our group of 8 liked their food and the prices are $$$$. Worst calamari I have ever eaten. Table next to us had the same experience. You'll get a much better meal at an Olive garden for half the price. Only decent food is the Sushi place in the lobby. It is expensive but worth it.

We ate in the golf grill 5 times. Never once did they get everyone's order right. Food comes out cold and the service will drive you crazy!

Also double check every bill. About 1/2 of our group had a mistake on every restaurant bill.

All that said, the property itself is very nice and the golf courses are great. 3-bedroom condos are very nice. The pools are good, not great. Just plan on having to drive off property to get a decent meal. My worry is that new management will let the place go downhill given the changes I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
ExpTraveler00001, we are regretful that your dining experience was so unpleasant. We understand that hiccup after hiccup can result in a negative view of your overall stay. We want to learn from these types of concerns so that we can ensure we are always improving our services and offering the best to all our guests. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at gm@reunionresort.com. I would like to research your stay further and address your concerns with our Food & Beverage team so that can ensure we are promoting positive experiences and great food. Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding golf courses and room accommodations. I do hope to hear from you, and I hope you will give Reunion a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    209
    75
    55
    37
See reviews for
635
72
5
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the 3rd time we got there as a group (12 of us) as we rent some of townhomes / villas just across the main hotel - they have 3 bedrooms all with a suite bathroom so we all have our privacy but at the same time we can spend some time together in the living room and relax there is even a kitchen if we want to carry over or cook something.
The location is very close to the main Disney parks and it is about 40 minutes from the airport and close to Champion gate and Celebration.
It is all nice and clean and quite. There have multiple pools and a large water park as well. But the best are the 3 golf courses on site so you do not waste time driving around you can go to the range whenever you want. Close by there are few shops if you need some groceries or you can enjoy the facilities at the main hotels (bar / restaurants)
Even if you want to run a meeting this is a great spot as you have all on site and not distracted by all the mess around International drive.

Room Tip: Some villas can be quite far so if you wnat to be lose to the hotel main building just see what is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are grateful when a guest leaves positive feedback, including ideas of other ways to enjoy our property, such as hosting meetings here! We are well known for both our family leisure stays and our meeting space and conference services. Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am pleased to hear that you and your family (all 12!) enjoyed your stay and are loyal guests. We cannot wait to welcome you all back to Reunion again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Three adults and 2 children we made this resort our base for a busy theme park packed trip to Orlando. Easy drive to all the parks - just off I-4. We stayed in a 3 bed villa which was just perfect for big breakfasts in the morning before heading out - lots of strawberry and banana pancakes! Each morning before breakfast we were able to have a swim in a heated pool just beside the apartment block - we called it our private pool, just us in the mornings.
The Seven Eagles pool was also very enjoyable bigger and a 5minute walk away, we were also 5 minutes from the resort's water park which was probably a bit young for the children (7 and 10) and certainly palled after trips to Aquatica etc!
Dinner at the main restaurant Forte( just 2 adults) was a bit of a disappointment but lunch at the clubhouse was fine. Spa was very cosseting and really good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for expressing your comments and concerns. As always, we take each review as a chance to improve our services. We are pleased to hear that you and your family found our room accommodations enjoyable as well as our community pools to be relaxing. I regret that your dinner at Forte was not up to your standards as we strive for nothing but excellent dinner service here at the Resort. Thank you for sharing your positive experience as the Spa. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Reunion the next time you visit Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Golf staff not very customer focused. Rangers are more like 'walmart greeters', don't expect any actual rangering. Expect to play no quicker than 4 hours 30 minutes, which is a travesty. When the ranger tells you they expect pace of play to be 4 hours 10 minutes, that's nice but they do nothing to make it happen. Don't expect the pro shop to do anything either. Expect the sand traps to look like they recently hosted Dancing with the Stars. No one seems to rake and no one in the pro shop seems to care. If you like very long rounds of golf and mediocre conditions, this is the place.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Randall S., thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I apologize for the negative experience you had with our golf shop and your over all playing experience. This is not our usual high standard, and any less is unacceptable. We take pride in our world class golf courses and we hold our service professionals to a high customer service standard. Please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would like to know more about your experience so that we can learn from them and use them to better our services. I can be reached at gm@reunionresort.com. We hope you'll give Reunion a second chance, as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked a two week stay at the resort with Virgin Holidays. I don't often add reviews here but always read them and having read a number of reviews that concerned us before our trip I thought I should add our comments. Overall our holiday here was excellent, but it didn't start too well!

After a 9 hour flight, with two v tired young boys we were flabbergasted to be told that the resort had "no record of our booking"! In all our years of travelling, this has NEVER happened! We had a reservation voucher from Virgin but apparently Reunion hadn't received our booking details from Virgin as they had been emailed to somebody that no longer works at Reunion. Extremely poor on the part of both companies. The receptionist said we could go and have a meal at one of the restaurants on site but our boys were by now asleep in the car so this wasn't an option. It took a few hours to sort alternative accommodation, and we were upgraded to a 4 bed villa but we did have to change villas on the 3rd day.

We really couldn't fault the standard of the accommodation, both villas were immaculate, and no sign of any cockroaches! Maid service was provided every day. All facilities, microwave, cooker, washer, dryer etc worked very well.

We only visited the water park once but thought it was fabulous!

We chose to stay here for Disney and the location was perfect, we were on the site within 10-15 minutes. There is a Publix supermarket over the road which was excellent, good range of products, M&S prices.

We did have a problem with the wifi though which the resort couldn't resolve. It worked perfectly for a week and then stopped but it wasn't a major problem as we were on holiday (and there is free wifi in the parks!)

Based on our experience, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! Although we are regretful your initial welcome wasn't the pleasant experience you expected, we are happy to know that our teams were able to resolve the issue and provide you with a resolution and get you and your family to a unit you would be pleased with. Thank you for sharing your excitement over our Water Park feature and our quiet, "just outside" Disney location. We have often been referred to as 'Orlando's best kept secret.' We can't be more ecstatic that your over all stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, and we hope to welcome you back to Reunion very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited in mid-Feb from the northeast to escape the snow. We are Wyndham timeshare owners and used our points for the three bedroom unit. Stayed with our friends and their kids, in total, 4 adults and 4 kids (5th graders to preschool). Plenty of space for all. We stayed in the north villas, in bldg G. We were told this was one of the newer buildings. We stayed for 7 nights.

In summary, it was a great stay. Beautiful property, the unit itself was new appearing, functional, clean and comfortable. The water park is great for the kids. We have stayed at Bonnet Creek (also great, but this may be better) and Star Island (not bad, but BC and Reunion are better). Publix supermarket is right down the street. Theme parks are not too far away. If you are going daily, then this may not be the best location (BC may better), but if you factor in "rest days" in your vacation like we do, then you'll want fun things to do at your resort, and the water park and pool complex here fit the bill.

Some details:
Unit - Kitchen ample size. Full kitchen. Was surprised that our refrigerator had water dispenser and ice cube maker. Water was fine, though we bought bottled water for trips. Would have bought less if I knew there was a water dispenser beforehand. Cooked several meals there comfortably, had dishwasher. Master bedroom and bath were fine, though no spa bath like other Wyndham resorts. That was disappointment to kids. Other bedrooms were comfy, one had king, other had twins. Wifi available, good speed, free, password given at check in. Flat panel tv in all bedrooms and living room. We were on third floor, made use of balcony and seating there. Laundry unit was ok, not expecting high quality appliances of course, but they are so-so. Would be careful with delicate clothes. Again, Unit was great, no major issues.

Oddly, there was not a convenient area to throw away trash. We were told to go to bldg B, which is kinda far away by foot, to throw away trash. Also, there are no luggage carts, which was annoying when we transported our luggage and groceries from the rental car to the unit. Oh well, more exercise.

Water park - has one of those structures for kids with the tipping bucket and water sprays going every which way. Also had 2 slides that are fun enough for parents to go down with the kids. There is also a lazy river, which is quite long for a resort river, which was great to use. Poolside bar and food, and they deliver to your umbrella, which have letters on them so they can find you. We got a few drinks and nachos, which were yummy enough. They provide towels at the park. There are also beach towels in the unit, but don't lose those or you will be charged.

There is also another pool complex with exercise room and an arcade near the main resort complex... I forget what it is called. The pool there is ok. The exercise room is adequate with several machines and such. The arcade is so-so...

The complex is large, and dark at night... There is lighting, but if you get here late, it can be difficult to find your way. You will get your parking pass at the gate when you tell them you are checking in.

The check in process is slightly confusing as there is not an obvious registration counter. It is to your right when you come in, though I was conveniently told to go to the left, where I apparently met the Wyndham timeshare rep first. I politely declined the owners update. I understand they need to do what they need to do. They offered a $100 gift card. They also intimated they could give reduced priced park tickets, but even so, my time is not worth spending at the sales office... Have done it too many times already. Maybe if I am ready to buy again, I might do it. They do try to call during the week, but I politely decline. The registration process itself is fine though. Checkout time, they slip the billing statement under the door the night prior. You can call to formally checkout, 10am.

Didn't try any of the restaurants on site. People were friendly enough.

Great place to stay. Will likely come back again. This or bonnet creek would be the places I would return to.



Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We're glad you're overall stay was pleasant and that you plan to return. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having luggage carts located at each building, but we are happy to provide luggage assistance through our bell services at any time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberts, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here using our Wyndham vacation membership for 4 nights in a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom unit, 203B Cabana Court. The unit itself was very nice. Our party was 5 Adults and 2 children. It was very nice having 3 bathrooms was great when trying to get ready on the morning to go our to the Parks. Disney is about 15 minute drive, other parks, Universal, Seaworld are a bit further.

I have some complaints that made me give this property only a rating of 4. First when arriving at the gate the gate people are not the friendliest . When we asked where to go we only were told to go to the big building. The site is so large and signage is not that good it is very easy to get lost, which we did, but finally figured it out. When checking in you go to the sales pitch people first. this was ok got some information about the resort and of course was asked if I wanted to do an öwner update" which is lingo for a 4 hour hard sales pitch. I said no but we were called every day and asked again after they call to just see if there is anything they can do to make your stay better, a bit annoying when on vacation.
Our unit was in the older buildings, was clean and fine, although there were stains on the carpet in the living room. The beds were all very comfortable, which is the thing tht matters most. I have 2 complaints here; the ice maker was frozen closed so you could not get ice out of the door. My husband fixed this by chipping the ice that was frozen in the door out. I think that should have been done my the cleaning crew before we were given the unit. My biggest complaint is the dryer. I did a couple loads of clothes, washer was fine but the dryer was horrible. It is a Eurotech brand and after looking it up online and noticing the complaints, it made sense. It litterally took 6 hours to dry a load of clothes. Towels took even longer, and I ended up hanging jeans after about 4 hours in the dryer. Maybe most people do not do clothes on vacation, but I know that washers and dryers are part of the Wyndham vacation units, so I pack with this in mind.
This is a very nice resort and my Aunts and Uncle joining us on this trip really loved the unit, and having their own bathrooms. I would stay again, just hope things get improved upon a little bit.
Oh and if you stay in Wyndham vacation properties often as I do, I was happy to see they still had the old bathroom soap products here. I really do not like their new "green" soap choice, because everything smells like pine, and I do not wish to smell like a pine tree.

Room Tip: If you get the newer section you are closer to the water park and may have a better view of a Golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeMC, General Manager at Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns. We will address the maintenance issues with our staff and ensure these are addressed properly. We are pleased to know that your overall experience was a good one and we hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort

Address: 7593 Gathering Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, conveniently located at Exit 58 off Interstate 4, is just 6 miles from Walt Disney World. For vacationers seeking more than a 400 square foot hotel room, Reunion offers spacious one- two- and three-bedroom villas as well as multi-bedroom vacation homes, most situated directly on the golf course. All accommodations have a complete kitchen and expansive living area. Reunion serves up an unparalleled golf experience, complete with 36 holes of signature golf designed by Tom Watson and Arnold Palmer. In addition to golf, Reunion offers a unique blend of amenities. Whether riding horses on our more than 20 miles of trails, splashing in our multi-acre, multi-pool water park, or enjoying bicycle or Seagway rentals. A Jack Nicklaus designed golf course will open in 2006, followed by our tennis pavilion. The children's recreation program gives parents an opportunity to enjoy a leisurely dinner at the clubhouse or nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Hotel Celebration
Reunion Resort And Club Wyndham Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reunion Resort & Club Wyndham Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.