We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tenampa

El Tenampa
4565 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL
407 397 1981
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 654 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We haven't had any good Mexican food for awhile, so chose this place based on Trip Advisor. Very happy with the choice.

Excellent (and large) margaritas started the dinner. Pollo Nachos came soon after -- an unusual but delicious nachos (add some hot sauce from table choices to spice it up though). Entree was enchiladas and chile relenos. Both were good, though we really liked the relenos.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    65
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Kissimmee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As per other reviewers, it does not look like anything special from the outside, but the atmosphere inside, and food, is great! Most entrees less than $10. Really authentic Mexican cuisine. Service a bit slow but it was very busy (even on Monday)! Highly recommend the margaritas. We were disappointed they were out of fried ice cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic tasting Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Delicious large portions very authentic. Nice casual ambiance felt like Mexico. Pricy margaritas and a rude waitress with a bizarre sense of humor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance MI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good, not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and son and I had dinner here on a Tuesday night. Should not have had a 40 minute wait after ordering but hey, what do we know. My son and I had shrimp fajitas, they came out sizzling and wonderful. My hubby had the steak wet burrito and the steak was burned and semi cold inside the mildly warm shell. He wasn't pleased but ate half. Margaritas that I usually adore was too sweet. The ambiance is good, decor nice. Waiters were running, seemed like they had too many tables to cover.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“YES YES YES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

First of all, I spent about a decade in the Southwest, Second, I have an expensive belly, consisting of lots of different restaurants and styles. This is the place!

The Best Mexican Food I have ever tasted. Traditional done very well. You could argue that maybe the portions were too large or that it just had too much cheese, but why? You can easily wash it down with some fresh made Agua de Guayaba. There is a small Mexican grocer, complete with Butcher and Bakery and all the stuff you would find in a large Mexican grocery store, so I'm thinking that might make it convenient enough to be authentic and there is some pretty fair art actually painted on the wall and chairs, but it is the food that stands out the most. It is the very best I have had, bar none, even in Mexico and AZ. Right after opening it gets filled up, the parking lot is always full. I am considering putting down all my other reviews on star so this stands out better!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tenampa also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to El Tenampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tenampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.