We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy Night a must see great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comedy Night a must see great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First timers at Orange Lake the staff was very friendly and helpful we asked what we can do on property we are not theme park people our sever Damaris suggested Comedy Night it was fun and a great value all you can eat buffet and a laugh out loudshow was a comedy magician my aunt was picked to go on stage was got lots of great photos. Thank you for a great night Orange Lake

Room Tip: try to be close to the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    1,158
    439
    275
    273
See reviews for
2,393
387
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently had a wonderful stay at this resort. I wasn't in-town to head off to the theme parks, so I can't give any experiences about services related to same. But, I can give experience to the quality of the villa and some of the resort staff.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa. The villa was easy to find and once inside, I was pleasantly surprised. The outsides of the villa do not really match the inside. So, don't let the cover fool you! The inside was decorated nicely and roomy. The bedrooms were very large, as well as the common areas of the villa.

The pool was clean and fun. The restaurant by the pool was nice. There was a lady giving massages pool-side. I would say it was one of the best I've had in a long time! Wow! She did an amazing job!

The management interviewed us about our villa, as well. We told them a couple things (i.e. burnt-out light bulb, coffee pot broken). They fixed everything within 20 minutes. That is amazing service!

I would absolutely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Ask to choose villa's by the pools. There aren't any sidewalks on the property, so you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing how our guests spent their vacation time with us. We’re so pleased to have been able to play home-base to your Orlando theme park vacation. We appreciate you giving our staff the opportunity to address and needs that you encountered during your stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are timeshare owners at Orange Lake for more than 10 years, and I have to say that it is one of the best places in the Orlando Area to go with your family. If you dont want to hit the parks every single day, Orange Lake has tons os attractions, from toddlers to teens.
The only thing is that I stayed in a house that had some roaches around, but no big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had the best time at this resort, I would absolutely stay here again. The accommodations were top notch and the villa that we stayed in was very well appointed. I'm glad we decided to invest in this time share, because we be staying here again and again!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Greetings, it’s great to hear from you about your recent vacation stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are RCI owners and exchanged our Vacation Villas for this resort, staying in 2 2-bdr first floor villas in the East Village with a total of 8 people (all ranging from 3-70 years of age)

LOCATION:
You are conveniently located within a 10-15min drive from Walt Disney World and about 30 from Universal, 45 from Legoland. But - the resort doesn't shuttle to these locations, so be prepared to drive yourself or pay the $16 per day shuttle fees. The resort is also situated near many restaurants, Publix, Target, etc. HOWEVER - the East Village property is backed up to the Animal Kingdom's lovely fertilization center which emits the most DISGUSTING fumes of animal feces. All day long, when the wind kicks in a tiny bit, you get these nasty wafts of poo. You know it's bad when a 3-year-old complains, lol

HOTEL ARRIVAL
Brief check-in, no issues. You will get asked to do timeshare presentations and such. If you want your kids to go in the lazy river, water slides, for FREE, you should do the 1-hour driving presentation in the golf cart around the resort. The lazy river typically costs just under $10 per day and the slide around the same. Otherwise, not worth it. The 100-pt arcade cards they issued us didn't end up working, and the games range from 50-pts to 100, regardless, so they're virtually useless. The tour guide was quoting a 3bdr villa at 40k for timeshare purchase. That's highway robbery, especially for this resort in particular. During the presentation, they knocked it alllllll the way down to 6k. That's disturbing. There was no way we were willing to trade our Vacation Villas for this location.

ROOM
We had two villa/condos in Building 88000, both 2-bdr/2-ba on the bottom floor. The master bds had kings with large jet-jacuzzi tubs, large vanity, working desk, etc. Very spacious. The guest bdr had 2 doubles and a small vanity/closet. Both rooms had tube TVs with basic cable. The main room had a full kitchen with bar, overlooking large living room with 2 couches and a full dining set with booth/chairs; very spacious and comfortable. The rooms were all very large and there was also a washer/dryer closet. We used these A LOT. They left plenty of toilet paper, dish detergent, trash/recycle bags, shampoos, etc. If you run out, Publix is just right outside of the resort. Bugs were a big problem, for us. From lonnnngg caterpillars to lots and lots of cockroaches to frogs, we had many visitors. The doors aren't sealed well enough to keep these critters out and you're near wooded areas, so they're bound to be lurking. Pest control isn't up to par, at this resort, unfortunately. However - we're from FL and we know the drill, so we weren't too alarmed/shocked. But, for those who want 5-star amenities without a bug in sight, you're definitely going to need to stay elsewhere.

RESTAURANTS
We never utilized the property restaurants. We heard lots of complaints on the pizza, so we ordered from 'Flippers' in the shopping center outside of the resort, very yummy. We did, however, go to the Starbucks in the North Village, which was good. Our parents also visited the River Island poolside bar and such, and enjoyed it.


POOL/LAZY RIVER/SLIDES
Both the River Island area and the North Village pools and amenities were entertaining, clean and enjoyable for the kids. The slide is a little too big for our girls, but looked pretty cool. Just be prepared to pay for these additional things, like the lazy river.

STAFF
They were fine. They push timeshare sells, a LOT. The maintenance staff in our building didn't speak very good English, so we really didn't speak with them much when we saw them taking out the garbage, etc. No problems with STAFF/Customer Service, they seemed nice enough. The gate greeters were always friendly and very willing to give directions and such.

CLEANLINESS
It was so-so, inside of the villas. However, not very well maintained outside of our rooms. Animals kept getting in to the garbage cans that weren't properly sealed. bugs were always all over, especially cockroaches. And there was a huge disgusting chunk of weave/hair right in the lot where we parked our cars that was there for the entire weeek lol

WEATHER
If you've never been to FL and are going during the summer/early Fall months, it's HOT HOT HOTTTTTTT and grossly humid! Bring sunblock, extra bottles of water, bug spray, etc! And don't forget your rain jackets and/or ponchos, plastic stroller covers, etc. It rains essentially every day for at least 30min to a few hours.


HOTEL SECURITY
Gate guards check for passes in your vehicle and won't let you in without them unless you're visiting people on the property and they'll contact those members before admittance. There are safes in the rooms, in the left cabinet next to the stove/oven. It's fine security BUT the door locks aren't great. I had latched the chain latch on our room while my husband was out at the store and I was alone with the kids. He simply unlocked the door w/the key and tried to open the door and popped the chain right out of it's socket. It was secured with the tiniest screws ever. It was insanely easy to disengage this. he wasn't even trying to open the door forcefully. They need to replace these. They're really cheap/poor quality.

CHECK-OUT
It's way too early of a checkout, 10am. 11 would be more efficient, especially if traveling with small children and old relatives. They do offer express checkout. Just call them up, checkout over the phone and drop your keys in the box on the way out of the gate. We were also granted a late checkout when requested, for 12pm. This was convenient, however, during this late checkout we had over 3 people knock on our door to try to clean it... one came in to switch out the air filters. It was just annoying. There was really no privacy after 9am on the day of checkout.

Honestly - this hotel shouldn't be rated an RCI Gold Crown. It was mediocre, at best. Granted, yes, there are some cool property features like the lazy river/multiple pools and the giant slide, but the rooms are just 'fine', the bugs are annoying and the smell in the East Village is just unbearable. I definitely won't recommend this place to friends/family. It's too far from Disney, in regards to shuttle service and such. If they offered free shuttles, it might help. But it's still not that convenient. It was an enjoyable experience, b/c of the people we had in tote, but the quality of this resort is just not up to par with some of the nicer surrounding resorts.

Room Tip: DON'T stay in the East Village, smells terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive overview of your stay at our resort. While we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your vacation, we’re disappointed to learn of the other aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. You are correct that our resort is larger than other surrounding timeshare resorts. We always encourage our guests to bring a car, as this is the most economical way to enjoy our resort and Orlando’s world-class attractions. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service around our resort every day. We are also happy to help you arrange transportation to any Orlando attraction as needed. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away of any needs or issues they encounter during their stay, as we want you to have the best vacations possible. We apologize that the weather did not cooperate during your stay as well. We would love the opportunity to host you again in the future to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and 3 year old daughter returned almost 1 year to the date for a week long stay at the Orange Lake Resort. The experience was relatively consistent to last year's except this time we had no issues with ants or any bugs in the room. Last year we did the timeshare and received $120 cash and this year we accepted a $120 voucher toward any restaurants on the resort property (this worked out very well). They had our information in the system regarding our prior timeshare visit, but we were able to do another w/out the hard sale pressure. If we return next year, I'm sure that would be more difficult so we might skip the presentation.

PROS:
This a solid 4 star resort for the price (just $395 x 3 from Chicago for hotel & air for 1 week). The best thing about this resort is that you do not need a car and there is an assortment of pools, waterslides, and water activities on site (our daughter loved this). The shuttle service is excellent. It drops you off anywhere on the property and we used it to take us 5 minutes to the edge of the property and walked to Super Target to buy groceries (Publix is a rip-off - don't go here). Since we purchased refridgerated items, we took a cab back to the room which only cost $8 including tip. This is a value you cannot get at any other resort. Sure, we had to pay separately for shuttles to Magic Kingdom (we went 2x during the week), but this cost was still much less than renting a car. The room was relatively updated and we took the phone off the hook at night so not to be annoyed by random timeshare/activity phone calls.

CONS:
The worst part of the hotel or I should say the most annoying part is the tube rental fees. This is still a tacky practice of the resort. I suggested to the Tripadvisor responder Ashley ways to eliminate the Water Play/tube fees, but she obviously ignored this so I will suggest it again: Ashley, it is very tacky to charge guests for example $9 to use a tube. It obviously infuriates many guest as it should b/c nobody likes to feel nickel and dimed. To avoid this, simply increase the room rate slightly for all guests and incorporate the tube fee in that increase. Guests will not even know the difference, and as such, won't be infuriated or annoyed. Also, a resort fee of about $7 per day per person is also tacky. Again, eliminate or even reduce this this annoying fee and increase the rate of the room. Guests won't notice the difference. Guests don't like to feel nickel and dimed and decreases the chance for repeat customers. It annoyed us so much last year that we considered other resorts this year, but could not pass up a Priceline.com deal for the slow time of year (Sept.).

All in all, we had a good experience again, however, the tacky Water activity and tube fees need to go. To continue being perceived as a solid 4 star resort, such annoying fees should be eliminated and the resort fees should be reduced or eliminated and incorporated into an increased room rate fee.

I'd be happy to entertain any questions via email.

Room Tip: The Suites only look into the interior of the property's courtyard. This may still be worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience for your most recent stay with us. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests. Please know that we take all comments and suggestions provided on TripAdvisor are communicated to our senior staff and executives, as our communication staff is not responsible for these resort operations decisions. We apologize if you felt that some of the amenities around the resort made you feel overcharged. While our resort is not all-inclusive, we are pleased to offer many amenities free-of-charge to our guests such as seven pools, waterslides, kids golfing free and many more. However, we do charge for some of our premium amenities such as poolside massages, watersports, golfing on our award-winning courses and river island tubes. However, a great way to take advantage of these amenities we charge for is to buy a play-pass. Available in multi-day increments, these passes offer unlimited access to River Island lazy river tubes, miniature golf the THE HIPPO. We appreciate your thoughts on what we can do to improve the guest experience in the future We would love the opportunity to host you again for another family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here wasn't hassled by anyone to do time share we told them no that was the end of it there were six of us ages 14-81 we had a property in east village was fantastic I would defenetly go back here again and recommend to all my family and friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing from our guests about their stay with us. It sounds like every one of all ages in your group had a nice time spending your vacation together. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon for more vacation fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.