We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 159 hotels in Kissimmee
Dunlop
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a 2 bed villa in the west village, although the property is circa 1982 it is well maintained & more developed than the new parts of the resort.
We have had no problems with insects & we were treated to an otter fishing just outside our villa in a small pool.
The accommodation is very comfortable, spacious & clean.
The only critters that should be avoided on site are the timeshare sales staff, do not go there, they promise a 1 hour tour & 2.5 hours later you feel awkward that you have not bought from them, after all what's $ 41,000 between you & your new timeshare best friend !
Apart from that great pools / facilities / scenery / wildlife.
The lazy river is pretty good but a float costs you $9 + tax / day so not cheap if you have a family, best idea hire 1 & take turns.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi there! It’s great to hear from a guest whose stay is in-progress! What a great way to take advantage of the resort’s complimentary Wifi. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your stay in the West Village and finding all the room you need to relax in our two-bedroom villas. As you mentioned, it’s where Orange Lake Resort got its start, but as you also noted, it constantly being enhanced. So, thanks for mentioning the recent renovations and nearby amenities, like Water’s Edge Beach Club in your review. Probably one of the best - but sometimes under appreciated - aspects of the resort is its wildlife, and it delights us that you got a peak at a River Otter. They’re shy and seldom seen, but we frequently sight Bald Eagles, Sandhill Cranes and more on our 1,450 acres, some of which is protected wetlands. Feel free to join us on our morning nature walk for more info about the resort's natural features. And, If there’s anything we can do to improve your stay, please don’t hesitate to give us call. Thanks, again, and enjoy the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,097
    859
    327
    221
    223
See reviews for
1764
289
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in a 2 room villa April 26 - 28, 2013. When we opened the door we were immediately greeted by the overwhelming smell of black mold and mildew. We read another review like this but thought it could not happen again. Sorry to say it did. The room appeared to be recently renovated and freshly painted. It was a large space for our family with an aoutdoor pation on the golf course.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Christopher, We pride ourselves in not only the size of our villas but their cleanliness too. This is why we’re concerned about the odor and potential presence of mold in one of our newly renovated villas. We hope you informed management while you were here, but we’re also going to message you privately in an attempt to learn more about your stay so we can inspect the villa. Thank you for bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is huge and the staff is only concerned about selling you a time share, HINT, be more concerned about making the guest experience wonderful, then maybe more interest in the sales pitch. Check in was ridiculous, long lines not enough staff (except for the people standing by to herd you to the "time share sales, lots of them" When it was our turn the experience became even worse. The male individual would not make eye contact and was quite agitated to have been there. We are a quiet family with zero requests, I could not fathom why he was so rude. Told myself ahead of time be kind to the time share sellers let them say their peace as this is their job, well NO that did not last. As Florida residents there is no way we would do this I was kind in my message and the response was well I am going to keep you about 10 minutes more, humm I just paid so you are on my dime we just walked away and he screamed after us "You just lost yourselves $120.00 to spend here" Awful experience, we finally found our room and it was nice and clean, did have squirrels in the ceiling but by this time we were done. We were in the west village on a golf course, if this isn't your thing (not ours but we did not know) book at River Island. This place has potential, but they should place focus on a new mission statement, customers experience first, then sales. A change in focus would be the only thing to bring us back. To be fair it was nice and quiet and the bed as well as the shower pressure were excellent. Take your phone off the hook immediately to enjoy not being hounded, very close to off site restaurants and Publix as well, much more affordable off property.

Room Tip: Request River Island for fun. West Village golf course views, East Disney Fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings to a fellow Floridian, It was a pleasure having you, and we appreciate the feedback you shared in your review. Despite your personal experience, we can assure you that our first and foremost concern is to the safety and quality of the guest experience we provide. While we’re sorry this was not reflected during your arrival, we will share your comments with management in an attempt to prevent our future guests from feeling similarly. And to help demonstrate our customer first approach, we’re going to contact you privately here on TripAdvisor so we can discuss any additional concerns you may have. Thank you, again, for the comments and the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

As a gift, someone gave us a week of their timeshare. After trying to figure out all the options, we selected Holiday Inn at Orange Lake due to it's proximity to Disney World and overall good reviews. This was our first time at a timeshare so we had some adjusting to do in regards to things like lack of housekeeping, but once we accepted that reality, everything else went great. The complaints about the smell on the east side are true, nothing the resort can do about that. Do you want them to fire up a giant fan? Sue Animal Kingdom? We only smelled it twice and that was due to the wind direction.

The staff, at least the limited contact we had with them, seemed friendly. They called the first day at 8:45 am to ask us to go to a timeshare presentation. Once we declined, we were never asked about it again.

There was plenty of parking and it was really quiet. I would recommend this place to anyone staying for a Disney vacation. Just be aware that this is a timeshare, so you're expected to take care of the housekeeping yourself. We're not messy people so it wasn't an issue at all. We felt at home, a really nice home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Aaron! Thanks for selecting Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort for your Disney getaway. We really enjoyed having you! Your review describes exactly why so many guests choose to stay with us: Convenient location next to the theme parks, 80% positive review rating, and everything there is to do onsite. You also bring up one of the perks of ownership, which is the ability to gift resort stays to your friends and family. Please be sure to thank the owner on our behalf! Thanks also for pointing out that as a timeshare resort there are some nuances compared to a traditional hotels stay. On one hand, it’s a home-away-from-home where you can shop, dine, play and golf. On the other, some services like daily housekeeping come at an additional charge. Truth be told, most of our guests prefer the privacy, peace and quiet and do just as you did...straighten up as you go. Thanks, again, for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We checked in to this hotel and were immediately bombarded by staff trying to sell us timeshares. If you are thinking that maybe other people were just unlucky when listing that as a complaint, you would be wrong. They hound you and HOUND you. We called to find out if we could check in an hour early and were promptly told that we would not be issued a room until we got here and checked in, so they could not tell us whether in fact our room is ready. I find it very hard to believe there is no way for them to check on this. We got to the room, and at first look, it's nice. On closer inspection, there was MOLD in the guest shower bath (see pictures) and dust behind both doors in the bathrooms (on the walls) that looked like it had been there for awhile. There were no wash cloths left in the villa. Our room backed up to a golf course hole, and while my kids were outside playing, someone actually told them to get back inside, because they were not playing in a safe area!! Why put kids in a room that sits up against the course then??? We were called every day, messages left on the phone, trying to get us to come see their presentation. We were excited to use the lazy river, until finding out that it was $9, per person, per day to use their tubes, and no you cannot bring your own! Buying your theme park tickets here is not a good idea, so heed other travelers' advice and get them elsewhere. It is a quick drive to the attractions, and the grounds are maintained nicely. Will I stay here again? Negative. Would I try other resort in this chain (Animal Kingdom, other other states/countries)? Sure. Also, we were charged an $86 cleaning fee, but have not seen one person during our stay. It was not a huge issue since we had a washer and dryer in our unit, and I am assuming that the $86 will pay for someone to come change the sheets and vacuum.

It IS nice to have all the amenities of home while on vacation. Having the kitchen allowed us to save money on eating out, and the washer and dryer allowed us to carry less luggage. However, that is not enough to keep us from checking out a day early and heading to Cocoa Beach!

Room Tip: Stay at a different resort. There are many others in the area much cleaner and more competitively pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Unfortunately, it sounds as though Orange Lake Resort was not exactly what you were looking for. While we’re happy to hear you say you enjoyed the resort’s convenient location next to the parks, full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer as well as the landscaped grounds, it disappoints us to hear that some things like us being timeshare resort with golf course-side villas and that there are additional fees for tube rentals and miniature golf were not explained prior to your arrival. It should’ve also been explained that the official check-in time is at 4:00pm, and while we do our best to accommodate early arrivals, they are not guaranteed. This is because we do not pre-assign rooms. It's what helps us grant as many reservation requests as possible while ensuring our owners and members get the room they own. We understand it’s a little different than a traditional hotel and appreciate your understanding. There are other aspects of your stay, however, that concern us, like the cleanliness of your villa, cleaning fee you say you were charged and comments regarding our staff. We’d like the opportunity to speak to you about these and have sent you a private message in an attempt to make it right. It’s disappointing to hear you left early, but wish you all the best in Cocoa Beach. Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I will start with the bad news first but read on as I also have good things to say. We went to the reception desk to buy a 2day pass to Universal Studios plus I day at Sea World. The cost we were given was $499 and just to be sure we checked the figure a few days later. The tourism kiosk down the road on the 192 charged us $427 for the two of us and assured us that it was the correct price and not a discounted price. Thats over $70 cheaper for two people. So my advice is to shop around before buying your ticket.
Now to the good news. We are staying in a two bed apartment over looking the golf course. The rooms are large and well appointed. Very clean with crisp white bed linen. The apartment has washer and a dryer plus washing powder. The kitchen has everything you need and the two bathrooms, one en suite, are large, clean and lots of draw space. The bedrooms have plenty of hanging/draw space.
The complex is very large and well maintained with swimming pools and a lazy river. Ideal for kids and grown ups. Only a 10 minute drive from Disney attractions.i

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not next to the main 192 highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you gave yourself the time that you deserved to relax around the resort. We apologize if you felt that the attraction prices at our resort did not match those that you found at offsite discount kiosks. Our prices are those authorized to sell by Orlando theme parks and attractions, and are also guaranteed to be honored by those theme parks. We would love the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family owns a timeshare at another property close to Orange Lake. This vacation we decided to book here in a 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom unit. We are staying in the West Village on the 1st floor and the 4th floor in the 5400 series. We have enjoyed our stay and there are many things to do. We frequent the area but it was the first time for my 2 year old son. The Disney parks are close and easily accessible (but you do need a car). We have eaten at most facilities and been pleased with the food and most of the staff. My family did transfer from our old resort to this one as we have been happy with the space and cleanliness of the resort. The golf was great as well! Thank you for a lovely stay! Our only advice is to please keep young children on the ground level when possible as the stomping and crying woke up our children from the family above.

Room Tip: We know the West Village is gorgeous but very close to early golf carts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your recent stay with us. It’s always great to hear from guests who gave us a chance and loved what they found when they tried us out. Thank you for the great tips that you give for future travelers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Also Known As:
Orange Lake Resort
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Country
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort & Country Club
Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.