We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for 10 years, but not anymore!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 10 years, but not anymore!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I want to really love this place, but the last two years have been horrible. Orange Lake is more worried about sales, sales, sales... They have over built this resort but forgot to over build the pool areas. You cannot find any where to sit, I had to sit on the pavement my entire week I was here. When I spoke with the MOD (manager on duty) I was told to use the other pools??? Really Captain Obvious??? I didn't pay all of this money to use the average pool. If I wanted an average pool I would of booked the Holiday Inn Express for $98 a night. The trash is over flowing everywhere, the bartenders and wait staff are slow and they add the gratuity automatically? Ummmm... last I checked you earned gratuity. Now I am rewarding staff that takes 20 minutes to make a drink??? This place is a joke. For the money I paid, I can book anywhere in the country for the same price. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again. You got money for the last 10 years, but not anymore...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    1,092
    408
    266
    262
See reviews for
2287
360
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Property was very nice. Villa was clean and comfortable, right on golf course. We didn't use any resort facilities so resort fee is a waste for us, and pushy saslesman trying to get us to take a timeshare presentation could have spoiled it from the beginning, but once you put that behind you it was a very nice stay. Safe and accessible to Disney and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let's get one thing straight from the get-go. This is a time-share deal, and they are pretty aggressive about wanting you to do the spiel. You have to be very firm about not wanting to discuss the tour, not wanting the $100 tickets, or any of that jazz. Then they'll leave you alone.

Check in was probably the hurdle. We arrived right at 4:00, as did everyone else. So we waited. Once we got to the counter it went very smoothly. After checking in, we were herded to the "appointment desk" under the guise of activiating our $20 resort voucher. I shut that down quickly and we were on our way to the room.

We stayed in the newer, River Island (or whatever it's called) section, room 82102. This was PERFECT. The condo itself is pretty great. Two large bedrooms, two large bathrooms, a well stocked kitchen, and out back, a screened porch with access to the lazy-river/pool area directly across from the room.

The beds were comfortable, a bit on the soft side for me, but I slept fine. Although our unit was right off of the lobby, it was quiet.

There's a Publix right by the eastern exit, so that's a great place to stock up on any groceries you may want. China Star, in the same plaza, is a servicable place for take out or delivery (we did both). Reasonably priced and really decent food. We did both take out one night and deliver another night and each time it was fast and good.

I wish we had stayed a couple more days as due to weather, we didn't get to enjoy everything the resort had to offer.

The room looked exactly like the picture on the website.

Room Tip: First floor, and in the River Section is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our 2nd time to Orange Lake in 5 years. Both times we choose to stay in a 2 bedroom in the River Island section. There is an arcade, giftshop, coffee/icecream shop, and restaurant in the River Island complex. Check in was quick and we avoided the timeshare pitch. We unplugged the phones when we checked in. The weather was cool for March so the pool wasn't as crowded on those days. When it warmed up, all seats were taken by 10am. There were plenty of towels by the pool but they are small. The pool water was warm. The fun zone passes only include the mini golf, tube and hippo slide. Not so sure it's such a good value for the 7 day pass. The rock wall and trampolines are no longer there. The shuttles run from 7am til 12am about every 20 minutes if you do not have a car. We enjoyed the comedy/magic show onsite, it was funny and entertaining for the whole family. This is a cashless resort but we applied cash to our bill at the frontdesk to avoid having a large credit card bill at checkout. The kids bought gift cards at the giftshop with thier money and used them for ice cream & tattoos etc...instead of charging everthing to the room. The speedboat rentals were $40 per 1/2 hour on the lake. The boats went fast (14 yrs + could drive but an adult must ride with them). The west village has a free computer + printer to print out airline boarding passes only. It's open 24 hrs + we took advantage of it. You can pay to use the computers to search the web. You can also rent DVD movies for $3.00 in the computer lounges in the West village and River Island. Request a pool view because some of the River Island rooms overlook the parking lot. We called to have the TV fixed and it took multiple calls but it did get fixed. Housekeeping brought up pillowcases for the pull out sofa soon after we called for them.

Room Tip: Higher pool view floors in River Island have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi there, thank you for letting us know about your family getaway with us. It’s so nice to hear that our guests give themselves the time that they deserve to relax and enjoy themselves around the resort. It’s always nice to get exactly what you want out of a vacation. You are correct that we offer our guests the option to charge to their villas, and our guests seem to enjoy not having to keep up with cash or credit cards. Thank you for giving us the option to address any needs you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want to take your family on vacation and still have some R&R, this is the place to go. PLENTY to do for everyone. Also, all the attractions are a short distance but you really don't have to leave the resort, there's lots to do there without having to go anywhere. There's a Publix supermarket about a quarter of a mile down the road so you can shop for essentials.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation with us, we’re so happy that you enjoyed your time spent in and around the resort. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My only complaint is the ever expanding of the property and the limited concern for owners. Rather than continuing to build more units, the resort should focus on it's guests, try using the Disney model. I remember when Orange Lake was accessible, and the West village pools were much larger. The East village is the ideal location if you want to avoid noise and crowds. Lastly, avoid spring break/Easter timeframe when visiting Orange Lake or Orlando...complete chaos everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi there, and thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. You are correct that the spring break time is popular for visitors all over Orlando looking to get away at this popular time. Thank you for your thoughts about our service, as we want to make sure that you have the best vacation experience possible. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The reason we picked this hotel in the first place was because my mother's job, Auto Trader, recommended it. Not only did they recommended the place, they paid some of the price. It was almost impossible to say no.

When you are booking a room with Orange Lake, they are completely honest with the price..( I mean, they have to be right? Well, no) What they do NOT tell you is that there is a 250$ security fee before they even let you in. See that 250$ dollars was or attraction money, and without it we would be forced to just stay in the hotel. With all the cool things to do at the resort itself, that was not SO BAD. But we only came to Florida to go to Disney World... not to lay around in a resort.

So, when we got up to the front desk, they told us about the fee. Me and my mother instantly started crying. Like, what kind of restarted resort doesn't tell you about THAT MUCH MONEY!?! Of course they had a way of getting around having to tell us. My mom called and called
maybe 10 times asking if there were any "extra fees". I think the resort called it an incidental fee. Even know incidental is not security, it basically means the same thing and they still should have told us.

My mom never cries. I have lived with her for a pretty long time and that was the first time I saw her cry. We came a long way to that resort and we didn't expect that mess. I only cried because if you're standing in a hotel front desk, and suddenly hear some child crying her eyes out to death, you know someone did something wrong. I don't just cry for no reason, and that Resort was big enough a reason to make someone of ANY AGE cry. Don't you think they should tell you about 250 freaking dollars? Of course they would give it back when we left, but we still needed that money for Disney.

Also, when my mom was on the phone with them, hey said the timeshare thing was NOT nessisary( I know it's spelled wrong). Well even though I don't remember if it turned out being nessisary or not, we went on it, and it was like three hours long. Let me just say DON'T GO ON THE TIMESHARE THINGY(lol). They do everything possible to make you say you want to buy a timeshare, and if you say no they just make these desperate looking faces and look all sad at the ground.

We did not get to go to Disney that
day because of the timeshare presentation. It took a while and those people were really determined to et you to buy a timeshare.

Overall if it wasn't for the mess with the incidental fee, I would have absolutely loved this very luxurious and fun resort :).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay. We apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. You are correct that, like many hotels in Orlando and the US, we do charge an incidental fee upon check-in for charges that you could incur during your stay and security. We pride ourselves on charging a low fee of $250, unlike many area hotels that charge over $1,000 no matter the length of your stay. We apologize if you felt that this was not made clear to you at the time of booking, as it is on the confirmation page that shows at the time of booking. Also, our property tours are a great way to find out about our resort, however they are always 100% optional for our guests looking to learn more about our programs. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay around the resort, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.