We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Great, Some Terrible!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 158 hotels in Kissimmee
Victoria, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Some Great, Some Terrible!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've been going to Orange Lake for over 25 years, with my parents, as an adult and now as a parent myself with my children. I've seen it all in all stages and their are some really great things about the resort, I wish I could rate it higher, but there's just a few things they need to start doing better. Here's my review.

Accomodations:
I've stayed everywhere, here's my take
River Island: It's nice to stay in river island if you have kids, if you don't avoid it at all costs, there's other great pools, also I personally don't like it because it feels more like a hotel rather than your own vacation condo. DO NOT get a "forest view" which means you are overlooking the parking lot and road which are very busy and noisy. The rooms are quite nice, new decor, nice kitchen, great TV's and bathrooms.
North Village: This is my favorite place to stay as I love the pool it's nice and not as busy as the others but BEWARE they have not updated the kitchens or bathrooms in the units and they are BAD!!! Extremely bad, crumbling cabinets, broken tiles, dirty old! They did update the decor but not the kitchens or bathrooms and they are in bad shape. So find out if they've been updated before you go or for the same price you can stay in the west village which has been updated
West Village: Great location as it's by the front of the resort, they have redone these units so they have updated kitchens and decor, great place to stay. The units have a different layout so they seem a little smaller in my opinion to any of the other locations.
East Village: Newer but do not have the updated kitchens and bathrooms but they are in better shape then the north village but they are really far from anything but are very quiet if that's what you are looking for.

Service:
The service is REAL hit or miss, for some reason I always get great service at breezes for several years now. The service at the golf courses is horrible, impossible to get a tee time or to get someone to answer the phone they also nickel and dime you for everything for golf. Tee's and Towels, etc.
The service at river island is horrible, the restaurants and shops for some reason no one is very helpfun in the shop which is very nice. Front desk, hit or miss i've had both very good and very bad experiences. The holiday inn vacation club people are TERRIBLE. My parents have owned for over 25 years and even they hate it. You can get some good free stuff if you sit through their presentation if you can stand it but it's very high pressure and they are rude. We avoid it every year!

Pools: AWESOME! #1 reason to go, they have 3 pool areas that are huge and perfect for kids, they have a lazy river at river island which is great, as well as a beach sand area. It's always packed there so get to the pool early but the kids of all ages will love it. West village has a great pool area as well as a lake with sand beach. North village also has a huge pool area with large kiddie pool, slide, waterfall. There is so much for kids to do!

Food: Surprisingly the food is actually pretty good, they have a ton of choices, Marketplace, Pizza, Bar and Grill. Here's the good and the bad
Good: The pizza place is great! Good Pizza reasonable prices, The Legacy bar and grill has great bar food! Breezes has really great food and you can sit and eat by the pool.
The Bad: River Island Grilling Company and Anchors are horrible. Anchors is outdoors and is absolutely disgusting, the food is bad and its filthy! River Island Grilling Company is their "nice" restaurant, the food and service are terrible, don't bother go off the grounds!

Overall I really like this place thre's just a few things that can be improved upon and it will be a much better place to stay, the grounds are great! Great place to stay with kids!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,375
    1,072
    401
    265
    258
See reviews for
2240
356
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pancake Hill, New Brunswick
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend 3 nights there in February, 2013. The villa we stayed in did require a refurbishing. While it was clean, the carpets need replacement and the decor should be updated as well as the appliances. The staff are outstanding. The amenities on the resort are excellent. A worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us. It’s always important on vacation. We appreciate your comments regarding updating our villas. We are currently undergoing renovations throughout the resort, because of feedback like yours. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

When you get there you are treated as a GUEST. Then FRIEND. Luxury accommodations and many things to do. Golf, Shop, Swin, Eat (HMMMM GOOOOOOD), and SERVICE with a SMILE. Everyone was friendier than you could imagine. Made reservations through IHC. Went to a owners tour. Very interested, but didn't buy. That was it. NO PRESSURE. Will definately return. River Island Grilling Co. on site is a must for GOOOOOD food and service. (LISA & THOMAS). Will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Check with Trip Advisor and others for DEALS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings and welcome home from your recent stay with us in Orlando. Nothing makes us happier than hearing how our guests were able to enjoy their vacation with us. We constantly strive to make sure you have the best vacation experience possible, and we’re so glad to hear that our staff was able to make your stay that much better. We can’t wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We are back for our fourth visit. We are owners for 16 months now. Stay is west village usually. This time river island. Love it. The room is a small one bedroom but at the end so no noise. Very comfortable. Note in kitchen only has a microwave convection oven not a regular oven. Also has two burners only. But it's good for two. If you are considering the one bedroom clubhouse this is a much better option. You would so much more comfortable here. It has a stackable washer and dryer. Small living room with couch and chair. Nice two chair screened in patio. The bathroom has a garden tub not a jacuzzi. The bed room is with a king size bed and small but good enough. The bed was nice. The pillows stink. The unit was not cleaned that good. The kitchen was not cleaned enough. The counters were sticky and burner and micro dirty. The dishes needed to be rewashed. I had to pay for maintenance um if I had to clean up please tell me why I had to clean up. But other than that complaint it was a nice unit. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that your most recent stay with us was a pleasant one. Our villas are thoroughly cleaned and inspected by our Housekeeping department in-between guests. However, we apologize if we may have missed something. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away of any needs or issues they encounter during their stay. We look forward to hosting you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been owners here for about 15 years and come here about 1/4 of the time. All units are large and comfortable. Skip the owner update. It has never been anything but an owner upgrade pressure sales pitch. I won't send friends on the promos I get because I don't want to subject them to a 2 hour sales presentation. Pay-go-enjoy.
Huge property with lots to do. Multiple pool complexes, lake and beach with water activities, multiple golf course choices, tennis, handball, fitness centers, kiddy theater, arcades, bars, resturants, shopping, activities and more. Courtesy shuttle to get around. On our last visit we never left the property other than to visit friends and a couple dinners off property. Seem to remember some sort of minor maintenance issue each time we are there. The more important ones get taken care of, but don't expect everything to get fixed.

West Village: Older area. mostly small villas along golf courses. We like that, quiet, no running in the hallway, limited neighbor noise. We own and usually stay here. A little distance to everything yet closest to everything, best shuttle availability. Centeral complex has registration, kids area with arcade and theater, lake beach, pool complex, resturant/bar, put put, fitness center, tennis courts, golf center, & more.

North Village: Great kiddy pool complex. On lighted 9 hole par 3 course. kind of off in the corner. Most units a long walk to pool complex with little or no shuttle service till you walk to the main access roads.

East Village: Golfers paradise. Really out of the way from the rest of the resort. Like North Village, limited shuttle service. Bring a car or bikes. Legends grill with nightly activities. Best views of the Disney fireworks.

River Island: Have stayed here twice. All units right at lazy river pool complex with 0 entry walk in pools for the kids. Resturant, bars, shops and nightly entertainment. Units are high rise hotel style and as such you get noise from hall and neighbors. Pool area gets very crowded.

Room Tip: See notes above. Each village has a different character. Know what you want to do. If you wnat to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was impressed with the 2 bedroom suite that we were renting for 5 days at Orange Lakes Resort and was looking forward to having several days to get back in shape. Went to the Fitness facility at the West Village and it was not very well supplied. To work out today, then, I went to the on our way to the supposedly 90 minute sales pitch for the Time Share. One had to drive to the West gate, and taken in a golf cart about 1/2 mile to another facility for a 150 minute 'discussion' of the advantages of time shares. When told we were not likely interested, we were sent to a place to pick up the offer made for the review and were not taken back to our car and were left to our own to get back. Went to the Fitness facility at this location. The sound for the TV on 6 bikes and 3 eliptical machines did not work and the eliptical machines clinked and clanked and were not usable. That was 0/2.
The 2 bedroom North Village room was very nice, clean and if that is all that is needed, you will be pleased. Would not recommend the Time Share presentation unless you are interested-they may get you back to your car!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It’s so wonderful that you were able to enjoy your time at the resort. We appreciate you taking the time to attend one of our property tour presentations. We understand that vacation ownership may not be for everyone, and we appreciate you considering us. Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your thoughts on our fitness facilities. We strive to make sure all of our guests have the best possible time in and around our resort. We have passed along your thoughts to our resort team and would love to host you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I wish I could write good things about this resort because the property is beautiful and the villas and condos are nicely furnished but that all I can say about it.
The management is the worst I have seen. The service is extremely poor and the cleanliness and maintenance of property is pathetic. We stayed on this property in Dec 2012 and whatever could have gone bad did.
First we were assigned a condo and when we reached the building was dark and there were racoons roaming on the outside, we entered the condo only to find that the washer dryer is sitting in the middle of the hallway and is blocking access to one room. We were sent to a villa next and there we found a frog in the kitchen, called the front desk and nobody came that night, so closed our bedroom doors and went to sleep. In the morning, my daughter went to use the restroom and came out screaming as that frog was in the toilet now, my husband went to check on that and the frog jumped from the toilet to the shower curtain splashing toilet water every where, called front desk again and by that time half of our family got ready and left for universal using the other restroom and since only one bathroom was usable we were stuck at the villa waiting for someone to resolve the issue, after lunch time someone came to change the shower curtain and take care of the frog but still no house keeping to clean the mess in the bathroom. We went out to entertain the kids as they missed the time for the theme park, when we came back, there was a lizard in the kitchen, again called the front office, no one came and my husband tried to take care of it. I understand that its Florida and you expect these creatures but if in Dec there are so many of them inside then I don't know what to expect in hotter months, I thinks the accommodations would be infested with snakes instead of these reptiles.
When we brought these issues up again at check out, the manager was not at all helpful and said there is nothing he can do except to give us vouchers for breakfast at one of the restaurants on the property, when I have issues about the property, why would I eat there. I will never return to this property and will never recommend it to any one.
I just wish someone will look into this and the Higher Management of Holiday Inn take some serious steps about the lack of cleanliness, poor front desk's response and lack of management's cooperativeness. The property is beautiful but in the hands of wrong management it will just go downhill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate you reaching out to us regarding your recent experience. In an attempt to find out more about your stay with us we have attempted to contact you through private message. We apologize if you issues were not met with the care and concern that our guests have come to expect from a stay with us. We take animal control very seriously at our property, and are surprised to hear of your experience. We appreciate you letting our staff know right away of the issues you encountered. We sincerely apologize if our attempts to make it right did not meet what you were looking for. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.