We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 158 hotels in Kissimmee
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Staying in a large, spacious unit in East Village - 3 beds/3baths. Plenty of space for us all (6) was great. So a big positive vote for the apartment in terms of space and size and layout. Grandparents in front bedroom which has sitting area too, so perfect for them - but pillows are appalling and sheets not large enough to fit the bed. Glass topped coffee table in living room is a nightmare with small children. Nothing in the resort suitable for under 5's - all out door play areas are small and are for 5-12 yr olds. One small indoor room for small children in West Village (we had to take shuttle bus) is very under equipped and staffed by a very bored young girl who did not interact with the children at all.
WE have a corner apartment on the top floor so it is light and large. BUT the road is close and so on the balcony it is noisy but you can't hear it inside the apartment.
VERY easy to get to all of Disney from here so extremely convenient. Publix grocery store almost on site is huge and well stocked with everything (including stuff from UK and other areas of the world) and Target is also very close. So very easy to get provisions.
Huge swimming/pool/play complex at River area. Massages in the cabana.
Everything goes on the room bill - a cashless place. Check bills carefully!
High pressure to go on a time share promotional tour - but then that's always true at these places! But it took 20 minutes to complete check in AFTER we had apartment keys etc as we were passed from desk to desk and person to person to try to persuade us - and we kept saying NO firmly and politely!
We would definitely return if we wanted to do Disney again with family - it is spacious and convenient.

Room Tip: Corner apartment on 6th (top) floor was quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi there, it’s great to hear about your families’ recent getaway with us. We love hearing from our guests about how they spend their vacation time with us. We’re glad to hear that your villa was the perfect place to spread out and still spend time together on vacation. Please make sure to let our staff know right away next time if there is anything that we can do to make your stay the best possible. We hope that you were able to check out splash lagoon in the East Village. The interactive splash pad there is specially geared towards our youngest guests. You are correct that Orange Lake Resort is cashless. You also do have the option to add charges to your final bill, however you can also use your personal credit/debit card for any charges around the resort that you wish. You can’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,374
    1,072
    401
    265
    258
See reviews for
2239
356
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one week as a family, two adults with two young children (actually are checking out tomorrow; it's raining so I'm taking this time to write my review).

Overall, we are very pleased with the resort as a whole and plan to come back next year. We know several people who own units here and their recommendations sealed the deal when we were choosing a place to stay. We got a few bonuses as Priority Club members, like wi-fi in the room, which was a nice touch.

We did two days at Magic Kingdom, plus an extra day in downtown Disney using the discounted tickets we received from Orange Lake Resort. It worked out to about the same price as the two-day tickets we planned on purchasing, with the bonus of one extra day at a Disney attraction outside of the theme parks, so we chose DisneyQuest in Downtown Disney for the extra day.

So... about the timeshare pitch. I've actually owned a timeshare before and am not against the whole concept. I travel a lot and do see the value in owning, especially when you have all of the amenities of a resort property without the work of the upkeep. As part of the pitch, we toured the Riverside buildings - the newer units - but actually preferred the layout and location of the unit we were in, the West Village. The unit we are in is a single-story condo, whereas the Riverside units are in multi-story apartment style buildings. Here, we have two bedrooms, two baths, a ground level patio, a full kitchen, and it's QUIET. We much prefer the townhouse feel and seriously considered buying one of these.

In the timeshare pitch, we indicated we would be more interested in one of these units, but they are a hard sell for the newer ones, where you get more points. They wouldn't even give us *one day* - or a few minutes - to talk about it together, alone. They took us to a separate building after the tour, away from the welcome center where we had left our children in the supervised childcare center. My partner became very annoyed with the hard sales tactics and the fact they wouldn't leave us for even a minute to talk about it. When I said we would need to at least speak about it privately, the salesperson went and got "The Closer," who sat down and said he had heard we were ready to put down our deposit. Um, no?!? I tried to say we were actually interested and not full of it, if they would only give us time to talk about it. That was met with one of the scripted responses about this being a one-time only deal and couldn't we even afford to put down $100. The deposit is neither here nor there; we are not the kind of people to spend $40,000 on a whim. I said we'd love to get a West Village unit if we could have some time to talk about it. No deal, they said; the West Village units are only part of the offering when you're on tour. Even the next day, we wouldn't be able to get the one we want, we would have to get the Riverside unit.

My partner eventually got fed up and said forget it then, you say you're not about pressure sales yet we've been here two and a half hours and it's been nothing but pressure and direct sales tactics meant to make you feel inadequate and less than a person. Seriously, I work in sales and The Closer might as well have been saying, "Don't you love your family?" it was that high pressure.

They said okay then, we'll let you go. Ah, but you then realize you're in a different building on this huge resort and don't know how to get back to your car. Someone else will be right out to help you, they said. The next guy who arrived TRIED TO SELL US ANOTHER VACATION. After the third sales person, I became angry (it takes a lot) and told the salesperson to take me to my kids immediately, that I'd had enough. That was when we were told to go outside and wait for a shuttle bus. After about 15 minutes, the shuttle came and the driver said on our boarding, "Oh, another set of rejects, eh?"

I guess that's how they see the people who have to wait for the bus to get back to where they started. Nice.

That experience really left a sour taste in our mouths about the whole resort, which is sad because everything else was great. They really need to rethink their sales strategy. I get that you need to sell units. But do you want to sell them to people you trick into it, or those who actually love what you have to offer and won't default on it or sell it in two years? Hopefully some food for thought for management. The property doesn't feel smarmy or low-class; don't make your salespeople be that to make quota.

Tips: Get the PlayPass if you can, tube rental and other pool activities are expensive if you don't. Definitely rent a car if you plan on going off-resort.

Room Tip: We really liked the West Village; if you're here for the waterpark, stay in the Riverside area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you and your family were able to have fun and spend time together around the resort together. However, we are disappointed to hear of your experience on our sales tour. These tours are a great way to find out what vacation ownership can do for the way you and your family travel (which you already know) as well as to find out all about the amenities available around the resort. However, our intent is to never make you feel overwhelmed or pressured. We want all of our guests to have the best experience possible no matter what their interactions are around the resort. We understand that vacation ownership is an important and personal financial decision, and we apologize if you did not feel that you were given the time needed to make this important decision together. We would love the chance to host you back again in the future for more vacation fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were introduced to Orange Lake when we went on vacation with friends whom own a timeshare there back in 2002. We loved it and have returned on our own 8 times. We did not become owners until this past visit in November 2012. Before we became owners we simply booked through the Holiday Inn website. Having returned so many times we decided we should just purchase a unit.

We have stayed in the West, North and River Island Villages. The west village is the oldest section of the resort but it has been nicely kept up-to-date. We love the North Village as it is quiet and has a great pool but our favourite place to be is the River Island complex. The River Island complex is convenient with the pool complex, restaurants and shops all right there. The River Island Pool is the largest and offers the most activity with water slides, a lazy river and two zero entry pools anchoring either end. The pool complex is massive. There is a sandy play area for the kids to dig and lots of hammocks swinging from palm trees within this complex. It honestly reminds me of an all inclusive resort in it's appearance.

The units are spacious, clean and have everything you need. We stay in two bedroom units which have two bathrooms, full sized washer and dryer, well equipped kitchen and multiple TVs to keep the family happy during down time. Out of our 8 visits we have experienced one issue with a unit which was quickly resolved by the staff who were accountable and apologetic. They not only resolved the issue to our satisfaction but provided us with a lovely dinner at one of the onsite restaurants as part of their apology.

Orange Lake is less than a 10 minute drive to the Disney Parks. Downtown Disney, the Disney Water parks and Disney Quest are less than 15 minutes away. It is under 25 minutes to Universal and Sea World, 45-60 minutes to Lego Land and 60-70 minutes to The Kennedy Space Centre. The two main outlet malls are about 15 minutes away. The Main road with all of the restaurants runs parallel to the front of the resort. Super Target is directly across the street from the resort entrance and a Publix grocery store is on site. Anything you need is right there!

The on site golf courses are well maintained and easy to book. My spouse and son usually golf 3 times during our weekly stay. You can even golf 9 holes under the lights at night.

This resort is gigantic. I would not recommend coming here without a car.

If you are looking for a great place to stay with your family this is it!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay at River island if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Wow, thanks for so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We always love hearing from our longtime friends and owners. Congratulations on your recent purchase. It’s great that you have been able to try out different villages throughout the resort and find exactly what fits your vacation style. That’s always so important. We always encourage our guests to let us know about any needs or issues that we can take care of for them during a stay. We truly thank you for giving us the chance to make things right. We love hearing that you give yourself the time you deserve to explore and experience all of the amenities that we have to offer. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sales people are pushy. I explained everytime they called for this vacation that we couldn't go until my husband got laid off as he does in the winter. At one point I said I would call them. They kept calling. When we scheduled this trip I told them he was going to be laid off at that time. We were told we would have to go to a meeting for about 90 minutes. I agreed to this. Everything would be free and our original money would be returned to us. Well when we went to the meeting and told them we weren't interested, that my husband was laid off. We were then informed we would have to pay for the entire trip at a cost of $900.00. Very misleading on their part. To top it all off they didn't even add the points to my husbands rewards for our stay. Why is that? I feel taken.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent experience. In order to find out more about your specific situation, we have attempted to contact you through private message. Our marketing package stays are great way to find out more about vacation ownership as well as get a great stay for a great price. However, the price of these tours are not dependent on any guest purchasing, only attending a 90 minute presentation. We look forward to connecting with you in an attempt to find out more from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Positives:
Proximity to Disney world
Good amount of activities
Spacious rooms

Negatives:
Cleanliness - first room we were checked into had ants all over the carpet. A lot of them. The carpet and furniture was pretty dirty and stained. I could not get comfortable because of the higher factor. Always felt filth - living room mostly. Bathroom and bedroom were fine.
The sales pitches by the staff. They are pushing to sell you on buying into the resort. The impression I got from the stay does not definitely make me want to come back, let alone buy a time share at this property.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping and engineering staff check and clean every room in-between guests. However, if we missed something we apologize. We always encourage all of our guests to let us know of any needs or issues that they experience during their stay with us. We are constantly striving to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible and we want to make sure that we give you just that. Our staff is passionate about helping you find the best way to vacation, but our intent is never to pressure. We would love the chance to host you again in the future to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great stay. I see a lot of people are downing this place but we had nothing bad to say. It was 3 of us and we stayed on Magnolia Street which is at very front entrance. The two bed room we stayed in was hugh. You could easily fit 6-8 people in that room. Full kitchen. We don't cook so it didn't mean much to us. Across the street is a Walgreens we walked to. We did not rent a car so whenever you stay on the resort have the shuttle to drop you off at the front gate and just walk across the street. Also across the street is a bus stop. Tell the bus driver you are trying to get to downtown disney, they will tell you the best buses to take. Then from downtown disney take the bus to the park you want to go to. Also you can take the bus down the street from the resort to one of the shopping centers. They will always tell you "take a cab" but you save a lot of money taking the bus. Of course it takes longer but you save big bucks. I think it cost $50 round trip for three people to disney on taxi and $8 on bus for three.

Room Tip: Use the bus stop close to Walgreens if you don't have a car to get to Disney and where ever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello there, thanks for your review of your stay with us and for your great tips! You give a great account of a cheaper and alternate way to take advantage of all that Orange Lake Resort has to offer as well as the proximity to the Disney parks. It’s great to hear that your villa was a great place to spread out and enjoy each other’s company. We hope to see you back again soon for more fun, and more tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We exchanged into this resort in order to take our grandkids to Disney. The apartment is vast, clean, well appointed. Great to have so much space for the family. Target and Publix are just nearby so it's very convenient. THe facilities on site, such as the pools and water complex, are amazing and the little ones loved them. Restaurants and shops onsite are expensive. OUr only issue is the beds: the sheet isn't big enough for the double bed and the pillows are appalling. We are also alarmed every time the little ones go near the large coffee table in the living area - its glass topped, which is crazy with families coming with children. The grounds are well looked after, and although at first sight the place seems huge, it's easy to get everywhere and walk around.
The staff kept trying to get us to take a promo tour and we kept having to be almost rude to refuse. BUt that's always true in timeshare places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.