We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort to take the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 157 hotels in Kissimmee
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great resort to take the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first visit to this resort for a week and loved it. The grounds and rooms are beautiful but wanted to let people know of the tour(sales pitch). They will sign you up for the appointment for the tour at checkin which after traveling on the road for 12 hrs was the last thing I wanted to do. If you do not go to the tour(sales pitch) they will charge you $30 on your room when you checkout and you cannot get it back. The resort is very kid friendly as they have alot for kids to do so be sure and check out all what is on the property for kids. The customer service is a little lacking in the caring dept but it is a great family place. I would def recommend this to families. Oh The washer and dryers are full size which does help with the laundry. I would love to go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Welcome home from your first visit with us. We’re so glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy your time with us. You are correct that our tour agents are available at the time of check-in to help you book a tour. However, these tours are not for everyone and always 100% completely optional. We do hold a fully refundable deposit for those guests who do tour with us, to hold your personal sales representative. We urge you to let us know if you have any issues with this deposit. We would love to host you back again as much as you would like to come. Don’t be a stranger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,342
    1,053
    393
    262
    250
See reviews for
2188
352
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

parents (owners) invited us for family vacation and we had a great time. the resort is huge and beautiful. rooms were spacious, the employees aimed to please and it was easy to get around. I hope were invited again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
How great that you were able to vacation with your parents for a getaway. We couldn’t be happier to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff made you feel welcome. We love hearing from our guests about their vacations. We hope they invite you back again soon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at Orange lake at least 12 times since the late 90's. Yes it is a time share and by the size of the place anyone with any sense will know they must SELL!! to pay for the huge expansions. Many negatives on this site are simply unfair:

The alleged smell from the woodland/ Animal kingdom i have smelt this but find it funny that people complain about it and then claim this resort is nowhere near Disney. if you turned one of a handful of the golf holes 90 degrees you would be on Animal kingdom property).

Restaurant service has always been poor at times but no worse than some other restaurants in the area. However, food is well overpriced but aren't a lot of onsite hotel restaurants.

Sales technique is heavy but if you just ignore the phone calls (rare that they call when i am in i normally just dlete messages), and state when asked at check in that you are simply not interested or as i tell them not in the financial position to buy further then it doesn't impact the holiday.

Lots of resort pools and in my numerous experience's always well maintained and clean.
Golf is a little more expensive than i would like during the day for owners and to pay for a ride along is unjustified especially when it is the same or more expensive than the player in the evenings.

Complaints of lizards or bugs is just plain funny. Infestations aside If you have a problem with them maybe you should remember where in the world you are your not in a cold European country but a warm tropical one with lots of close woodland.

On all our visits we have never really found the place dirty. Frequently we have seen areas closed while regualr refurbs are carried out. I guess in a place this big with so many staff there will be issues regarding the quality of staffing and attention to detail but it has never affected my trips.

My pet hate in Orange Lake is the cashless system in place away from the reception area cash is not accepted as payment and only card payment is accepted. This should really be amended if your staff can't be trained to accept genuine cash or travellers cheques then they shouldn't be operating a till. Even if it was adjusted to a card only if value of transaction is over $30-$50 it ould be a huge improvement.

In summary the resort has a number of areas that can be improved mainly the sales technique and staff attitudes on the RARE occassions things don't go perfectly. I have enjoyed my many visits and will continue to keep returning. When travelling to the US it is the long queue at passport control, baggage collection and rental car companies that fills me with dread rather than the hard sell at check in. JUST SAY NO THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Best views overlook golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friend is an owner and we stayed in 2 x 2 bedroom villas at the resort in the West Village with a group of 8 for a golf week. Our rooms were very nicely furnished and clean. It's a lovely place to stay in Florida, with loads to do and brilliant to for relaxing days off from the golf courses. Staff impeccable and resort looks pleasing on the eye. It is a cashless resort and you have to use your room key to purchase anything on the resort a real bonus not having to carry money or a credit card around with you.
The units are all comfortable and have well stocked kitchens. Plenty of towels and sheets and washer dryer are a bonus. They supply laundry soap and dishwasher soap as well as tea towels and J cloth. Grocery store (Publix) is at one entrance and Target is about 1/2 mile down the road. Plenty of restaurants’ just outside the gate with a new Miller bar close by.
There are a few signs of maintenance needs that are to be expected with a venue this size. We had a blocked waste disposal which was fixed in a couple of hours. The resort is so central to all attractions, 1/2 hour from SeaWorld and Disney depending on traffic. Universal was about 40 minutes away. Overall, it would be really great for families; children definitely have a lot to keep them occupied and the onsite shuttles are a great asset.

Room Tip: West Village is more for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Welcome home from your Golf week with friends. We hope that all of you had a great time. We are honored to have had the ability to play host to you and your friends. You give a great account of what it’s like to stay with us. We want all of our guests to feel like they are staying at their home-away-from –home. We’re pleased you took advantage of our cashless system, so many of our guests find it an added bonus like you did. We appreciate you letting our staff know of any issues that encountered during your stay. We’re always here to help. Let us know when we can host you again for more golf fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As timeshare owners of a studio unit in the West Village clubhouse, this is our 8th year visiting OLCC. Check-in was a lot quicker and smoother than in past years but 3+ calls asking us to complete a 'survey' for free drinks and appetizers was a bit much. We realize that they will always try to get owners to upgrade but when you tell the first caller 'NO', this means 'NO' and repeat calls could be considered harrassment.
We enjoyed our week here and avoided eating onsite as much as possible since the restaurant at the River Island complex has gone downhill in the past couple years. The pub food at the Legacy Grill was 'ok' and the burgers at Breezes were pretty good. Drinks are ALWAYS yummy!
The stage pool at West Village was tidy as ever and we enjoyed playing Bingo every day; however, the times posted were not always the same from one day to the next - a bit disconcerting.
The entire resort's grounds crews do a great job with the landscaping and keeping the grounds tidy and very attractive. We have brought family with us most years and they enjoy the resort and amenities very much. The location is perfect and the staff is generally very helpful.
Except for minor things such as a deep impression (hole) in one of the mattresses (the mattress was replaced within a couple of hours of reporting the problem) and having to contact housekeeping for 'forgotten' replacement items, the staff is very accommodating.
We miss not being able to buy postage stamps and mailing our postcards onsite and would love to see bicycle rentals here since the resort is so large, it would be nice to be able to see it at a slower pace than by car or shuttle or on foot.
It's still a great place to vacation in (mostly) sunny, central Florida and we look forward to next year's adventures!

Room Tip: If anyone would like to rent our timeshare 2nd week November for the price of our annual maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed her two nights as part of our several city Florida vacation. Wish we would have had more time to see all they had to offer. Spent one whole day at the River Island pool area and spent the next day at the Splash Lagoon, which is perfect for small children. Not crowded at all.

No issues with timeshare sales people, we said a firm NO, they gave a little attitude, but then let it go. Never received another call during our stay as some reviews had stated.

We had a 3 bedroom villa which was perfect for 4 adults and two kids. Washer and dryer were old and very noisy, but other wise everything else was perfect. Will stay here again if we come back to Orlando.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It’s always so great to hear from our guests about their vacations. We appreciate you stopping by during your multi-city tour. It’s great that you were able to give yourself some time away and relax at two of our pool complexes. Our tours are a very popular way to find out about vacation ownership but understand that time on vacation is important and these tours may not be for everyone. You couldn't give us a higher compliment than a return stay, so we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The check in process was fast and efficient, although be careful they want to pull you in for a timeshare sales pitch. River Island area was fantastic. The lazy river, the pools, the beach area and hammocks, the arcade, the places to eat, I can not say enough good things about. we rented a cabana and let me tell you, it was worth it. The only complaint here is the cabana service was a little slow. We had to track down out server when we wanted to cash out. The rooms themselves had a ton of room, but are not 5 star rooms, a solid 4 star. Now we stayed at the bottom floor, one of the elevators was out of service so I saw a big backup in the lobby, so if I had to deal with that mess I would have rated it a little lower. They could use some upgraded construction features, but with all the things to do, why stay in the room. I was impressed.

Room Tip: Go with a bottom floor room, as you can just walk out from your patio and be at the pool in a min or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent trip. It’s great that you were able to stay in our popular River Island area. So many of our guests love being able to be right there in the middle of it all. How wonderful that you rental a cabana, it’s certainly a great deal. We appreciate you letting us know of your issues you experienced. We are constantly striving to make sure our guests have the very best experiences possible. Thanks for your tips, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.