We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the one bedroom, on the 7th floor, in the river island area. Let me tell you this resort is HUGE. One of the employees told me this is the biggest resort in the US. The room had a washer/dryer (including detergent), dish washer, stove, and fridge. A lot of activities to do at the resort, several pools, golf, mini golf, water sports, etc. We were going to do the jet ski but the lake didn't look inviting, so we chose not to. Great for families and ok for couples. I preferred their sister resort in myrtle beach instead. Better customer service and the beach is within 1 block. So if you are a couple I would stay at the myrtle beach resort; however, if you have children orange lake would suit you best. Overall, great stay but will chose the myrtle beach resort over orange lake. Also, I didnt like that inner tubes had to be rented for $9 per day, ridiculous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hey there Yibs. Thanks so much for your review. We truly do appreciate all of our guest’s feedback. You are correct in what you heard from one of our great employees, Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort is the largest Resort Property in the United States. It’s so great that you were able to visit our resort after visiting our South Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC. We’re so happy that you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    1,159
    439
    275
    273
See reviews for
2,394
387
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I own a two bedroom condo timeshare here at Orange Lake Resort & Country Club. I purchased it in 2003 and I try to visit as often as feasible. It is located in the heart of Kissimmee, and is surrounded by everything…you name it and you will have it in close proximity. It is easily accessible to major roads and highways, approximately 20 minutes from Orlando’s airport (MCO).

The humongous grounds are well manicured and patrolled often by security. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are so many things to do! They have a beach, professional & mini golf courses, restaurants, shops, a water park, many swimming pools, play grounds, a theatre, tennis courts, walking paths, volley ball courts and the lists go on and on that I can’t possibly capture all of the endless amenities! There are scheduled activities throughout the day, should you want to participate and family nights that offer events. Since the property is so large, they have shuttle buses that take you around the resort also.

The accommodations speak for themselves. They have everything that you need and more in these spacious units. They are modern and updated and tastefully decorated, equipped with everything that you need. And should you come across something that you need that is not in your unit, the staff would be more than willing to get it to you.

I highly recommend Orange Lake Resort & Country Club…once you visit, you will fall in love with it and never want to leave!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Check in is very stressful people are ordering you around, the lines are long and right away the sales pitch starts. Lots of pressure to see more timeshares. You are told right away that if you dont pay $30.00 with a credit card to have a presentation that takes 90 minutes you will be paying for tubes at the river pool. We explained that my husband is 100% disabled and could not ride on a golf cart and they said that was okay the would send someone to the room to talk to him, they held us hostage for 45 minutes before letting us go. We had 2 more disabled people in the car waiting.
The River pool looks dirty the water and the sides need to be scrubbed. I heard several people say they just peed in the pool. We liked Orange lake only because of the River pool. To rent a tube is $9.00 a day that comes to $63.00 for 7 days. We realized we could purchase an annual Disney water park pass for 1 year 3 parks for $106.00 While swimming in the pool a little girl was drowning I picked her up out of the water. 4 feet away a pool guard was there more interested in who was wearing the arm band. I thought they were life guards but they are band guards. You cannot let your children out of your sight because no lifeguards. You cannot relax in the pool because everytime you pass them they are demanding to see your band. I do not care for the river pool anymore. The cabana rental is $165.00 a day it use to be $99.00 crazy. Warning around the pool area it is very slippery I have seen several people slip in certain areas and there are snakes around the pool in the bushes. In the room you get a set of towels if you want more it is $7.50 a day, so plan on doing laundry. Our icemaker did not work, they told us we could purchase ice from the gift shop $2.00 a bag or at front office had ice machine, we could not find it. When you call front office it takes about 20 minutes before they answer phone meanwhile you are put on hold music playing. If your looking for a good family stay I would look at the Disney hotels like Allstar Music and Sports.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort as a timeshare exchange. Our unit was huge, a three bedroom, three bath condo with private screened balcony in the East Village. Furnishings were nice and updated, kitchen appliances could use a refresh. The unit did have a full size washer and dryer and it was nice to go home with a suitcase full of clean clothes. The balcony was a nice spot for morning coffee or evening cocktails. Great unit for a family vacation, we enjoyed all the extra space and the resort is close to the major theme parks. As other reviewers have noted, there is at times a smell outside which is coming from the Disney Animal Kingdom next door, but it was never in the room and was not horrible.

We did encountered an issue at check in when we arrived at 3:30 to check in, knowing official check in was 4 pm. We were told our room was not yet ready and to please return at 4, it would be ready, guaranteed. Not a problem, we knew we were early so we thought this would be a good opportunity to do a little grocery shopping so we went to the Target very close to the resort to stock up on some items for breakfast the next day. When we returned at 4:15 we checked in and received our keys. We drove to our assigned building and, thankfully leaving our luggage and groceries in the car, walked to our unit to open the door. Much to our surprise there was a team of housekeepers in the room who apparently had just begun to prepare the room. I asked when they would be finished, we were told the room was ready and we had groceries in the hot car. The woman who appeared to be the team leader was very nice, apologized and asked if we would like to leave our groceries in the refrigerator while they finished, as it may be another 45 minutes. We decided to decline the offer and instead drove back around to registration (quite a hike from our building). Upon return to the registration desk the clerk was very apologetic, assigned us a new room and a credit for use in the restaurants or shops on the resort.

I understand these things happen in any resort but the staff were super, taking responsibility for the situation and going beyond expectations to make things right. It had never occurred to us to ask for anything as compensation, we just wanted to get into our room, but the staff we dealt with turned an annoyance into a positive with their great customer service.

Regarding the timeshare sales approach...Yes, you will be asked to visit the "vacation desk" after you check in...just don't go over. We were approached as we left the line by someone trying to guide us to the desk and when we declined she reached over to the check in packet I had in my hand, ripped off a ticket stub that I assume was part of the tour registration and abruptly said "Well then I need this part and you don't get the $20". I simply laughed and said 'Great, thanks, bye now.' and that was that. The phone did ring in the room a few times but we just didn't answer.

Activities and restaurants: While we didn't have children with us, it seemed there were plenty of activities for the kids throughout the resort. There were plenty of pools around and we used the one closest to our building most days after touring the theme parks. We visited the resort water park one day and enjoyed lounging by the water and swimming through the lazy river. There are tubes available for a fee (not sure why they do this, it seems to be a little ridiculous to me) so we just floated and swam our way through. We did order pizza delivery from the resort one night, which was pretty good, but never ate in any of the restaurants so I can't comment on those. All in all we would definitely stay here again if traveling with family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hey there. Its great to hear from you. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review on your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort. We’re happy to hear that your East Village accommodations were exactly the type you were looking for to serve as a home base for your vacation. We apologize if there was a miscommunication between our housekeeping and front desk staff. With over 2,400 villas to turnover continuously we rarely experience any types of occupancy mistakes. However, we’re glad that we were able to accommodate you and get you into your unit just as quickly as possible and turn your experience into a positive one. Our property tours are a great way to find out all about the amenities around the resort. However we understand that your time spent on vacation is important and that these tours may not be for everyone. We appreciate you consider it. We would love the change to host you and your entire family back again soon. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family of 5 visited Orange Lake Resort from 5/25-6/12 and it was amazing. We had a 1 story 2 bedroom house with full kitchen, washer/dryer, and 2 full bath rooms. Both master bed and living room had sliding door that led to the back yard/golf course.

My children lived at the water park which has a lazy river, 3 slides, and rock climbing. There was quite of bit of bars, restaurants and snack bars to choose from. The on site pizza shop was very good as well. Will def return next year.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms in the 2,000's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hi there and welcome home from your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort. We’re so happy to hear about your families vacation spent with us. It’s so great that you were able to treat yourselves to all of the space needed to spread out and still be able to enjoy each others company. With many amenities on-site a lot of families feel like they never even nee d to leave the resort. It sounds like our River Island complex was a favorite among your kids. You couldn’t give us any higher compliment than a return visit. Keep in touch with us and let us know when we have the great opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My parents have a timeshare here and have been owners for around 8 years now, this place is wonderful. It should not be treated as though it's a hotel, it's pretty much a village of its own, there are various pools scattered about as well as golf courses, tennis courts and restaurants plus a man made lake side beach and water sports.

It can be a way from the apartment you have to the pool but everyone has cars and each pool has a car park, there is also a complimentary bus service that runs all day through the resort.

I started visiting Orange Lake as a teenager and the freedom of moving around was great, now as an adult I enjoy it even more. Maybe not one for people that want a pool right outside the front door or to stumble home from a drunken evening!

Room Tip: Research the layout of the resort there are different "villages" whith different amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is without doubt the best Hotel/Resort i have stayed in and i have stayed in some great places. I wouldnt say the apartments are the most modern although they have had a recent update, but they are clean spacious feel so homely and have everything you need and a nice jacuzzi bath :-)

The whole feel and buzz of this place is great, there is pretty much everything you could possible want from a resort. The golf courses are great, the many pools are superb especially the one with the lazy river :-) and there is still more you can also -lay crazy golf or go into the arcade, relax on the man made beach or do one the many watersports on offer.

Legends sports bar set next to one of the golf courses is superb and does a wicked chips with cheese sauce and cold coors light while you watch whatever sport you want on one of the few screens, you must go here! We did eat out of resort pretty much every night but we did eat in The River Breeze restaraunt one night and i must say the food was lovley and the house wine spot on!

My only slight criticism is that you cannot pay for anything cash you have to use your room key card ( they automatically put a tip on top of the bil which is a bit naughtyl) and pay the bill at the end, this can im sure take people by suprise when at the end of the stay you have run up a bigger bill than expected. But overall this is such a minor complaint compared to how fantastic this place is and what you get for your money!!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony over looking the golf course, I stayed here with my girlfriend her mum and dad and also my girlfriends sister and boyfriend and there was plenty of room for all of us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Greetings and hello there from Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your villa was the perfect place to just spread out and be yourself on vacation. It’s great that you were able to take advantage of all of the many amenities and restaurants available to guests around the resort. We love giving our guests so many options on property that they never feel like they even need to leave the resort. You give future travelers a great money saving tip about watching their spending with our cashless system. All of the fun can add up so its always important to keep track of your spending. We’re happy your vacation was a success and we look forward to having you back again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom.At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the magic with your own personal Disney concierge at our Disney Planning Center that is also located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf a bowling alley arcades and 54 holes of golf. Whats more we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resorts activities. Orange Lake Resort provides a premiere Florida vacation at a hotel that is 100% smoke free. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.