We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, small, noisy, annoying wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old, small, noisy, annoying wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and will never come back. The only plus on this hotel is the location. Almost all other hotels have better value for money. We slept in room 216, which is on the second floor at the front. The room could really use some maintance, the airco looked like someone sat on it, the toilet kept flushing through the night, the fan in the bathroom made so much noise we took showers with the lights off. The room was very small but did have most luxuries like a fridge, oven, iron/board, a desk with two chairs and enough power outlets. The bed was comfortable and had lots of pillows. The shower had enough pressure and a door instead of a shower curtain.

Everything you read about the breakfast in the other reviews is true. The breakfast room is too small, the food is cheap and tasteless.

There is wifi in the rooms and our room had good reception. But it was really annoying because you had to enter the password on a web page every time you wanted to connect to the wifi. The password was so simple I think they gave it to everyone. So why not remove the password and make it a free and open wifi? That way my phone would connect automatically and stay connected through the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    194
    91
    22
    24
See reviews for
214
177
21
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a honest and review you should read before booking this hotel.
Had a 2 week stay at Destiny Palms, check in was quick, we had requested a ground floor room when we booked the hotel 3 months prior to arriving and was given a room on the 3 rd. floor.
The room was small but ok, small bathroom with a fan that whined really loud every time you put it on, two large beds, small wardrobe with 2 small drawers at the bottom, TV, some sort of electric oven that looked from the seventies and a refrigerator, the room did have really good air con system
The towels too small to dry anyone showering they were tiny, too small for children let alone adults.
The hotel offered a complimentary continental breakfast to be honest it was disgusting, there were freezing cold pre packed pre boiled, boiled eggs, very poor quality bagels, brown bread, waffles and pancakes. Margarine that tasted like yellow fat.
There were decent assorted cereals, the tea, coffee, extremely poor quality and far too weak , orange juice that was disgusting and tasted of disinfectant we even asked a member of staff to try the orange juice and she agreed it wasn’t right and said she would get someone to change it later, this never happened.
We realised that one of the blankets on one of the beds was ripped, and had a very large hole in it we informed reception and were told it would be changed by housekeeping only to inform the reception at check out that the torn blanket was still on the bed 10 days after reporting it.
The staffs were not friendly apart from Stephanie; she was chatty and helpful and always acknowledged you.
Tom who was on at the afternoon and evening didn’t acknowledge you, he didn’t even look up when we said hello, good evening, or good afternoon he was simply rude and unhelpful
We were amazed that there was no safe in the room at this hotel and were not offered any alternative for our valuables, although they did offer to look after our paperwork and passports
The pool was dirty, full of leaves and rubbish, we never saw anyone use the pool possibly because of the state it was in.
We didn’t expect 5 star accommodation or service but we did except a lot better service than we got.

We normally stay at Champions World Resort but decided to give Destiny Palms a go as there seemed to be some good reviews, just how wrong we were. Not sure were the reviews came from but they were definitely not what we experienced here at this hotel we will definitely not be returning or recommend a stay of any kind here. Our annual Florida trip will be back at Champions World Resort from now on.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is not a good value. The hotel is dirty and run down. It is a basic two star hotel along the lines of a Holiday Inn or LaQuinta Inn, but not nearly as nice. They charged a resort fee of $4/night. Not only isn't the Destiny Palms a resort, it's not even a nice basic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On April 20th we checked into the Destiny Palms Maingate West Hotel It was fairly late in the evening (around 21:30) after a 9hr flight and delays going through Customs and so we were eager to get access to our room.

The hotel lobby, while looking clean, had a strange musty aroma to it that continued up the stairway to our room. The room itself was even worse, with an unpleasant, damp, mouldy smell that hit us as we entered.

The room was dark, even with all of the lights on and the small wardrobe appeared to be somewhat lacking in a family room holding 4 people. However, the worst of our initial discoveries was the toilet room, which on first look, didn’t even appear to have a door on it. Thankfully, this wasn’t the case, although it would have been easier if it had been doorless, as we discovered that it actually used a sliding door that had been pushed too far into the frame to be visible. After a couple of minutes, I was able to get the door out of the frame by sticking my fingers into the top of the mechanism and levering the end out far enough to get a grip on, however, it was very difficult to use (my two children found it impossible to open/close) and the mechanism was so noisy that anyone using it in the night would (and did) wake everyone up in the room.

As we were extremely tired after our long journey, we decided not to do anything until the following morning but try to get a good night’s sleep, which wasn't easy given the noise from the toilet door and the light switch, which was situated next to the bed, meaning that unless you were careful turning over during the night, you turned the room lights on.

The following morning, my wife and I awoke to find long blonde and black hairs entangled in our toes/feet. On closer inspection of the bed, we found several more of these hairs in the sheet/blanket covering the bed. Nobody in my family has long blonde or black hair, suggesting that the bedding hadn’t been changed from at least one previous user.

We then began a more thorough check of the room. What we found wasn’t very pleasant.
• The carpet was dirty, which was evident from my children’s white socks which were black from their limited amount of walking on it.
• The bedding, not content with being full of other people’s hair, also had holes in it.
• The toilet/shower room was dirty, with brown chunks of something (looked like faecal matter) in the corners and more long black hairs around the floor, sink and shower areas.
• The shower tray was ill fitting with dirty sealant peeling from the edges.
• The toilet door, when workable, didn’t shut properly, leaving a gap.
• The shower furniture (rails and controls) looked as though they hadn’t been cleaned in ages, with crusted dirt on the controls and slimy filth on the shower head.
• The walls of the toilet room and bedroom in general were grimy, with crusted on dirt in places and looked as though they’d not been cleaned for a long time.
• The phone in the bedroom was dirty; again it had crusted on dirt on the receiver and base.
• The windows looked as though they had greasy marks all over them and hadn’t been cleaned for a long time.
• The grill pan in the oven (there is a small convection oven in the room for preparing small meals) had remnants of other people’s food on it.
• The wardrobe, which was far too small for a family of 4 (2xadults + 2xkids) was full of dust and dirt and only contained 5 hangers. There was also a hair clip in the wardrobe, possibly from the person with long blonde or black hair.

We spoke to the lady on reception, who didn't seem able to offer a solution, suggesting that all rooms are cleaned to the same standard, but as this was at 6am on a Sunday morning, I got the feeling that we weren’t top priority.

After discussing the situation, we took the decision that the hotel wasn’t fit for our stay and decided that for the sake of our health and the enjoyment of our holiday, we would check out and relocate to another hotel. This not only took up a considerable amount of time, when we should have been visiting a theme park with our children, but was also an additional and unexpected cost.

We chose the Destiny Palms Hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor. but after staying there for a single night, I find it hard to believe that any of the people who have given it a good review are genuine.

The Destiny Palms Hotel is the most disgustingly filthy hotel that I have ever stayed in and I would thoroughly recommend avoiding it at all cost.

BTW my review has been delayed as I've been trying to obtain a refund for the 13/14 nights that we didn't stay at the hotel. Although we checked out at the main desk in the lobby at around 8am on the 21st April, the manager is denying this, claiming that we actually stayed 2 full nights (or managed to sneak out in the night without checking out) and is only refunding 12/14 nights. He also claims that there is no mention of our complaint about the state of the room on our reservation and flatly refuses to refund the full amount.

I can categorically state that there is no way on earth that we would have stayed in Destiny Palms for more than 1 night !

Obviously the attention to detail and cleanliness of the hotel is reflected in the way complaints are handled too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is just adequate. The lobby looks nice with a breakfast area.
The room is just okay but unfortunately not clean. Wrappers from the coffee were not picked up and the coffee was not replenished. The ice bucket was not emptied so when we returned to the hotel we had a bucket of water and no fresh plastic bag.
The amenities include a small pool area and wifi. For this a resort fee was charged! This is no resort.
The breakfast was cereal and bagels. We were told that there was more than that.
We were very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We went down on a 3 day trip to Walt Disney World. We had heard about the Destiny Palms Main gate West and decided to give it a try.

Outside appearance is very nice and the hotel lobby is small but adequate.

The room itself, was very small. We stayed on the 3rd floor. I noticed a lot of dust on the area above the TV cabinet and corners of the room. The corners of the tables and nightstands were very sharp, so watch out for those. I am sure I have been on cruise ships with larger rooms!

The one thing I did not get was, a toaster oven was in the room and NO microwave. IMHO these things are fire hazards waiting to happen.

The bedding was very comfortable and no indication of bed bugs were found.

The wifi signal was excellent and plenty fast enough to upload photos to the Internet.

The swimming pool was not dirty, but there was some leaves in the bottom. The kids enjoyed it very much. Maybe they keep it up better in the peak season.

It was a great deal to be able to stay near WDW as we were only going to rest our weary heads at night, the room size was not a concern. The first night though, 4 people eating pizza proved to be a challenge. It was they first and last time we ate in the room other than some snacks

We skipped the free breakfast but McDonalds is right in front of the hotel and you can walk to it.

This place has a great location for trips to Walt Disney World and eating places. It seems to be away from a bunch of the hustle and bustle of other areas we have stayed.

I am unsure of wether or not I would stay here again, but I would consider it if I need to make a quick trip to Kissimmee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the destiny palms for 14 nights. As with most vacations the room was used as a base and we didn't spend too much time in it. The bed was very comfy and the room was spacious enough. The shower was a little old and could do with being replaced

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Address: 8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice for Kissimmee Hotel near Walt Disney World Resort!Experience the Magic of Orlando, KissimmeeThe Destiny Palms Hotel is 100% Non-Smoking.At the Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, you will experience warm hospitality and luxury amenities unlike any other hotel in the area.The Destiny Palms Hotel wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or for pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The Destiny Palms Hotel offers many amenities, just a few of the many features that will make your visit a memorable one is our crystal clear swimming pool, wireless internet in all rooms, guest laundry facilities and our Free Continental Breakfast.Located less than one mile from Disney Animal Kingdom, less than one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World Resort Area and just minutes from everything Orlando/Kissimmee has to offer, Destiny Palms Maingate West is the perfect choice for your family vacation.The Destiny Palms Hotel is approved and rated by the American Automotive Association (AAA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Palms Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.